We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but more like a 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just got back from a lovely week away in the sun. Loved this hotel for it's unique design, location, the spacious rooms, the amazing views and the really lovely employees. The breakfast buffet was also great! However, we had several minor issues that led to us having to ring reception quite regularly; leaking bath tub, glasses often not changed when clearly dirty, that type of thing. The bedding was also very 'tired' with holes in the bedspread and we weren't really fans of the blanket either. Same thing for the pool towels. I sound very negative but only as this place sells itself on bring 5* and luxury. Also it was full when we were there so the usual reserving of the sun loungers occurred as soon as it was allowed at 9am. Totally unavoidable as not sure the campus is quite big enough for so many guests to sunbathe. That said, it was gorgeous, we totally relaxed, had great drinks in the bar, and enjoyed the atmosphere. I would go back and would recommend it, especially as the management were so accommodating when we gave our feedback to them. They kindly allowed us to keep our room late on our departure day to make up for the hassle of the leaking bath. It was good to be listened to and for them to make that gesture.

Room Tip: Request a high level room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Hotel. We value that you mention both the issues you liked and those that you feel should improve. It is very rewarding for us that after mentioning both perspectives, you mention that you intend to return in the future.

I will forward a copy of your comments to all members of our management staff in order for every one to be aware of the areas that you feel should improve.

We hope that the next time you visit us you will find these issues solved.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,821 - 1,827 of 3,983 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Spent 9 nights here very recently and couldn't have asked for anywhere better to stay. Room was lovely, more like a suite with lots of little extras, candle, lovely toiletries, dressing gowns etc. Housekeeping was 1st class with towels changed evey day. Pool area was superb. It never felt busy and there were lots of places to sunbathe. Staff were very friendly especially Sandra at the pool bar who not only helped us with our spanish but made the best Bloody Mary around!! Definitely looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Room 119 was very close to pool and gate to marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a good review about THe Volcán Lanzarote, specially for mentioning that you would like to return during a future holiday.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A beautiful hotel overlooking the marina was conceived to ensure guests privacy and blends harmoniously into the landscape.
“The Club” facility of Hotel Volcán, catering for adults 16+, offers a privileged “zen” environment for total rest and relaxation with Jacuzzis and pool bar on the sun deck overlooking the sea. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind.
Dining facilities on site include Italian, Japanese or Spanish as alternatives to the buffet, and a cocktail/tapas bar particularly worth a visit. Assortment of other cuisine, catering for all tastes, available along the esplanade in the marina.
Staff, on all levels, attentive, efficient and totally customer oriented.
Have visited twice, memorable holidays, and guaranteed to recharge batteries ! I will certainly return !
Lesley, Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank for very much for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay, specially for mentioning that after your second visit you intend to return for a third time.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Volcan on two occasions, it is one of the best holiday hotels we have ever visited. Everything about this hotel contributes to a great holiday.

The food is extremely good with an amazing and varied choice at both breakfast and evening buffet, there is also a very good Japanese restaurant attached to the hotel. The poolside bar does a selection of tasty snacks, light lunches and all the usual cocktails and drinks.

The rooms are spacious with large beds, bathrooms are separate to the toilet and have twin sinks, deep bath and power shower cubical all beautifully tiled.

There easy access to the near by marina where you will find some great restaurants and bars.

It is simply 1st class.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for considering us a first class hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your rating and your comments.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

From the moment we entered the Hotel Volcan, we felt we had discovered a special place. It was quiet, spacious, unique and unbelievably quiet. We stayed seven nights and enjoyed every minute: our room, the fabulous views and landscaping, the walks around the site…so many pools to choose from…access to the Marina Rubicon, the beaches and the general laid back but luxurious atmosphere. The staff were helpful, friendly and approachable. We genuinely felt welcomed as a family. We especially liked being on the fringe of the busier hotels and had access to everything. I really can't recommend this hotel enough. The food was very good, especially the breakfast. On the Friday night, there was a sponsored drinks reception and we met several staff members as well as other guests. The guests we met seemed to have loved it as much as we did and one family had returned for the third time.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view…it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAMParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for rewarding The Volcán Lanzarote with five out of five points, and for your positive comments.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel towards the end of March and loved it. The location is perfect and we had a lovely large room and balcony with a terrific view. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. You can access the Marina via the back entrance to the hotel and therefore do not have far to go to shops, restaurants, bars, market etc. The Volcan is also within easy walking distance of Playa Blanca centre. I agree with other reviewers about the general ambiance of the hotel. It doesn't feel impersonal as some hotels can and you feel welcome from the instant you walk through it's doors. Altogether a very calming and relaxing holiday. The only negative thing I would highlight is the food. I absolutely disagree with others who have said the food is very good. I found the quality of the food especially for a 5 star hotel to be les than satisfactory and the presentation of it to be very unsuitable, with bottleneck queues forming and more often than not some of the containers empty. The selection of desserts was especially poor. This would not however stop me from returning to this hotel as everything else more made up for the standard of the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoVee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write positive comments about the Hotel, particularly for mentioning that you intend to return during a future holiday break.

However, we sincerely apologize for your comments about the food. I will personally share your comments with our Head Chef in order for us to improve our quality of service.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Volcan a couple of weeks ago the room and facilities were excellent. We didn't eat in the hotel as restaurants and bars were right on the doorstep, however I couldn't fault breakfast or the service.

The only disappointment was the balcony which was unusable it was like being in a cave with just a shaft of light coming on to it, Dark dingy and did spoil an otherwise great holiday. Make sure you don't get room 405 or 406 both had awful outlooks. Would I visit again ...certainly would but would refuse either of the above rooms. No glass of wine on the balcony before dinner or tea at the end of the day,,,, shame. otherwise perfect !

Room Tip: pool or sea view room specify not 405 or 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

We truly apologize for your comments regarding your balcony.

We must thank you for writing good comments about your Hotel, since you found everything else to be up to standards and intend to return during a future holiday.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,525 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $136 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing