We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had seen the Hotel Volcan on a previous stay and decided to book here as the location near the marina and some superb restaurants was very enticing. We were not disappointed. The entrance was through a chapel with religious chants and lit candles. Checking in was easy very friendly and helpful staff and came with a welcome cocktail. I had booked a sea-view room and influenced by other tripadvisor comments had emailed the hotel and asked for a quiet room with views over the marina, and this is what we got. The room was large with a sitting area that had a settee plus two chairs and a table and a terrace with two chairs and a glass table. The beds were comfortable and there was a very extensive pillow menu. The room included a minibar with two complimentary bottles of water and a safe that was also free to use (other hotels charge extra for both of these) The bathroom had two handbasins plus a bath with overhead shower, in a separate area was the toilet and bidet.
The hotel has a complex layout which we were only getting used to by the time we left but it had some lovely quiet sunbathing spots where we could get out of the prevailing and incessant wind. Disappointed at the additional cost of the spa, but it seems that most of the Lanzarote hotels have this policy. We only booked B & B as we knew we wanted to eat in the local restaurants. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide range of foods. You could even start the day with champagne if you wished, and many other guests obviously did ! We eat in on one night at a similarly extensive buffet which was a reasonable 20 euros per person and very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a very positive review about the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,008
    1,116
    367
    81
    34
See reviews for
821
2,245
79
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked a double room with a sea view, but what we were given would have been described as a junior suite at some hotels. Spacious and very tasteful, and the view was over the Rubicon Marina across the bay to Playa Blanca.

The hotel is designed to look like a hill-side village, low clusters of white building with gardens and pools. There is even a building designed like a church, which you pass through on the way to the foyer. On arrival, we thought we were in the wrong place. Candles lit, a recording of monks chanting. We sometimes sat in this room just to soak in the peaceful atmosphere. And because this is Lanzarote, there is also a volcano: a small mountain of black basalt,which houses the foyer,.next to the 'church'.

Many hotels have lines of sunbeds squeezed round the pools, but here you can get away from everyone else. There are sunbeds by the pools, but more are scattered throughout the gardens, each pair protected by a low semi-circular wall of black basalt in the style of the walls built on farms to protect crops. By some standards the gardens are not lush. There seems to be no soil on Lanzarote, and even succulent plants struggle in crushed volcanic rubble that does not retain moisture, and the overall effect is black.

We booked bed and breakfast, which gave us the chance to eat at several of the restaurants in the marina outside the hotel. In general they were very good and (by our standards) quite expensive. We had dinner at the hotel on two occasions, the buffet (which wasn't outstanding) and the Japanese restaurant, which was.

The hillside on which the hotel is built is quite steep, and someone with restricted mobility might not find it easy to get about, but there is a level promenade walk into Playa Blanca, a couple of miles away. On the whole, the restaurants there are cheaper than those in the marina, and there is a good range of tourist shops. A word of warning for photographers: be sure you are up to date with prices. My camera broke while I was there, and I took it into a specialist camera shop (Image, C/. Limones, 72 - 35580 Playa Blanca). After several hours of confusing sales talk I came out with a new camera, memory card, spare battery, carrying case and various 'free gifts'. I now know that I paid three times what I should have paid.

Room Tip: Our room was 477. Nice room, nice view, but long corridors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanoo_Harve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a positive review about your holidays in the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is very pretty, with winding paths, freeform pools and looks lovely lit up at night. The buffet restaurant overlooks a large pool and I loved the breakfasts. We went B and B and ate at good restaurants overlooking the marina on 4 nights and also enjoyed eating at the hotel buffet restaurant (20 euros) 3 times, and once at the Italian (pleasant but really quiet - a bit of music could have added atmosphere). The hotel is very close to Rubicon marina, a lovely upmarket area, and there are really picturesque walks along the coast in both directions from the hotel. We caught a ferry to Fuerteventura one day (just over 20 euros return) and had a good day out, and also found a trip to the volcano, etc. interesting. We found all the hotel staff friendly and helpful. There was entertainment on an evening and we particularly liked the rock duo, Boulevard, who played on Saturdays. Our room was large, nicely decorated and spotless and the bed was huge and comfy. The pool areas were pretty, with plenty of sun loungers, but would benefit from being spruced up a bit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Volcan and it was a delightful, relaxing escape to some winter sunshine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a postive review about your stay in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel Volcan situated just behind the Marina at Playa Blanca, Lanzarote is a fantastic spot to relax. You have some great restaurants and some good bars right outside and a 15 min walk to more life, bars and restaurants in main part of Playa Blanca. Hotel is well spread out providing ample space and good variety of areas to enjoy the sun.

There are a few issues though that brings down the rating of the hotel which need to be addressed to really make this a 5 star. Going out of season we were keen to take advantage of the Gym and Spa. The gym is archaic and some of the machines are basically dangerous. The only modern looking cable machine was out of order and the range of free weights totals 3 very light weight dumbbells. The Spa looks OK, but we were very annoyed at the fact that the hotel has the audacity to charge a further EUR 12 p.p. per visit and we still were asked to pay even when buying treatments. The masseuse however was excellent and well worth every penny. The hotel has WIFI in the reception and claims it is not able to provide to rooms due to the inadequacy of service to Lanzarote. Not true, if you are a member of ‘Club Volcan’ you could access WIFI in your room. Breakfast was good with a wide variety, but I really hope the management of the hotel actually read some of these posts and acknowledge that the toasters are completely inadequate and they need to buy some new ones. Or maybe this is a deliberate ice breaker for guests, since every conversation started with how annoying it was not to be able to toast bred in under 15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hotel.

We have purchased new toasters in order to improve our quality of service during breakfast hours.

We sincerely apologize for your comments concerning our WiFi service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Relaxing hotel went on my own for 4 days.. Staff were attentive although had strange uniforms hotel offers activities throughout week. Had to pay to use the spa facilities which should be free for hotel guests . Wifi not good for a 5 star could only get signal in the hotel lobby

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uksp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hotel.

We sincerely apologize for your comments about the WiFi service signal.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from a week at the Volcan, It is a beautiful hotel, very attractively laid-out. We had rooms on the 5th floor with large south facing balconies and a wonderful view of the Marina. The breakfasts were excellent - though the toasters were inadequate. Our waitress in the evening - Carmen - whose English was about as good as our Spanish, was charming and helpful.
However, I do not think the hotel is really suitable for disabled guests. My sister could not use the shower or bath and the journey to the restaurant via lifts and walkways was exhausting. If it had rained, it would have been even worse. I do not agree with any of the negative comments about the hotel but would advise anyone with serious mobility problems to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 820christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positve review about the Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us.

On the other hand, we apologize for not finding the hotel suitable for disabled guests.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at the Volcan. 5-star, we don't think so. Half-lit corridors and very difficult to find one's way around. It's a huge sprawling complex with no central lounge to meet other guests. When we arrived (just in time for dinner in the buffet which was nothing special) 4 people at the next table said we would win a prize if we could find our way back to our room first time! We did notice lots of people wandering around completely lost.

The hotel is literally deserted during the day, despite the fact we were informed it was full. We wondered where everyone went! The poolsides are extremely dirty - one with plastic sunbeds (mostly broken) and filthy plastic covers that are raggy and torn and the zips are broken. We didn't see anyone removing them and they were soaking wet after heavy rain on 2 occasions. Another area consisted of netting sunbeds which were almost all broken with the webbing detached from the frame so you could't lie on them. (There were a lot of obese people around). 0ur room was tired - chipped basins, faulty plug which couldn't keep the water in. Stains on the toilet and bidet and all the grout needed replacement on the floors and walls in the bathroom.

The Italian restaurant is a joke. We were told to book it through reception on trying to use it one evening (there were only 4 people in it at the time). It transpired there is only 1 waiter and 1 chef manning it and they only book guests in at 30 minute intervals. We eventually managed to get a table 2 days later and there were only 6 other guests in an at least a 40-seater restaurant. Needless to say it lacked atmosphere and the food was average at best. We felt sorry for the lone waiter, who was polite and advised good wine!

We asked if there were any arrangements for airport transfer but were told "no" as there had previously been bad experiences with unreliable taxi firms. We think a 5-star establishment should have a small bus to collect from and take to the airport.

We could go on, but would definitely not give the Volcan 5 stars.

Room Tip: Very small balcony consisting 2 small cane chairs and a round table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for your disappointment. We unfortunately do not have an airport shuttle service and the Italian restaurant is a small outlet with only 30 people seating capacity at any given time.

New sun beds have already arrived, we are in the process of placing them in the pool areas during the present week. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences this has caused during your vacations.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing