We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but never 5star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good but never 5star”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for a week with two teenage children, bedrooms very clean and spacious but beds are uncomfortable. Food buffet style and breakfast very good, although 3 toasters for large hotel which took forever which meant you had to stand for 10 mins to toast bread ........not what i want to do on holiday. Evening meal good but 1 week was long enough as very repetitive. Entertainment very poor, live music but the same band on every evening, again very repetitive. Biggest gripe was lack of sunbeds , in a 5 star hotel you would expect enough sunbeds for everyone but there was a distinct lack of them which meant trawling round the pools lookinf for a space and as a result guests got up early and reserved sunbeds by placing towels on them. Sunbeds were really uncomfortable by the lower pool and grubby, need to be replaced. Lack of any animation team, so no entertainment for teenagers during the day, perhaps ok for younger kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rachel,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel as accommodation during your recent trip to Lanzarote and for having taken the time to share your experiences online.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective; any kind of feedback is valuable to us. We want to confirm you that we are taking care of all the comments that have been mentioned.

Rest assured that we will communicate your thoughts to all the involved departments and we never cease in our efforts to improve our services.

It would be a pleasure for us to have the opportunity of welcoming your back.

Best regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,095
    1,162
    381
    85
    38
See reviews for
855
2,340
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks 4-19 July with our 9yr old son. The foyer and main indoor area in this hotel is very impressive, but that's where the supposedly 5 star experience starts and finishes. We arrived at 9.30pm and went straight to the buffet restaurant for a meal. I was stopped by a staff member at the door who nearly rugby tackled me to the floor because I was wearing shorts. She then pointed to a sign on the wall stating 'gentlemen must wear trousers for evening meal'. I was told that there was no chance of me eating there the rest of the holiday unless I wore trousers, so the next day I had to buy a pair. Nowhere in the hotel description or jet 2 holiday description does it say that this hotel has a dress code for guys. Women, however could wear what they liked, even denim shorts, flip flops etc. Guys were wearing anything as long as it covered their legs such as scabby jeans and tracksuit bottoms. Makes a mockery of the dress code really. Not enough staff on hot plate service. One person cooking meat/fish and one person cooking pasta. Result....queues formed. Not good enough. It was the same at breakfast with ONE person rushed of their feet cooking omelettes. Because of staff under pressure food was not being cooked properly. A few times I had meat which was partially cooked.
We had a standard room which had a super king bed (2 singles pushed together) and a camp bed with a thin mattress for our son. The beds were very hard and lumpy. Rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day by very efficient cleaners. Plenty of free soaps, shampoo in the bathroom which were replaced and they even had toothbrushes and a razor.
Sunbeds at pool were a disgrace. Plastic frames ok, but covered with thin white plastic mattress. All of them filthy, some ripped and in dire need of replacement. Not enough sunbeds to go round. Some people were sitting on towels on the floor when we were there (hotel full). Not good enough. Pool is very large and VERY cold, probably because it is so big. Snacks served beside pool, but menu is poor and VERY expensive as are the drinks....nearly 3 euro for a bottle of coke.
Hotel is right on the marina rubicon, not in main part of playa blanca. Marina is very picturesque with boutique shops and some bars. Very clean and nice place to sit at night, because you will not want to be in the hotel. Entertainment consists of resident spanish couple. She sings and he plays instruments. 9.30pm to 11pm....that's it. Hotel was full and there were about 20 people watching this at the most 3/4 nights per week. Hotel has a bar which was EMPTY. The singer was in the lower foyer part of the hotel. Nowhere to sit outside at night here, only a few seats outside the buffet restaurant. Not really a hotel catering for families, mostly for older couples with guys who like wearing trousers at night in 90 degree heat and for people who wear ralph lauren or hollister. If I saw another one of those shirts I was going to screeeam.
Playa blanca about 20 min walk along promenade. Just one strip of the usual tacky chinese shops and various restaurants. Not very impressive. Nice beach between hotel and playa blanca. Other direction from hotel has nothing except papagayo beach which is quite a hike away.
The hotel is very quiet and we got a good sleep at night, but I suppose that depends on who your neighbours are (as with all hotels). Saw one older guy shouting at a young couple down the corridor because they were too noisy at 11pm!!!.
Overall, marina rubicon is lovely, Lanzarote is a beautiful island, but Hotel Volcan is trying too hard to be something it isn't. Hope this helps some folk plan and chose the right hotel......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gaylestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent holiday on Lanzarote and for taking the time to review us online.
As the satisfaction of our guests is our main goal your feedback is very important to us. It provides inspiration to our team and allows us in continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.
Rest assured that we transmit all your comments and suggestions to all the involved departments to take the appropriate measures, and we want to confirm that we never cease in our effort to improve our services.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our grounds.
Until then, we wish you all the best and we remain at your full disposal.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here from 7th - 14th July and had a great time. We stayed half board which included buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal, great variety of food and drink, good service and nice setting. The "omelette lady" at breakfast time was always smiling and a great character! Buffet dinner was adequate, slightly disappointed to discover drinks not included and if we were to return it would be on a bed and breakfast basis as there are plenty of nice restaurants nearby.

The bedroom was very nice and spacious, two double wardrobes, large bathroom, dressing mirror, huge bed and seating area plus a balcony. Lots of toiletries were provided and the hotel will be able to provide items which you might forget. Rooms were very clean and fresh towels were provided every day. The view from our bedroom (603) was stunning overlooking the hotel grounds and marina. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the balcony before dinner, however, don't get room service as there is a shop close by!

Location of the hotel is ideal, short transfer from airport and close to Marina Rubicon which is very nice. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, slightly away from the busy town, this hotel is perfect. The hotel has numerous swimming pools and lots of different areas for sunbathing. We would recommend that you "towel-drop" early as the sunbeds get reserved quickly! The hotel also provides entertainment in the impressive lobby area (which includes a waterfall) most nights.

One afternoon we enjoyed a wine and cheese tasting session with friends which was very informal and highly enjoyable and the hotel quite often hosts these sorts of events.

Overall we loved our stay at Hotel Volcan and made some good friends and would definitely like to return in the future albeit on a bed and breakfast basis.

Nearby restaurants; there are many nice ones in the marina (especially a rooftop one down the steps and left - can't remember the name!) but we would not recommend the steakhouse.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a seaview room which was very nice but heated up a lot during the day as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,

In the name of the management and the whole Hotel Volcan Team we would like to thank you very much for posting such a lovely review about your stay with us online.

Thank you of course also for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to the island in the first place.

Reading all your kind compliments about our facilities makes us incredibly proud.

It is our pleasure to know that we could be part of your memorable holidays and we hope to be able to welcome you back on our grounds in the near future.

Please inform us about any reservations you are planning on making with us.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We love Playa Blanca and have had many holidays there, this is another hotel that we would return to without hesitation. We normally stay in 4*+ and were a bit worried it would be 'too stuffy' but it wasn't. The staff were efficient but so friendly throughout the hotel. We arrived late and were pleased that the restaurant didn't close until 10.30pm, although we did smile when our 'Ryanair size' luggage was put on the porters trolley (we did only stay 4 nights). We stayed HB but had a fantastic deal through Cosmos that upgraded us from BB to HB free of charge. Breakfast was great, good choice but I struggled a bit for the evening meal as I tend to eat chicken which wasn't always available. Cannot fault the quality of the food on offer or the service. The whole atmosphere at the hotel was relaxing, it was even nice to hear a few children playing in the pool. One point mentioned previously they don't have courtesy rooms so we were a bit put out to have to shower in the spa area, which was lovely, but not if your clothes are all in one case, we had to do it in relays, not the best end to our holiday. We would return without hesitation, keeping our room if need be and possibly only BB, but that's just because I'm so fussy.

Room Tip: pool view or sea view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote for your recent visit to Lanzarote and for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at our hotel.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective and we sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the room, our staff and the hotel.

We want to thank you for your suggestion regarding our evening meals offer.

We would like to explain you that when the hotel occupancy allows us, we offer courtesy rooms for our guest with late departure.

We do hope you will come back soon and we remain at your full disposal to organize a future reservation.

Best regards from all THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had a week at the Hotel Volcan with our 11 and 6 year old. Dont expect 5 star rooms like claridges, haymarket , gleneagles but they are ok and probably 4 star.Its a pretty nicely laid out hotel with plenty of pools for all ages and easy to navigate with an impressive reception area , decent enough rooms and the food was pretty good without being great (we were half board) , i think 2 weeks would have been too much for us though.We had 2 connecting rooms with little balconies on the ground floor which was fine and enabled us to have a bit of our own space although our double bed was 2 beds pushed together , the children loved the jacuzzi bath and it was near the marina which had some restaurants, bars plus a little supermarket (perfect for water supplies and nibbles as these were costly at hotel) the marina was quiet and also had a small amusement centre including a bowling alley and mini golf which our children also quite enjoyed on our post dinner stroll. The pool side bar did snacks for lunch which were reasonably priced (about 6 euros plus drinks) and quite tasty. Kids liked the evening kids disco and afternoon movie, but think youll maybe find better , larger and more equiped kids clubs that said staff were lovely and friendly and no criticism of them whatsover it was fine. We did the excursion to aqualand which again the kids enjoyed although have been to better ones.Internet and wifi was poor to non existant /frustratingly unreliable in the rooms which is worth noting for those of us who like to keep in touch with work and the world or even mindlessly surf .... the loungers around the pool were painful to secure and against all my best intentions and humiliation got drawn into having to undertake the dawn towel drop to ensure we got a couple of loungers which seems to be par for the course these days in most hotels , i hate having to do that it stinks in a 5 star hotel dont expect to have a leisurely breakfast and mosey down to a lounger...what a pain (but i dont know what the answer is !) . All in all we booked last minute and had a nice time , ryan air always poor but on time, but necessary evil (if only we had choice!) , would we go back ?...probably not but that doesnt mean we didnt have a good time and that we felt let down whilst we were there.... we didnt it was a good holiday , its a nice hotel, friendly staff good setting , peaceful ......overall pretty good just maybe not fantastic ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent holidays on Lanzarote and for taking the time to review it on Tripadvisor.

As the satisfaction of our guests is our main objective your feedback is very important to us. It provides inspiration to our team and allows us in continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

Rest assured that we communicate your suggestions to all the relevant departments to take the appropriate measures, and we never cease in our effort to improve.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our facilities in the near future.

Until then, we remain at your full disposal and we send you sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A very restful stay . The hotel was recommended and did not disappoint. The staff are all very nice and perform the various tasks well. The design of the reception is most excellent. The hotel rooms are very nice. It was very quiet , stayed July 2nd for ten days, there is a path from hotel all the way into Playa Blanca centre. The water in the sea is very clear. A trip to the Volcanic National Park is interesting. The food was varied and of a good standard. There was always a good choice. I would look to stay here again on returning to Lanzarote.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charleso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Charles,

Thank you so much for posting this charming review of your stay on Tripadvisor and of course for having chosen our Hotel for your recent holiday on Lanzarote.

It makes us incredibly proud to read those nice words describing our facilities and instalations.
Be assured that we will communicate your lovely compliments to all our staff members.

It is a pleasure to hear that we will be able to welcome you again in the future and we are very much looking forward to do so.

Please inform us about any reservations you are planning on making with our hotel.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have just returned from the Volcan on 12 th July. The good points.... Nice room , good food (if a little chaotic at times) and good location close to the marina. The not so good points......pool facilities limited (we went to the beach most days), entertainment and bar facilities at night were poor with no atmosphere ( we went to the marina or into playa blanca) and no late checkout/courtesy room available on last day. Ended up showering in the toilets near the fitness centre and getting changed in reception! In summary good value hotel but definitely not 5 star.

Room Tip: Get a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for you recent vacation in Lanzarote.

We would like to thank you for your suggestions for improvement which are highly appreciated as they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We would like to explain to you that when the hotel occupancy allows us, we do offer late check out or courtesy rooms for our guest with late departure.

Rest assured that we will communicate them to the relevant departments where they will be analyzed in detail.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our facilities in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing