We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had seen the hotel advertised by Thomas Cook and the experience was even more pleasing than the brochure preview. The location and setting were excellent with plenty of opportunities for walks either through the marina and town or further afield.
As for the hotel itself, the entrance with its candles, marble and chanting is breathtaking. The reception setting and staff are no disappointment providing speedy and efficient check in. We were in room 481 and it was delightful. Bedding, bathroom and facilities were excellent and the couple of requests we had from service and technician were dealt with immediately. The restaurants were excellent
with the main one doing it's best to cater for everyone and the Japanese and Italian restaurants are a lovely alternative for a visit. There was a good selection with a vast selection of well priced drinks. Even though the hotel was fully booked it provided a quiet, relaxing atmosphere and never felt crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinanddeidre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for giving us the best possible rating.

We hope to have you back in the Hotel during a future holiday break.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is a 3 star masquerading a something more than it is. The swimming pools are not heated, the rooms are cheaply furnished and the service is nothing more than adequate. There is little if anything to do at the locality which probably had a massive bearing on our opinion but we left after 6 days having booked for 2 weeks given that we found a cheap flight home on boxing day and grabbed it. Restaurant for breakfast is ok but nothing special.

Room Tip: Find one in a hotel in another place far away from Lanzarote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EugSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest

We apologize for the comments stated in your review.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel. We had room 453 a 'junior suite' which we found to be very spacious and included a whirl pool bath. We had an excellant view of the pool area and the marina.
The food was excellant with a good choice and the dining area provided a choice between eating inside the dining room or in the terrace area overlooking the pool. We tried both and found them to be clean and effeciently run with helpfull and pleasant staff.
Whilst we were there in February there was plenty of sun loungers and the pool areas are arranged so that areas are not crowded and there is a bar service to the pool area.
Throughout our stay staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly, efficient and helpful.
We cannot understand the negative comments concerning the hotel. We found this to be the best hotel we have been to in Lanzarote, this being our eigth visit to the island. We will definately be returning.
Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that this has been the best Hotel you have stayed in Lanzarote after visiting the island for the eight time.

We truly appreciate that you have give us the best possible rating.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed in Club section in February.
The hotel building is superb, full of character and pleasantly set out 'village style'. Downside of this is that there are vast differences in rooms. Our first was 557 - no view due to palm trees & no sun as it was in the shadow of the pool terrace. Had to wait 2 days to change and then we had 752 - absolutely excellent, bright spacious, sunny & good views. Its such a pity you can't book rooms the same way you do with cabins on cruise ships - We would gladly have paid more to have been in this standard of room in the first place.
The only advantage to us of being 'club' was the room location and peace around the pool area. Sorry I have to mention those blessed sunbeds - if you found a good one it was still the most uncomfortable ever - bare mesh without mattress. The fancy bedouin bed things had no cushions or pillows so you couldn't really use those either.
Afternoon tea was a dissapointment, tried it once & found no tiny sandwiches, no warm scones with jam or cream just loads of cakes & a counter where you chose your teabag & cup! Where was the man with the pot of darjeeling?
At breakfast there was a wonderful selection of fruits, meats, pastries, cakes etc etc. but if a full english is your thing you may be a bit dissapointed -eggs were freshly cooked & brought to you & then you had to go get the rest from the buffet - bacon not good. Toaster a nightmare.
Free drinks were between 6&9pm so never bothered.
We actually loved the hotel itself though depite the above minor niggles. We liked the style & layout of the grounds - no green so no wickies or mozzies. The location is great. Really impressed with the marina & how well kept it is. The lengthy promenade down to playa blanca is a bonus - no traffic, no hazzards, no steps. All the staff were great, a credit to the hotel. We had a super time & would go again if the room could be guaranteed.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong on floor 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezPoultonleFylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Recently returned, this is not a 5* hotel. Very disappointed with the attitude of management. I complained due to the fact that the food was not labelled in the restaurant, and if it was, it was incorrect. Was it chicken, or pork? We were there for 10 days and mentioned our complaint on day 2. The manager agreed that something needed to be done and assured us it would be dealt with immediately. It wasn't, and in fact not dealt with at all even after a reminder. I really feel that this is not acceptable for a hotel of this standard. I do not wish to receive a response from management saying that it has now been sorted! Sorry!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 1,234,343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest

We truly apologize for your comments about the lack of food labels in our evening buffet.

We have ordered new labels to a printing company as an addition to the ones we have in order to help our guests better identify the variety of plates offered.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Since I booked our holiday last August I have kept in touch with Tripadvisor comments on this lovely hotel,most give it the high praise it deserves and I can not understand some of the negative comments it has received.
One of the main complaints is they do not replenish the tea/coffee facilities after they run out, dont know how this is a problem, we took our own tea bags,bought a pint of milk and some water from the local supermarket and kept them in the mini fridge provided, problem solved.
We also can not understand any negative comments on the quality of the food,we where on half board basis,the breakfast is of the highest quality ,there is nothing at all you could want for, even the machine cappuccino and coffee is first class,not to mention the free Cava, rose or white .
My wife and I also really liked the evening meals, there was always something on the buffet that we liked,plenty of fish and meat and the wine list is very reasonably priced as are all the drinks in the hotel.
We were given a standard pool facing room 108, the quality of this room was of a very high standard,a massive double bed and a lovely lounge area,with a seperate toilet and bathroom fitted with a wonderfull shower, also an outside area facing the pool where we had many a nice pre dinner glass of wine.
The beautiful weather also helped,it was a pleasure usuing your room cardkey to go through a small hotel gate that took you to the Rubican Marina with its lovely bars and places to eat, dont forget the Global and Blue Jazz bars which are next door to each other facing the yaght harbour,here there is a great cocktail menu,if you like a serious gin and tonic go for one they call the perfect g and t you will not be dissapointed I promise.
I cant finish this review with out mentioning the fantastic staff from the reception people to the restaurant staff they could not be more helpful , and are a credit to the hotel and management .
Will we be going next year ,try and stop us.

Room Tip: I would try to get a ground floor room between 108 to 123 if possible. you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralColin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for giving us the best possible rating and for writing a very positive review about us.


Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Following a reccomendation by our neighbours we booked to stay at the Hotel Volcan last October. Their experience had been very positive and they mentioned the adults only Club Volcan. This interested us as we were looking for relaxation and peace and quiet.
The flight with Jet2 was accetable but the private transfer to the hotel was a little fraught in a somewhat dilapidated minibus, just the two of us in a 12 seater! - the door flew open at the first roundabout and every hill was a challenge!
The hotel itself is most impressive with a superb outlook. But if you are after green lawns and verdant plant life this is not the place for you. The Club Volcan was all it claimed to be with excellent rooms and service. We had a room which opened directly onto the pool deck. There are only 4 like this numbers 661-664 and we found this really nice. Breakfast was in the Club itself as was the afternoon tea and free bar in the evening 6-9pm.
The local market, Wed and Sat at the Marina was interesting and there are many local resturants and bars in a fairly short distance. A walk to golden sandy beaches was only about 20 mins and Playa Blanca was just beyond.
We had book half board and the evening meal is buffet style with a very wide choice of starters, mains and sweets. My wife is a veggie and was spolied for choice. We initially didn't realise that the Club Volcan guests had a dedicated area in the resturant which is more spacious and quiet. As part of the deal we had one night in the hotel's Itialian resturant and this proved a very pleasant evening.
The hotels facilities are 5 star but it could do with a little freshening in some areas, perhaps this is a reflection of our 'out of season' booking. Nothing major just cosmetic.
The staff were attentive with nothing seeming too much trouble. Check out was easy and painless although the return to the aiirport was slightly less traumatic it did seem a bit of a waste sending an 18 seater for just two of us.

Room Tip: Rooms 661-664 open directly onto the pool area and in reality the sun loungers are simply an extensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLee1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the Hotel.

We hope to have you back again during a future holiday break.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $143 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing