We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in May 2014, this is our 3rd visit to Lanzarote and the best hotel we have stayed in. we were greeted at Reception by a friendly lady who checked us in, we then were led to our room by the porter, on the way he stopped off to pour us a welcome drink which was nice, he tried to explain where abouts things were but with the dark, tiredness and language barrier we decided to investigate the next day. the room is fairly spacious, with nice bathroom, romeo and juliet basins and seperate WC, the bed is massive! we thought it was hard to start with but had very good sleeps. the pool is huge, and sunbeds are plenty, our towels were changed daily regardless. my wife had her birthday during the stay and we were greeted by a nice bottle of chilled Cava when we returned from a day out, a lovely gesture. the food is samey... nice but fairly the same each night, we didnt expect much less to be honest, breakfast is very well appointed and you can have any sort of egg cooked for you, cerial, fruit, bread etc varied and very good. location is right in Rubicon Marina but far enough from Playa Blanca to be nice and quiet. would stay again but not sure it is 5 star.

Helpful?
3 Thank Bingley_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for considering THe Volcán Lanzarote the best Hotel you have stayed in the island of Lanzarote.

We take note of your comment regarding you would stay again the Hotel during a future holiday, even though you do not consider us to be 5 star.

This comment is very important for us, it motivate us to improve our quality of service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,030
    1,131
    368
    83
    37
See reviews for
828
2,277
78
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Top class hotel, very friendly and extra helpful staff, nothing too much trouble, breakfast buffet a delight to behold. Rubicon Marina has delightful cafes and bars to entertain in the evening. Will definitely visit again in the near future, Volcano is more 5 star than 4

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for rewarding us with the best possible rating, and for recommending us to other travellers.

We look forward to having you back in the Hotel during a future holiday break.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I spent ten days here early May 2014 and had a wonderfully relaxing holiday at the Volcan. We had a sea view room which overlooked the marina and also had a large open balcony area with sun loungers, table and chairs and it is worth paying extra for a sea view.
Food was of a good standard but became repetitive after a while. The biggest asset of the hotel was its staff. They were all very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a holiday. We went half board but with a good choice of restaurants close by bed and breakfast should be considered as an alternative.

Room Tip: High room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnthonyP265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

It has been our pleasure for us to read that you had a relaxing time in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We thank you for recommending us to other travellers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was our 4th visit to the Volcan which in itself should be a testament to the quality of service and the amenities provided. The location in the marina area makes for a quiet restful break but with the option of a very pleasant walk to the town and livelier beach area if you want it. There is a good selection of restaurants and shops locally and is the venue for the twice weekly market, good for souvenir shopping.

The hotel is kept beautifully clean and all the hotel staff work incredibly hard to maintain the high standard and were polite and always ready for a chat and laugh particularly the young man that helps with luggage, so I never could out what your name was. It was good to see that the old sun beds have been replaced as they were pretty scruffy on our previous visits.

We opted for the Club Volcan this time around and were not disappointed, I must mention Marie who looked after our every need during breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks, thank you Marie you are a star and we wish you every success in your career.

My only negative comment would be on the evening buffet which seemed to be a little below the standard of previous visits however we still always found something yummy to fill our plates.

I will almost certainly be going back there next spring as it feels like home now.

Room Tip: We had room 756 in the club, wonderful views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valdrew223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that this has been your fourth visit to the Hotel and that you plan on returning next spring

We are very glad that you feel at home in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have just return for a lovely relaxing week in the sun. The hotel was great and the staff where helpful and friendly they could not do more for you. The surround area is perfect if you don't want to sit round the pool all day and there are lots of restaurants at the Marina to eat if you don't want to stay in the hotel. The room was great, plenty of room and storage and it was nice to sit on the balcony and look across the marina. We stayed half board and the breakfast is good, lots of options, only thing I would say is you need better toasters, they take ages, I learnt put the toast on first and then go get what else you want (small issue I know). We found evening dinner disappointing, there was a lot of choice but it was just a bit bland, nothing really stood out and it was pretty much the same every night, I know it is difficult but if we visit again we would only go B&B.

All in all a great hotel, great location and great hols in the sun!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 688Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you writing a review about your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to our dinner buffet. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations; I will personally discuss your comments with our Kitchen staff.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Spent a week here recently with an old friend. We normally ski together one week a year, away from our respective families, so this was a first!
The entrance was like a church, complete with Gregorian chant, and the reception area very impressive. A hotel sinks or swims on the strength of its employees, and this one was an Olympic swimmer. Everyone was polite, friendly and helpful, from the grounds maintenance people to the restaurant management.
We preferred B&B and had a garden view room, which was more than adequate. The air con was not the best, quite noisy and only cool, even on max setting. Just as well Lanzarote never gets really hot! Breakfast was delicious, with an extensive choice of foods. One of the best I have had anywhere, and the 20 euro buffet, which we sampled one evening was excellent value if you like buffet's. A shame the management don't enforce the evening dress code for those unable to read. The restaurant staff were immaculately dressed. The few guests in scruffy shorts and tees should hang their heads in shame.
The pool and terrace areas were spotlessly clean, the gym was a bonus and the pools not too cold. The gym, open to the outside elements needs a ceiling fan and water cooler, but not many guests seemed to use it. It gave an edge to my morning appetite, as did the following swim!
The hotel location could not be bettered. Directly on the marina with a range of shops, supermarkets, car hire (two days is sufficient to see the island) and restaurants. A special mention for Lani's fajitas.
Nice toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, which we had to replenish ourselves so only B minus for housekeeping plus other small issues, bit overall it exceeded our expectations. Not often I say that! Highly recommended and I hope to return soon with family.

Room Tip: 582 was a lovely quiet garden view room. Out of the wind, but beware cats sleeping on your chairs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HectorsHouseCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for recommending us, specially for mentioning that you plan to return.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a detailed review about your stay, sharing your experience with other travellers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Volcan on the Rubicon Marina, best location. Direct access onto the Marina.

It's not 5 star. But the friendly helpful staff, location and room variety make up for that. Gabrielle was particularly helpful.

We asked for a room with a view and certainly got one! All rooms starting with a 5 have great views.
Similarly others had asked for a room with direct access to the pool. You can also get rooms where the balcony opens onto a small children's pool.
There is a fridge in the room and you are encouraged to buy your own stuff to put in there which avoids the usual high mini bar costs.

We decided on B&B. Good breakfast. Huge variety. Choice of sitting inside or out.

We hired bikes. Don't go to the bike office, go to reception, and they will arrange delivery to the hotel. We had ours within 1 hour. When your done just leave your bikes in the garage, give the lock key to reception, and the bikes will be collected.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_Pugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for rating us with five out of five points.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a very positive review about us, recommending THe Volcán Lanzarote to other travellers.

It has been a pleasure to have you in the Hotel and to hope that you decide to return in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,561 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing