We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel volcan, Lanzarote - April 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a lovely time, fantastic main pool area, great kids pool area. Our kids absolutely loved the kids and teen clubs - the girls running those were great.

Disappointed with the food, we stayed half board and though we would definitely return, we would stay B&B and eat out for evening meals next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mheald2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We sincerely appreciate that you mention that you will return to the Hotel during a future holiday break in Lanzarote, however we take note of your suggestion regarding the improvement of our dinner buffet.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 4,022 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Volcan at the beginning of May for a week. My husband and I were travelling with our 2 year old son. We've been to Playa Blanca twice before so knew we liked the resort. Overall we were very happy with our stay. It was an ideal location right in the middle of the harbour and only a 15min walk from the main sandy beach in Playa Blanca. Our room was no. 276 and perfect for our young son as there was a childrens pool (only 50cm deep) right outside our patio. So we could just hop in and out the room easily and let him have his naps whilst we were just outside. The breakfast buffets in the morning were delicious with an extensive selection. The down side was there often wasn't enough staff and you ended up with a table of plates that needed to be cleared. We tried the evening buffet a couple of time and it was good but very similar each night so if you want variety I'd eat in the harbour - which is also cheaper. The hotel itself was getting a bit tired around the edges and more of a 4 star than 5 star but it was lovely and quiet and an ideal place to spend the week. If you are travelling with older children I think there are more suitable hotels as there isn't much to entertainment them in the evening and the kids club was only open from 12-2 each day. Overall though we would recommend it and definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 250 to 280 have direct access on to a separate pool area to the main pool. Very quiet and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending the Hotel to other travellers and for mentioning that you would return.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to the improvement of our child animation program,

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and i have recently returned from a one week stay at the THE Volcan Hotel, Playa Blanca on Lanzarote. It was our first time on this island and we arrived at the hotel after dark. The initial impressions of this unusually laid out hotel, the welcome, and the staff are excellent and we congratulate them on this. This is without doubt a fine hotel aiming for high standards and from our experience it succeeds almost 100%.

The initial excellent impressions are tempered by a few problems which became apparent after a few days of familiarization. We stayed in what was termed a standard room,on the ground floor, with no direct view of the sea, which was extremely well appointed and furnished, spacious, a huge very comfortable bed. and every convenience. a non working light bulb was reported and replaced the same day. tv reception in room was not good, poor quality picture, choice of channels also limited by language which i suppose is to be expected. On close inspection, some signs of wear and tear in room with some of the fittings and fixtures. nothing obvious, and only found with very close inspection, but once seen, became a bit irritating. Most serious criticism we had which we didn't report due to its obvious nature and relative seriousness was caused by paint flaking from two places on the ceiling in the bathroom, falling on the floor and surrounds of the basins, not sure of cause of paint flaking. but needed attention and assume hotel would have been aware of it.

Food was of a high standard, not haute cuisine. but in our opinion, comforting with good variety and of a high standard for the 'buffet' style of restaurant. we thought the breakfast menu and presentation was particularly good. Staff very good, very pleasant, attentive and eager to please.

overall we thought the hotel was excellent and represented very good value for money, however, doesn't quite reach the high standards it may be aiming for. in our humble opinion, doesn't quite deserve its 5 star rating. Just a few areas with fixtures and fittings needing slight attention in our view, but we will definitely consider returning in future.

thanks to all at Volcan for your part in a very pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for considering THe Volcán Lanzarote an excellent Hotel.

We are impressed that you have taken the time to write detailed review,that not only lets us now you have enjoyed your stay and would return during a future, while at the same lets us know what to focus on in order to keep on improving.This means a lot to us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for the 1st time. It was lovely as soon as we arrived at reception we were greeted by the staff with a lovely refreshing cocktail & promptly booked in to our room, Then was shown to our room with our luggage taken for us. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff during our stay there, all the staff where all very helpful & attentive at all times!!!

The food was fab with a buffet style breakfast & evening meal. You could also book the Japanese restaurant & you get 20% off your meal if your staying half board. That was fantastic as we sat around the chefs table & enjoyed a fab cooking demonstration

There are about 5 swimming pools one being the largest of all the pools was gorgeous. Although it wasn't heated it was a welcome cooling down with such hot weather. I would recommend this hotel to any one as it's such a lovely & secure place to stay. If I get another opportunity to revisit Lanzarote I would defiantly go back to this hotel & recommend it to both my family & friends. it's an absolute must & you should give it a go!!! 10 out 10 relaxing experience.
John & Kimberley Spurr thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Star223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for describing your experience in THe Volcán Lanzarote as "10 out of 10".

We sincerely appreciate that you would stay again in the Hotel if you return to Lanzarote.

We are very pleased to read in your review that you recommend us to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Volcan after reading a review from 'The Daily Telegraph' in their travel section, which discussed Lanzarote in general, but in it, they also recommended a few hotels worth staying in.
We booked our trip to Lanzarote through Thomas Cook, for one week at the beginning of May 2014. As one of the previous reviewers said, we too were surprised to find we had a private taxi transfer to and from the airport/hotel. This was unexpected as we had only requested a shuttle transfer.
On our arrival, I unsuccessfully asked to upgrade our room to a sea-view room, but although our room location was not ideal, as it overlooked the main dining area (room 101), the decoration and standard of the accommodation was excellent.
We had booked on a half board basis, and we thought the standard of the food on offer and amount of choice was good.
The pool was well maintained. We found all the staff at the Hotel Volcan were helpful and polite, and very professional.
Our only criticism was the entertainment bar in the evening. It appeared undermanned, and we had to wait 45 minutes for our drinks on one occasion.

The Hotel Volcan itself, is situated by the Rubicon Marina, close to the nearby town of Playa Blanca. The Marina has many good restaurants that are well kept and clean. The Hotel has a gate by the pool, so it is easy to access the Marina, and a pedestrianised walkway thereafter which leads into Playa Blanca. it is very easy to walk and there are lots of bars to pop into day and evening.
As Playa Blanca is situated on the southernmost tip of Lanzarote, without transport, you are isolated as it is quite barren around about. We hired a car for 2 days and covered most of what was on offer to see tourist wise, but it was worth the effort of doing so.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments, it has been our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

After reading your review, I must apologize for having had to wait for a drink during one of the evenings in the hotel Fun Pub. We truly regret that this happened during your stay.

We truly appreciate that you recommend our Hotel and the island of Lanzarote to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

From online research and recommendations from friends we expected a high standard, comfortable hotel for a quiet break and that's exactly what we got. The room was superb with great views. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and constantly, but unobtrusively, attentive. A small defect (light bulb) was reported and fixed within 24 hours. The hotel is uniquely designed on the lines of a village with numerous nooks and crannies to explore. It is only a short walk to the nearby Rubicon Marina where you can sit with your favourite drink and watch the world go by or eat in the many (at least 15) various restaurants and tapas bars. We rarely return to a hotel (there are so many other places yet to see) but we would recommend this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 506 to 511 all have good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JEC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay in the Hotel.

We truly appreciate that you recommend us to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We keep coming back because of the happy relaxed atmosphere. If you want night clubs and loud music this is not the hotel for you. Great selection of food and staff couldn't be more helpful. Japanese restaurant is wonderful with excellent service. Easy access to the marina.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for rating us as an excellent Hotel.

We sincerley appreciate that you recommend us to other travellers, and hope to welcome you again in a future holiday.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,240 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $145 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing