We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refurb needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“refurb needed”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

had room 575 and was very disappointed , had a nice view of a wall 8 feet away with wooden posts ontop of that , if you wanted to see anything had to peer though wooden posts as if you were in prison !!! room badly needed upgrading air conditioning is more like a fan , sofa was well warn and had a rip in the cushion , tv was 30 years old with a remote that didnt work it . and it needed a good coat of paint like most of the hotel . even more anoying was the fact that i had booked into a 5 star hotel so was expecting top notch yet was not allowed in half the hotel as i wasnt in club volcan SO CLUB VOLCAN IS 5 STAR . SO WHAT IS HOTEL VOLCAN OBVIOUSLY LESS. the plus points for the hotel were it was very peaceful and the pool was large and clean and breakfasts were good as was all the food we had at the hotel which included a few lunches by the middle level pool . no waiter was ever seen except at the bottom larger pool and no valet when you pull up outside the hotel ; unless money is spent i feel its rating will be droping rather quickly . i would not stop here again . i can only review the hotel from from the room i was given and was very disappointed

Room Tip: dont have room 575 or any room on that side . have a look at apartment blocks in area most seem a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank utopia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for your hotel review comments concerning your stay in the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,095
    1,162
    381
    85
    38
See reviews for
855
2,340
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great position by the harbour. The rooms are large and comfortable and kept very clean however the pool area is in urgent need of refurbishment. The sunbeds are old and dirty and the pool has areas where tiles are missing. The pool bar, whilst adequate, is little more than an a brick hut with a selection of old chairs and tables outside. Definitely not 5* standard. This is a real shame as the staff, food and location are good..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank customer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your overall positive comments about your stay in the Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the comments concerning our sunbeds; we have already made a purchase order for new sunbeds due to arrive in the coming weeks.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Volcan. We both enjoyed our stay at the Volcan as peice and quiet is what we like on holiday.
The hotel is laid out in a village style with lots of unique featurers, including its very own volcano and monastery entrance with music to match.

The hotel staff were excellent, always friendly and helpfull.

We had a nice room(512) looking over the pool with a fantastic view of the marina with Fuerteventura in the background. The room itself was plenty big enough with a seperate sitting area. The maid was excellent, changing the towels dailey and the bedding twice a week.

Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The buffett dinner was ok for the first week but we got bored with it and started eating out. As we were with Thomas Cook we were able to eat at the Italian and Japanese restaurants which are both in the hotel. Both were good although the Italian does lack atmosphere.

I only have one negative thing to say about the hotel and that is the sunbeds. They are old and filthy. We love sitting around the pool on holiday but after a couple of days we could not cope with it. Its such a shame as the pool area is a lovely setting but the filthy sunbeds make it look unkept and dirty. Not very inviting at all. One couple actually bought some sanitizer to spray the beds before using them. Because of this we either trekked to Papagayo beach, or used the sunbeds in the square, which is a nice chill out area. Not much conversation goes on there but there is lots of snoring. We do hope the hotel take notice of the guests views and invest in some new sunbeds as it is letting the hotel down.

Apart from the sunbed issue we enjoyed our stay at the Volcan and had a good time. If its peice and quiet you want on holiday then you will love it. If your looking for a more active holiday with nightlife then this is not for you.

Room Tip: All rooms from 500 to 513 have a great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviejay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience concerning the sun beds. We have purchased new sun beds in order to improve our quality standards.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is very nice built in the style of a village.
The staff were extremely helpful.
Wi Fi is an issue we were fortunate that it worked in our room but was very slow.

The hotel has rules (trousers in dining room, no reservation of sunbeds before 10) but does not enforce them. Which is annoying.

There do not seem to be enough sunbeds available for the guests.

Food was plentiful but not that good so although on half board we ate out every night.

Restaurants in marina are mostly very good.

Day time food was also just average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences stated in your review. I have forwarded a copy of your review to the members of our hotel management team in order for us to be aware of the situation concerning our house rules. We have purchased additional sun beds which are due to arrive in the Hotel in the coming weeks.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We specifically chose this hotel because of their adults only option which we paid extra for. The rooms were a really good size with plenty of amenities. I found the bed comfortable but it was too hard for my husband. We chose the B&B option as we prefer to eat out at restaurants of which there are some excellent choices on the Marina. However we were highly recommended the Japanese restaurant within the hotel by other guests but unfortunately ran out of time to pay a visit. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Most of the staff were very helpful and worked hard and in particular Warnel and Raquel who were delightful. Also all of the reception staff we dealt with were very good.
The pool area within the club was good with a small pool just right for cooling off in and also a poolside bar. The cabanas were a nice touch and the sunbeds were just ok and could do with a good clean as there is a build up of suntan lotion on the arms. We did mention this but nothing was done during our stay. It was good relaxing area with no annoying piped music (or other peoples) Most guests kept their mobile phone usage to a minimum and was not a problem. However it was really too quiet and therefore if you had any conversation whatsoever you could feel disparaging glares from a couple of other guests which made us feel uncomfortable and was a real shame to an otherwise enjoyable relaxing week. We don't know where you can achieve a happy medium in this respect really
This was our first trip to Lanzarote and we had a good relaxing week which was all we required and this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissym52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the positive comments concerning your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to see you back in Lanzarote in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked this hotel on recommendation but have to say if was a failed one. To start I have to say the staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant. We booked into the club volcan but unlike the write up we booked in athe general desk and had to wait quite a time as all staff were busy not a good star. By the way recetion is right round the corner so keep going. On our 1st day we believed the write up we didnt need to book sun loungers well I have to say this was right but u do have to book umbrellas not enough or any where near. so on the 1st day had to keep going in and out but still managed to get burnt with factor 30 so all be careful. We then found that u only get 1 linen change so be careful how wet u get ur towels on ur 1st shower. Towels around the pool appeared to be plentiful until sunday when they werent short but non existent!!! The courtesey try in club is meant to be topped up daily ours was done x1. The pm buffet on site was excelent as was the afternoon tea and breakfast. So we didnt venture out to eat that often but there was plently on offer. If you like a bit of shopping on ur holiday this was not the place unless u want clothes or beach parafenalia. This was not a 5* hotel as I have previously experienced or would want to experience again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boxer7199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for the comments stated in your hotel review. I have shared your comments with all members of our management team in order for us to improve our overall quality of service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked with Thomas Cook and had priority transfers straight to the Volcan.
Reception.
On arrival nice calming music as you walk through to reception where you are dealt with rapidly and given a nice cocktail. Raf was brilliant.
Bedroom.
Our bedroom was large with a view overlloking the marina although it was partly shaded by a tree. I had a problem with my safe which was dealt with within 5 minutes.
The beds are huge and although hard we had no problem sleeping. We also had a nice touch from the manager with a bottle of Cava as this was our anniversary.
Pool.
The main pool is large and cold at times. The whole pool area needs attention and the sunbeds do need changing the cushions are in a bad state. It was great to have waitress service around the pool and the staff around the pool and pool bar were very friendly. It is veru quite around the pool and some days you could not hear a pin drop so if you want entertainment around the pool forgit it. The areas around the pool i feel could have some background music.
Dining
We ate several lunch times at the Yaizia restaurant wher you can sit outside and have great food along with large portions. I forget the managers name but him along with Gabbriella were great.
The main restaurant was very peacefull and the breakfast just fantastic a choice for all.
The evening food was just as good with a large selection. Because we booked with Thomas Cook we had the choice to eat out in the marina area at several restaurants in exchange for our hotel meal. We made full use of this and enjoyed some fantastic meals, one of which was fresh tuna which my wife described as the best she had ever eaten.
We laso ate in the Italian in the hotel which again was very good although not much atmosphere.

There are a lot of people moaning about the Wi-Fi but you are supposed to be relaxing and not looking at emails ect.

The Marina area is wonderfull and as soon as you are out of the back gate of the hotel you step right into the Marina with nice relaxing bars and large drinks.

All in all we had a great laugh and a very relaxing holiday. If you want quite go to the Volcan if you are after lots of entertainment and daytime activity this is not for you.
well done The Volcan and all the great staff for making my stay relaxing and peaceful and to my brother and sister in-law for making a great hoilday. I will return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much For the positive feedback.

We are in the process of purchasing new sunbeds and cushions, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing