We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Volcan a couple of weeks ago the room and facilities were excellent. We didn't eat in the hotel as restaurants and bars were right on the doorstep, however I couldn't fault breakfast or the service.

The only disappointment was the balcony which was unusable it was like being in a cave with just a shaft of light coming on to it, Dark dingy and did spoil an otherwise great holiday. Make sure you don't get room 405 or 406 both had awful outlooks. Would I visit again ...certainly would but would refuse either of the above rooms. No glass of wine on the balcony before dinner or tea at the end of the day,,,, shame. otherwise perfect !

Room Tip: pool or sea view room specify not 405 or 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

We truly apologize for your comments regarding your balcony.

We must thank you for writing good comments about your Hotel, since you found everything else to be up to standards and intend to return during a future holiday.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 3,926 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a week at the Volcan at the start of March and found the hotel virtually faultless. Everywhere was immaculately clean and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The food was very good with a choice at the buffet breakfast of just about any and everything you could possibly wish to eat - our only complaint being that their coffee was not of a great standard! Our room was supposedly a basic double, yet it would put some suites to shame with a huge bed and separate sitting area, small balcony overlooking the pool, double sinks in the bathroom, nice deep bath with lashings of hot water and a separate loo off the bathroom. We had a quite superb, relaxing break and a large part of the credit must go the the Volcan and its staff - I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the basic double and it was excellent, I cannot believe that there would be any rooms that co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dper195829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We truly appreciate that you rated the Hotel with 5 out of 5 points.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am not keen on hotel holidays preferring self catering, however I may be changing my mind! This hotel cared about your comfort, the beds were rather hard for me so they provided a mattress topper promptly and it was heaven! Our room was lovely, spacious and spotless with a tiny balcony. Lots of sun beds around the pools, and gardens to walk through. The staff were delightful, never seen without a smile, just great.
If you want delicious food on the cheap do not miss la Cubierta on the marina, surprisingly good food, fabulous salads and great waiters.

Room Tip: Try for a room opening onto the pool area if you like it bright, however we were down an outside co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Having just returned from a week long stay in April 2014 I can highly recommend this hotel for a number of reasons...

First it's a very unusual design. Not the usual angular lump but lots of little spaces where you can find your own peace and quiet. I thought the food was excellent both for breakfast and evening buffet too. I do shake my head when I see reviews of this hotel criticising the food. Some people will moan about anything but it's not compulsory to eat there. There are a 1000 worse choices just around the corner in Playa Blanca. The food choice is vast and chefs are on hand to cook fresh pasta, chicken, steak whatever you want. There are lots and lots of choices.

I went around the whole of Lanzarote over the week and I found Playa Blanca the best area for what I was looking for. I also felt this was the best hotel in the area so I am thankful I stayed there.

The staff, facilities and location are all excellent and I have stayed in a LOT of hotels as I tend to travel for a living. This hotel stands out as one of the best I have ever been to, it really surprised me and blew me away.

Some people have to moan about something and if you do then the only things I can think of that are credible are the Wifi is a bit slow compared to UK and mainly limited to the spacious lobby area. This is not something unique to the hotel but seems to be an whole island problem in Lanzarote. Fibre optic cables are not in general supply on the island hence it's slow internet pretty well everywhere. That said, go on holiday, relax and stop checking for emails every 5 minutes and enjoy your vacation.

With this hotel you really won't find any better in Lanzarote, period.

Room Tip: Everything is spacious so have no fear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for rating us as excellent, it is very important for us.

We sincerely appreciate the comments mentioned in your review, and hope to have you back with us during a future holiday break.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our first trip to Lanzarote and the hotel had been booked for us by our local travel agent. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. A special mention to Billy and Nick who greeted us most mornings at the entrance to the restaurant . They were always cheerful and professional and went out of their way to help . Also, Pedro in the bar who made sure our drinks were regularly topped up! We were staying on a B and B basis and both my husband and I were very impressed by the quality and range of food available in the buffet breakfast. During our stay we also ate in the Japanese restaurant, which was excellent. The hotel is situated in an ideal location for exploring the rubicon marina and further afield. We ate out most evenings in restaurants around the marina and were very happy with all the meals.
Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Without exception all the clientele we met at the hotel were lovely and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend any of the rooms overlooking the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the comments in your review, and for rewarding us with a rating of 5 out of 5.

We sincerely appreciate having mentioned two of the foreign students that are here on an internship. A copy of your review will be forwarded to them, and we will personally thank them for their outstanding performance.

We hope that you decide to return to the Hotel for a future holiday break.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Volcan. It is ideally situated close to bars and the marina but is an oasis of calm. Couldn't wish for better breakfast - even Bloody Mary if you wanted it! No drop in standards from the Gran Melia brand who ran it previously.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Babs190956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting us for the third time,and for rating us as excellent.

It is very rewarding to read that you fel that our standards remain the same and that you had a relaxing time in the Hotel.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, but very much let down by the poor food and restaurant. Buffet service, but the food was of canteen quality, and not what should be expected of a 5* hotel. The breakfast selection was good and varied, but the dinner selection was dreadful - much rehashed from the previous day. Very unappetising.
Staff too could do with more training in the restaurant - plates were not cleared quickly enough and dirty crockery and tablecloths were carted on trolleys through the dining room whilst guests were eating.
The Italian restaurant on site could have been great, but this had no ambience whatsoever, and there were very long waits for anything - even drinks. We gave up and went away, having been offered nothing for 20 minutes.
Although there was supposed to be a heated pool - this was still very cold, and very few people used any of the pools.
Room was lovely however and the hotel is well situated with great entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 994DaveME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest

We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations, regretting that you did not like our dinner options and our swimming pool water temperature.

However, we appreciate that you have mentioned the things you found up to standards, like for instance the room, or the breakfast.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,433 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $140 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing