We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and good value for money- just slightly lacking in atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely and good value for money- just slightly lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having stayed at the Princesa Yaiza the year before, it was always going to be a hard act to follow - but the Volcan comes a pretty close second and at over £1100 cheaper for a week's holiday for two, represents good value for money. We travelled with Thomas Cook and booked a standard garden view twin room, which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Beds were comfortable, air conditioning was efficient if a little noisy, and the empty fridge and seating area with sofa and tea & coffee facilities were all useful. The patio was small but functional with a view of the Torre del Aguila and Fuerteventura in the distance. In a few places the room could have done with some TLC - repainting, replacing a cracked floor tile etc but these were very minor niggles and overall, it was a very satisfactory room (582.)
Breakfast is served from 7.30 - 11.00am and offers an excellent selection of hot and cold food including the best coconut yoghurt ever! Although the dining room is busy and bustling, we were always quickly shown to a table and plates were cleared promptly and politely. In fact, the quality of staff across the hotel is very good and we always received friendly and efficient service.
There have been lots of comments about the sunbeds and umbrellas already - suffice to say they are decidely shabby but not quite the health hazard I was expecting them to be - but the management must get them replaced instead of replying that they are on order (for the last six months+....!) The pool area likewise could do with repainting as it is looking tired and dated but the pool itself was very clean and the gardeners worked hard each morning to clear the leaves and flowers which dropped in overnight. The pool bar serves a good selection of sandwiches from around the world - the Italia was very tasty - for a reasonable 5-7 Euros.
One of the best qualities of the Volcan is its position right in the middle of Marina Rubicon. With such a wide variety of excellent restaurants and bars, I don't know why anyone would want to eat in a hotel buffet every night - so we were very glad we'd only booked bed & breakfast.
The Volcan is a very peaceful hotel - primarily because it is spread out like a village over quite a wide area. This tranquility, despite it being half term with quite a few children there, sometimes meant it lacked atmosphere. There are a wide range of activities though on offer, and the Sangria and Spanish lesson with Gaby was great fun, as was the Mojito class and wine & cheese tasting with Ina.
Overall, for the price we paid, the quality of the room and breakfast, the location and cleanliness, I would certainly go back to the Volcan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your overall positive comments, specially when you wish to return to the Hotel. The comments you make about our sun beds or the overall room maintenance is constructive criticism and we value your feedback very much.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    1,165
    383
    85
    38
See reviews for
859
2,344
83
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week, we went for our anniversary and really enjoyed the week, the hotel don't give any information about the place you need to find it out for yourself.
We stayed in the club section, the breakfast is fabulous, they have everything you could want from cava to drink to bread of every kind, at 4pm every afternoon they do tea and cakes in the small dining area, and between 6-9 a help yourself bar. The reviews say a lot about the sunbeds being rough but in the club area they are great, plenty of them and Balinese beds too, although they do get reserved early, we did notice the staff take things off the reserved beds, the staff here are a credit to the place, everyone of them cannot do enough to help you, I would certainly recommend this as an excellent holiday location.

Room Tip: Speak to others about what's happening cos there is no advertising
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to write positive comments about Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had not been to Lanzarote before but wanted a short holiday in good weather but without a long haul flight. A friend suggested Playa Blanca and after a bit of research we chose the Hotel Volcan chiefly because of Club Volcan meant that we could be in a child free environment even though we were going during half term, we normal like having children around but had just had a very hectic time and needed to have peace and quite. Well, we could not have chosen a better place, from the moment we arrived through the beautiful candle lit entrance to the moment we left we totally relaxed. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite which we loved and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the Vulcan club was excellent and with none of the noise and clatter of a big restaurant. The Vulcan club which was also the venue for afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks and nibbles was very relaxing, and the area with big comfortable chairs was lovely. It would be lovely if there as an area like that for dinner as the dinner in the main restaurant though OK for us as we only ate there for 4 nights and the food was fine but the service was not brilliant next time we will book B and B. We did have a room service dinner one night as it was my birthday and I had been left a cake and a bottle of Cava and the meal that night was excellent. The pool and sunbathing area of the Vulcan club is another area of pure relaxation.
We certainly plan to return some time and I would recommend staying at the Vulcan Club at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cloudlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the positive comments you have made about your stay in the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week mid October. Our room was spacious and had a lovely view of the Marina and the sea, although it was in need of upgrading. During our week the air conditioning was noisy and then ceased to work on our final evening. Two lights needed replacing, a cupboard door handle fell off twice and the tissue container in the bathroom fell off the wall! The reception was understaffed and on one occasion we waited for nearly fifteen minutes. The evening buffet was disappointing. The staff were not keen to help make dining an enjoyable experience. The food was of a poor quality and the chef was not forthcoming in letting you know what was on offer. The food was often cold and on barbeque night it was particularly so. Breakfast was better than the evening meal, but hot food was situated in containers directly in front of people queuing for eggs to be cooked, making it awkward for all concerned. The swimming pool area was quiet, but this may be due to the fact that guests chose to sunbathe elsewhere owing to the disgusting state of the sunbeds. This was most definitely not a five star experience which is a pity as the resort of Playa Blanca does have a lot to offer. I honestly do not understand how this hotel has been awarded five stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for the comments stated in your hotel review.

We are sorry for not finding your room in a proper state of maintenance. This is not acceptable by our standards, and I share your comments with our housekeeping personel.

With regards to the sun beds, we have purchased additional new sun beds. Unfortunately, the sun beds are still due to arrive to the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel will not disappoint!
I had read the reviews before we left and they were mostly accurate. The entrance chapel is very enchanting, if you arrive at night it would be a fab first impression. My husband joked that the entrance at night is just the place to go and calm down after an argument with me!! The lobby is equally impressive and the check in was immediate and our bags were transported to our rooms with us.
The room was lovely, really big and close to the pool. We are a family of 4 and there was more than enough room for all if us. We were slightly disappointed as we looked over a grassy area and onto some bushes but it was safe for the children and my daughter could go between us and my parents who were just next door.
We did think to begin with that the hotel might be a bit quiet for us as it seems so chilled out, there is no noise round the pool and we were slightly worried we might disturb people with our children. As it turned out it's just the pool is so big, and loungers are spread out so there was more going on than we thought.
Our daughter went to kids club every day. It was a quiet club at this time of year but she LOVED it. The girls were lovely and they did lots of creative things. It was an unexpected bonus. They did of a kids disco at night but we ate out every night do didn't go.
The breakfast was lovely, the most variety of jams/spreads I have ever seen. It was lovely and the ladies working were so lovely to our family, the nicest I have known at any hotel.
The pool bar was also good, drinks were expensive but food was reasonable. It was about €3 for a coke and € 6 for big sandwich and chips. We just took our own drinks some days.
It was a spotless hotel, I don't normally really look at cleaning standards as long as it looks clean I'm usually satisfied but I did look closely this time. I couldn't see any dirt, all public toilets were spotless, the floors, the tiles, everywhere really!
The location suited us too. My dad can't walk well and we were straight into the marina, it was ideal. If we went to town he would get a taxi for 4 euro max, and the walk was about 20mins for us.
Overall a lovely family holiday in a first class hotel, really friendly staff, superb cleanliness, great kids club, an all round winner!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden Bucks England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me first of all say I do not want to comment as so many reviewers do about the accuracy of the 'star' ratings.
I have stayed in many different hotels from 'pension' to bed and breakfast to boutique and luxury and have loved some and disliked others. Do I know what constitutes a five star,actually probably not,but I do know what I /We like and we really liked the Hotel Volcan.
Having endured a fractious and delayed departure, many thanks Thomas Cook, we arrived late and a little tense to say the least.
The reception staff were professional ,courteous and welcoming and our bags were transported quickly to our lovely rooms on the fifth floor.
Spacious,well appointed and very clean.
Lovely harbour/sea view.
The hotel is a little bit of a maize at first and a word of warning, some of the rooms could be a little difficult for the elderly or disabled as there are few lifts and quite a lot of stairs!
We stayed half board and found the breakfast and evening meals to be of a high standard with plenty of choice.
Really enjoyed the rabbit, paella and salads.
The egg/omelette chef was nothing short of superb,working between two stations nothing was too much trouble and everything served with a cheery smile,she was a little gem.
To be fair most of the staff were very good,the odd sullen character but hey so were some of the guests!
My only slight criticism was having to pay for bottled water at the evening meal, ( tap water is not an option, as it is generally unfit to drink), I felt that it was a little unfair to charge especially as it is freely available at breakfast time.
Had read an awful lot about the sun beds, i.e. condition and availability but did not find either to be a problem.
Yes some of the beds looked a little worse for wear after the summer season but as I tend to lie on the towels provided and not the bed,not an issue!
The hotel does have a policy that beds can not be reserved until after 9 am and generally this was observed with only a few transgressions but all quite civilised.
Did note that the villas across from the hotel are allowed complimentary access to the facilities so perhaps at the more busy times of the year things could get a little crowded, but fine in October.
All in all super stay in a lovely resort close to the harbour,with some great lunchtime tapas, about 15 mins from the beach at Playa Dorada and a further 15mins into town.
I would and will definitely return,




Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank benalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the positive review about your stay in Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Ideally I would like to give this a 5 for half the facilities and a 1 for the other half. Reception and staff were all very friendly and helpful - much better than tour rep for information and booking trips (last minute trips book through reception and we were really happy with the quality and price of these). Room was lovely and spacious, but the size of the balcony was small for 3 adults. On the plus side our 18 year old daughter did get a proper bed and did not have to sleep on a z-bed an enormous plus. Pools were clean but the chairs around the non acclimatised poor were very grubby looking and tired. We were lucky that we were there the week before half term and left as the hotel became full and it was very apparent that there are not enough sun beds to meet everyone's needs. Entertainment in the evening was poor. The food was not a 5* standard, salads were good but the main course was poor. As all main meat / fish was cooked to order there were frequent queues which either meant that veg went cold or your had to fight your way back through the queue for meat / fish to get the veg. Veg was soft and overcooked, meat / fish was dry. Kettle in the room was a real bonus, but as there were 3 of us, 3 cups would have been thoughtful. Complimentary water was a great touch, but again only 2 bottles. Brilliant sea front location on the Marina and good flat walks in both directions. Markets int he Marina on Wednesday and Saturday - touristy but not tacky and worth a wander. Overall a good holiday, but perhaps they need to concentrate on getting the basics right before the add the luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarpStar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in Hotel Volcán Lanzarote. We appreciate the positive comments about the things you liked about the Hotel, while we also appreciate the suggestions made about our areas of improvement.

With regards to the sun beds, we have purchased new sunbeds but have not yet arrived to the Hotel. Concerning our evening entertainment and meals, I have shared your comments with my staff; it is important for us to listen to what our guests have to say and take inmeadiate corrective measures.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
22.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing