We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Location for this superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived home to wet and cold England last night after a great 10 day stay at this fantastic hotel. We did splash out and go for the Volcan Club which offered adult only section of the hotel with private pool and whirlpools amazing views over the sea while in the whirlpool private breakfast room afternoon tea with a great selection of cakes and a complimentary bar you helped yourself to and which included all the top makes of drinks.
The rooms were amazing and we had a top floor with views over the marina on one side and sea on the other. The staff could not do enough for you and even when you were just walking around the grounds not really lost - it is a big place to find your way around - someone would pop up be it a porter or a waitress just passing by and always stop to offer help.
The rooms were cleaned and towels etc changed every day. We had robes slippers a pillow menu and tea and coffee facilities so everything catered for.
Alas I have to have one little moan. We were half board and we didn't feel the food was up to 5 star standard mainly because the buffet is disjointed and difficult to sort out people stand in front of veg trays etc waiting for food to be cooked and they didnt like to move!
Don't let that put you off you can always do B/B which we will do next time but do give the Club Volcan a try its different

Room Tip: I can only comment on the club section but the 7th floor and especially 763 has amazing views.Althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teeganeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us an excellent rating and for writing a positive review about your stay in our Club Volcán section.

We hope to have you again in Lanzarote in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 3,866 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked just three days here for some Winter sun and found it to be a good value option. The hotel has all the facilities to tick the requisite boxes - a couple of pools, eateries, good location, helpful staff, spacious and attractive rooms. The buffet room for breakfast/dinner is nice, with the terrace reaching out over the pool. This is certainly the less tacky end of Playa Blanca! There is a programme of activities such as Pilates, should that be your thing.

We found the layout a little meandering, and features like the church as you walk in are slightly random because they bear no relation to the rest of the hotel. The heated pool (not warm, but less cold than the other ; ) is a bit oddly tucked away by a restaurant and a big open terrace space with deckchairs pointing into nothing but each other. I think this is mostly down to personal taste as far as design goes though.

We thought things like having to walk around asking staff if there is anywhere you can get a pool side drink, or having a very specific time slot to get towels from the spa (hard to find) did perhaps not make you feel completely at ease. However, at the same time reception were happy to arrange to get a bottle opener brought to our room and the paperwork you get at the beginning reinforces that you can use the fridges in your room to stock you own food/drinks if you like, and that the hotel have arrangements with 3 restaurants outside where you can get your bill added to your hotel account. A good touch.

We paid less than 100 euro a night for B&B, so while we had a fairly dark room with a tree in front of the window, we felt that the overall offering here represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review with your opinion about THe Volcan Lanzarote.

We sincerely appreciate your comments, whiel at the same time apologize for the issues where you find we could have done better. We welcome constructive criticism, since listening to our customers is the best way to improve our quality of service.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived on the 23rd January to the Hotel volcan Lanzarote and got a first great impression-fast check in, drink on arrival and porter taking our bags and showing us our room. The hotel looks great and although our room was a fairly long walk from the lift it was fantastic. We loved the small touches like rose petals, candles, incense etc. The room was spacious with a big bed (although a little hard was comfortable and we slept well). On my birthday I was surprised by returning to my room with a surprise birthday cake and bottle of sparkling champagne provided by the hotel-just wonderful. The pool area was great with plenty of sun loungers although we didn't spend much time there due to the weather! I liked the location-near the marina and a nice walk to central Playa Blanca. We will be returning soon as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review abou your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Read all the Tripadvisor reports in October, and despite the mixed reviews decided to book a 1-week break in January and were so pleased that we did. We couldn't fault this hotel in any way. All the staff were friendly and efficient, and all the facilities were first class.

The hotel is more like a village and within an easy walk to the lovely Marina, where we were spoilt for choice of where to eat in the evenings.
Our room was large, with a separate seating area and terrace. The complimentary toiletries, bottles of water, tea, coffee and milk were a nice touch as were the flower petals sprinkled on the bed and around the bathroom on our arrival.

The buffet breakfast was superb and very extensive which enabled us to have something different every morning throughout our stay.

We would definitely return to this hotel again.





Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments, specially for your decision to return to the Hotel during a future holiday break.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just back from 11 nights half board at the Hotel Volcan in Lanzarote. We had a thoroghly enjoyable time. The staff from Reception, to Restaurants to Housekeeping and Porters cannot do enough to enusre that guests enjoy their stay. The Volcan is ideally situated on the Rubicon Marina, with its pleasant bars, restaurants and designer label shops, and only 15 mins walk to the centre of Playa Blanca. For those new to Lanzarote, we toured the island and Playa Blanca is the best resort by far in terms of its laid back atmosphere and cafe culture.
The hotel is impressive and designed like a Canarian village, which means some rooms can be quite a walk from Reception. Also, although standard rooms are very spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped, there can be a variation in terms of views and sunshine. We were allocated a room with significant shade on arrival, but Reception worked hard to find us a room with a sunny patio after two days.
Food in the Florida buffet restaurant is generally very good quality with lots of choice. Even on themed nights it is always possible to get something simple like a steak or chicken or spaghetti, which chefs will prepare freshly for you. One slight issue is that pre-prepared food is not always piping hot, although microwaves are available. Breakfasts also offer very good quality. The only disappointment was that the toasters were ineffective. On the whole however, eating at the Florida was fine.
We ate once at the Rubicon and athough the antipasti and the main courses were ok (we chose a pizza and beef in marsala sauce) the panna cotta was disappointing and accompanied by spray can cream - not what one would expect from a 5 star restaurant.
These are only minor issues, however, and although some of the better 4 star properties we have stayed at in the Canaries, could match the Volcan for food, it's the fact that staff always want to go the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday, which makes the Vocan a 5 star hotel, and we are happy to give it 5/5 overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunny patio or balcony if that's what you like. Some rooms can be well sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments about your experience in THe Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

We hope to have you back again in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I had a memorable 12 day holiday in this wonderful hotel. Everything, from the moment we arrived until we left, exceeded our expectations. The reason we rated this experience so highly was the quality of the staff in every department. Their professionalism was of the highest quality but what was most striking was the good humour and enthusiasm they exuded as they went about their daily duties. We felt that this was transmitted to the guests and overall this atmosphere and ambience in the hotel was palpable. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a postive review about your experience in the Hotel.

We hope to have you back again in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in December for our honeymoon and it was a brilliant choice. We booked a Club Room and asked for a high floor which we were allocated and were very pleased with this. Being a quiet time of year, the most guests on the sun terrace (in the Club area) including us was 6 and we had the pool to ourselves. So many extras in the room, cocktail on arrivial, complimentary welcome chocs brought to the room after check-in & complimentary bottle of cava and fruit for our honeymoon.
Breakfast in the Club area was the best breakfast in any hotel we've stayed at both in terms of choice & quality of food and service. We booked B&B based on previous reviews and since the Club area does not serve dinner we were glad we did. We ate once in the main buffet restaurant but felt this let the hotel down. All staff without exception were friendly, polite and professional and really are a credit to the hotel. Thank you to all for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a positive review about your stay in the Hotel.

We hope to have you back in Lanzarote in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,787 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $143 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing