We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Volcan, Lanzarote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a good hotel, but not 5 star more a 4 at best. The staff are very pleasant & helpful, the pools are quite good but the decor & sun loungers are now very tired. The food is good in the restaurant, but charging extra for coffee top up in your room is not good at the prices already paid for the holiday. It is next to a lovely Marina, but it's quiet and not the best for our 2 teenage boys, entertainment is a little sparce. Overall OK hotel but in need of a spruce up and attention to detail, but again cannot fault the staff. wifi another bug bear rubbish, they blame the Islands Internet connection but in the bars on the Marina the connection is excellent

Room Tip: Ask for sea & Marina full view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhino11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some minutes of your time to write a review about us and your experience in our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

Your feedback is very important to us to us and the satisfaction of our guests is our main objective.

We take a good note of your suggestions for improvement our services.

Rest assured that we will communicate your comments to all the relevant departments.

We wish you all the best and please let us know about further reservations.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,822)
There are newer reviews for Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 3,823 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a fabulous resort, amazing food, lovely staff, gorgeous room, amazing atmosphere, For a relaxing time out this was brilliant, looking forward to going back, wont be taking the kids, my kids could destroy the atmosphere :-( Maybe when their a tad older !

Room Tip: From what I could see this hotel dosn't have any ! It is a great resort
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Relaxed_Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful commentary about your experience with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are really pleased that you had such a great holiday with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to Lanzarote. Until then we wish you all the best and hoping to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is truly outstanding. We stayed here in the last week of July 2013 which we booked to celebrate my 50th birthday. On arrival (late on Thursday 25th July) we wandered into a candle lit magnificent hall with calming monastery music playing in the background, WOW it was a great start to hopefully a relaxing week at the Volcan.

Reception
The staff on Reception greeted us superbly, Maria Lorenzo and Carlos explained all that was to know about the hotel with as much enthusiasm as if they had only just started their shift despite it being late at night. We were given a cocktail as we signed in, which was a lovely extra touch which was unexpected,

Bedrooms
We were shown to our room (308) by yet again another very polite member of the hotel staff (unfortunately I did not get the porters name), the room was very spacious, clean and tidy and exactly met our needs for the week. Another superb extra for us was on the table was a birthday cake and a bottle of Cava, what a lovely gesture that was totally unexpected. The room had air conditioning with a fan over the sitting area, it was cleaned every day with all the toiletries being replaced along with the towels. There was also a fridge and safe which can be used free of charge.

Breakfast Buffet
We booked on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to eat out at night as we prefer to try the local cuisine rather than be restricted to just the hotel. The breakfast menu was the best we have ever experienced (and we have travelled a lot), it catered for most people from a full English to most continental countries different tastes and needs. even down to providing for the small children that stay at the hotel. A special thank you to Maximiliam who greeted us on most mornings with a polite good morning and a smile, (good luck on your studies when you return to Germany).

Pool
On arrival we were given tokens to retrieve towels for use around the pool, which can be changed as many times as you require throughout your stay. Apparently some guests complained about the pool temperature but for us, with temperatures constantly over 32 degrees, the temperature of the pool was refreshing and we loved it. With regards to the pool side recliners the week we stayed we didn't have any problem with choosing where we wanted to sit. We only noticed one family that seemed to get up early and save their spot for the day. This could be a problem that the hotel have now sorted as this seemed to be a problem from previous reviews.

To finish off we would like to thank Pedro who served us a drink every night before we went out and RAF on reception who found the time to show us around Club Volcan facilities as we showed an interest in what we would get if we upgraded on our next visit to the Volcan. We both thought Wow and certainly would consider this on next stay.

Well done Jesus San Juan Suarez Director general for running such a great hotel and all your staff are a credit to providing a first class service, which we will be using again in the near future :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for using your valuable time to write those lovely words about your stay with us.

We really appreciate your kindly words about some of our staff members and we are sure they will be really happy to receive such a positive feedback from you.

It is a real honor for us that you have enjoyed our rooms, the breakfast buffet as well as the pool area that much.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you might need anything.

We are looking forward to welcome you again on our grounds, so far we wish you all the best and sending sunny regards to you from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is truly lovely. The cool and calming plainsong as you make your way into the hotel sets the tone for a relaxing week. The staff were, without exception, polite and helpful. Our rooms were charming and impeccably clean. Extras such as beach towels, the safe, a fridge in the room etc were complementary - there were no extras to pay for these facilities. There was a nice bar with waiter-call service around the pool, and prices were reasonable for a snacky lunch. The pools were clean and pretty and when we were there, very quiet, with plenty of choice for seating. The breakfasts were quite simply amazing. Choice for every diet and taste was plentiful, and unlimited - we wanted to spend the whole day there! The Marina Rubicon was pretty and had some nice restaurants - far less touristy than Playa Blanca itself. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel - and would return, although we found that Lanzarote itself was quiet with not so much to keep teens going.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to look out onto green or the pool. Sea views were extra. The rooms up at the top...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JJPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to review it on TripAdvisor.

It makes us proud to read that we were able to fully satisfy you with our facilities and the services we are offering.

We highly appreciate your kind words about our hotel.

Please inform us about any reservations you are planning on making with our hotel.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here first week of July as we were celebrating an engagement and I can say that the staff at this hotel are brilliant. We were treated to a bottle of cava in our room as we were celebrating an engagement. This Hotel has an amazing reception and the rooms appear to have a slightly rustic feel to them, so if you are expecting hard wood 5 star look then this is not the case. The rooms are very spacious, and I actually loved the bed! We had a pillow menu so were able to order extra comfortable pillows too. The staff were incredibly helpful. My only quibbles would be that other guests seem to wake up in the middle of the night to get the sunbeds leaving us with no option but to go to the beach or have sunbeds with no umbrella or separate from my partner. Also, the breakfast buffet was amazing, but felt that the queue was too long sometimes for the 'eggs'. The location of this hotel is great as not far from a beach (about 20 min walk) and the marina has a great market on sat morning and fab shops. The hotel itself may be tricky for people with mobility issues but until i become that person, I will definitely be recommending this hotel to others. If the staff were not helpful, then I believe my review would have been harsher - greedy guests taking sun beds tainted my holiday.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms 305-308. Quiet, nice view and I'm sure they would have fixed the slightl...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlissSeekerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote for your recent visit to Lanzarote and for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at our hotel.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective and we sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about our hotel.

We also take a good note about your suggestions and will communicate them to all the departments involved.

Rest assured that we will never cease in our effort to improve the quality of our facilities as well as the services we offer

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel.

Best regards from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

When arriving at the entrance to this hotel I thought We had been dropped off at a local church. Very good first impression spacious and wow factor hit you. Having made it to reception which is also very impressive, we were greeted by some of the nicest staff I have ever come across although seemed to take a little long to process the two families in front of us. The rooms were very nice size and well equipped with plenty of storage, free safe, There were lovely twin sinks with marble surround, separate toilet, and candles and matches. Toiletries in abundance and room, toilet cleaned daily. Very good bath/shower with loads of instant hot water. My only complaint was the extremely firm mattress which we began to dread waking up from as we were so stiff.

Pool area very nice but spoiled by the booking of sunbeds from early morning meaning we only had poolside sunbeds once in a weeks stay which i think was due to a change over, ie people leaving and new residents not yet arrived.
Breakfast fantastic and deserving five star status , but evening meal was a little 3 star. Queuing for someone to make your dinner not my idea of 5 star. Felt like a canteen, and choice limited. We used coupon to eat out at Italian in marina (excellent) and Japanese on site which was Okay but as previously stated first two courses were left uneaten by 3 out of four in our party. Also ate out at Dorada beach on two occasions for dinner. This meant in a week we only ate in restaurant three times, which was two too many.

Location for marina excellent and short walk for Dorada beach with many fine eateries.

The hotel felt too quiet and almost like a sanitorium at times. This was great for the long lie ins as we never heard any noise at all. The distant sound of a chair dragging on a floor was uncommon, not like the many other hotels where this is painfully evident.
We sometimes wished patrons would have a really good laugh to give the place some atmosphere.
If you want an extremely laid back, quiet restful experience then this is for you. I just wanted a little more of a bouyant atmosphere which with a good mattess and some decent evening food would have made this hotel excellent!
Not a good hotel for people with mobility issues although there may be rooms which would give access without stairs.

Booked in for a back massage and ended up with a full hour long sports massage. Worth every penny. Masseuse really knew her stuff. Should be available on prescription on NHS.

Room Tip: majority of fourth floor have restricted view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

In the name of the management and all our staff members we would like to thank you for having chosen THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote for your recent vacations in Lanzarote.

We highly appreciate all the words you used to describe your stay with us.

We would like to thank you for your suggestions for improvement which are highly appreciated as they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We can assure you that we will communicate all your comments to all the relevant departments, where they will be analyzed in detail and that we will do our very best to improve in the mentioned points.

We hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back to our grounds in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and remain at your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Volcan last two weeks in June and we had the most wonderful holiday. The entrance to the hotel takes your breath away and the staff at reception were so friendly. The welcome drinks on arrival were most welcome after our journey.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable more like a mini-suite than a double room. Big flat screen TV, sofa and two comfortable lounge chairs and the fridge came in very handy.

Our room was on the ground floor facing the pool and next to the restaurant so really handy, the balcony really captured the evening sun, so much so we had to be really careful with the high factor suncream.

Staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and friendly and all spoke very good English.

We stayed on bed and breakfast basis which was ideal for us and let us take advantage of the wonderful selection of restaurants on the marina.

The breakfast room is huge with everything you can think of on offer, breakfasts are served until 11am which meant there were always tables available and no queues for anything. We had a lovely leisurely breakfast every morning to set us up for the day. The cava for your buck's fizz is a lovely touch.

The swimming pool area is so spread out we never had a problem finding a sunbed at any time of the day. Our favourite spot was the little walled areas in the garden with two beds in each one, great for keeping the wind off and nice and private.

We used the swimming pool every day and did not find it cold at all. Even with the Lanzarote breeze it was still very hot, a dip in the pool was just the thing to cool off.

The icing on the cake for the hotel is definitely the proximity to the Marina. The restaurants here were great and much superior to the ones on offer in Playa Blanca itself. We did walk along the promenade in to Playa Blanca, 30 minutes at a leisurely pace but only the once because everything at the Marina was so much more up market. The Hotel Volcan definitely has the best location by far in Playa Blanca.

Some of our favourite restaurants were the Aphrodite Little Italy Restaurant (watch out for the jazz night with the sax player), the Casa Brigida for fabulous paella and the wonderful Blue Note Jazz bar where we became regular fixtures. The live music in the Blue Note every night was fantastic, we couldn't stay away, they also do a wonderful fillet steak cooked to perfection and you have to have a G&T to see the presentation. They have a different glass for every type of gin and the Tanqueray is a sight to behold, in a big fish bowl with the most generous measure of gin I have ever came across.

We were there for 11 nights and quite happily drifted between the hotel and the marina for the majority of the time. The craft market even comes to you twice a week, there is really no need to go anywhere else at all. Location, location, location! Fab.

We returned home completely relaxed and would definitely go back to the Volcan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeannie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote for your recent relaxing vacations here in Playa Blanca.

We really appreciate your lovely words you used for describing your experience during your stay with us, especially for the breakfast and the room.

We look forward to welcome you again in our ground and please let us know about your reservations in the future.

Until then we wish you all the very best.

Warm regards from the hole THE Volcan Lanzarote Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,727 reviews
22.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $146 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing