We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic and did everything they could to make sure that our stay was a pleasant one. They always had time to talk about anything, and took a seemingly genuine interest in our holiday and if we were having a good time. Whenever we bumped into them we were always greeted with a friendly hello. The welcome reception organised by the management was a lovely touch, as it helped us to meet a few of the other guests and made for a friendly and relaxed atmosphere by the pool.

Our room (standard double) was perfect for two friends - very spacious, with a separate lounge area and great bathroom. Our balcony had a view through to the marina and ocean, and over one of the pools. It also basked in the hot evening sunshine, which was great when the strong winds got up as we were sheltered from them!

There were an array of options available at breakfast, including cava! We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as wanted to explore the marina and the bars/restaurants along it. We did however make the most of the pizza that were served at our sunloungers - very tasty!

The location of the hotel is great - just a stone's throw from the marina and a ten-minute walk to the nearest beach at Playa Dorada. The area itself is not tacky at all (despite common misconceptions that Lanzarote isn't particularly classy) and really quite plush. The hotel isn't a high-rise and sits naturally by the marina with the views of the mountains beyond.

We got a late deal on the hotel which made us wonder if it could be a good hotel at such a good rate, but our fears were eradicated as soon as we turned up! It was simply a brilliant deal!

We decided that we wanted to give a special mention to Pedro (who made a fantastic mojito), Tuen (whose smile made our day), Billy (who always amazed us with her incredible understanding of numerous languages and positive outlook on everything) and all of the pool staff and maintenance guys (who greeted us warmly every morning, and occasionally 'helped' us fall into the pool which was freezing!!). Hope to see you again next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We truly appreciate that you recommend our Hotel to other travellers, and for rewarding us with the best possible rating.

We hope to have you back again in Lanzarote during one of your future holidays.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 3,866 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

I am a big traveller but was I blown away by this hotel. I was a little apprehensive at first going to Playa Blanca thought it may be a bit tacky but I wanted some sunshine. I could not have been more wrong. Playa Blanca was a most charming place and the Volcan Hotel was by far one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Their attention to details was second to none. I had a junior suite and excellent view over the harbour and market which was Saturdays and Wednesdays. The hotel had a little gate which you could exit through straight onto the market and harbour. The bathroom not only had bamboo air fresheners but a scented candle along with matches which may me feel very much at home! I had breakfast and evening meal at the hotel and have never experienced so much variety of food - it was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 453 and the constant noise of the games room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank renee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for considering THe Volcán Lanzarote one of the best hotels you have stayed in.

We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to recommend our Hotel to other travellers.

We hope to meet you again during a future holiday to the island of Lanzarote.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I decided to book a Club room after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, and we really enjoyed the private Club areas (which are not open to children, so they are very quiet). The Club pool and terrace were very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds and even Balinese beds. The Club lounge provided an excellent breakfast, with cooked to order eggs, coffee and juice, along with a huge buffet of everything you could want--meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, etc (the cookies were excellent). The lounge also has cakes & tea in the afternoon and in the evening an open, serve-yourself bar (with every kind of wine and spirit and some mixers and soft drinks). The evening snacks needed some improvement--small pieces of bread with toppings that weren't always tasty, along with jars of nuts and olives. The snacks were exactly the same every night, so a little variety would help.

Our room had a stunning view of the beautiful Rubicon marina from our balcony, which had two chairs and a table. The room itself was spacious and very clean. The bed is quite hard, but this seems typical of Spanish hotels.

The other pools in the hotel were very nice but also unheated (there is cold wind blowing even when the temperature is high), with numerous sunbeds scattered around the complex. The hotel is built like a Canarian village, so there are plenty of out-of-the way places to sit and relax.

We thought the service, from the reception desk to the maids to Club lounge staff was very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

Rubicon marina has numerous restaurants and classy shops and a really fabulous arts and crafts market on Wed & Sat (excellent jewelry, clothing, etc, at much cheaper prices than the UK). It's an easy 20-minute walk along the seafront promenade to the center of Playa Blanca, with a bigger choices of shops, restaurants and bars.

We rented a car from Cabrera Medina at the airport, but they have offices all over Playa Blanca. It's easy to drive around the island, with well-marked, nicely paved roads (I'm American and am used to driving on the right). Islanders do love to tailgate rental cars, so either move over and let them pass or just ignore them. They'll eventually pass you!

The nearby beaches at Papagayo are stunning and very clean, but are accessed through the national park (entrance fee 3 Euros per car), which has upaved, dirt & gravel roads, so it's a bit nerve-racking to get there. There are at several beaches to choose from (they are visible at a distance from the Rubicon marina).

Timanfaya volcano is fantastic, and an easy drive from Playa Blanca (take the LZ-2 towards Arrecife and turn off at the brown sign for Timanfaya). The drive towards the visitor's centre is stunning in itself. You have to board a bus there and be driven around the perimeter (you can't get off) with excellent commentary in Spanish, English and German. Sit on the right side of the bus for the most panoramic views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GJI-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for rating us as an excellent Hotel, and for recommending our Club Volcán section to other travellers.

We hope you had a wonderful time in Lanzarote and would like to have you again in the Hotel during a future holiday break.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed on a bed and breakfast deal at the end of April,the hotel is stunning with lovely features,also in a fantastic spot just next to the rubicon marina, staff were very friendly and helpfull, room was perfect with a sea view,breakfast was amazing with everything you could wish for including cava!!! The only complaints i have is that the entertainment was poor,one night consisted of bayern Munich vs Real Madrid even as a football fan found this incredible,also the service at the Los James pub wasn't acceptable to have to wait 20 minutes for a drink when it's only half full really isn't good enough,rant over!!!!!! it is a wonderfull hotel in a wonderfull resort.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for considering THe Volcán Lanzarote a wonderful Hotel.

We have taken note of your comments about our entertainment and for having to wait for a drink at our Fun Pub. We sincerely value your criticism since it helps us to improve.

We hope to meet you again if you decide to choose us during a future holiday in Lanzarote.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel last year and was so impressed we are returning in June 2014. Really enjoyed the atmosphere which was friendly, calm and peaceful. The choice for breakfast was amazing and no fighting for sunbeds! The room was big if a little dark and we got no real sun on the balcony. Still the view was lovely. The only real criticism was that the evening entertainment was pathetic but we went to a local bar (Blue Note) for the music instead. We are looking forward to returning in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for rewarding us with the highest rating.

We truly appreciate your recommendations about us to other travellers and very specially that you are looking forward to return.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Overall a very pleasant stay at Hotel Volcan - this is actually our second stay. I love that it is right next to the marina and all the best restaurants are within easy walking distance.

I don't even know how many pools there are here but half the time we seemed to have a small pool to ourselves which was nice. Sunbeds have all been replaced and are great - no collapsing just as you have settled.

On the less positive side the rooms could do with a bit of a re-furb. It's not anything major but the blue soft furnishings look a little worn and outdated - the sofa bed was actually a little grubby too so I tried not to look too closely. Aside from this everything was kept very clean.

There was also a mini bar fridge in the room and whilst it was plugged in and switched on it didn't really do much to keep anything cool - if it is going to be in the room it really should work.

Selection at breakfast is more than adequate. Last time round we ate dinner here too and there was a good selection of food but catering for English and German tastes rather than local food - this is what you would expect though and I don't think you could complain about what was on offer.

Overall a lovely holiday and I am missing the sun already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We thank you for the comments, and for mentioning both the things you liked anbd the things you consider should improve. The latter is very important for us in order to improve or quality of service.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the club section of the hotel and another great relaxing week which goes by just as you want it too
We only stayed b&b but the breakfast is superb with an unbelievable choice
A special mention to the staff from the front desk to the cleaners all pleasant helpful and very friendly
We will be back again next year

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sharron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to have you back in the Hotel on your return next year.

We are very pleased that you have rewarded us with the best possible rating.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,787 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $143 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing