We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Too Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bit Too Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

First impressions walking throug the Church Enterace interesting but bit of an indicator as to the sober fel for the place. Had short wait for check in and aother wait for porter to tale us to our room. Room spaciuos and well appointed but only distant view of the sea.
My partner found the bed hard but that may be down to personel prefereces.
Breakfast was self service including making your own toast on a very slow toaster (not very 5 star) similarly service for juice and hot beverages. Food adequeste. Did not stay half board so cannot comment on evening meal.
Supprised that no turn down servive offered again somemthing expected for 5*.
Shortage of eveing entertainment with similar group on 3 nights a week from 9 till about 11 other wise only balcony bar open.
All in all not 5* and lacking entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel as accommodation during your recent trip to Lanzarote and for having taken the time to share your experiences online.

We regret to hear that we weren’t fully able to meet all your expectations towards your stay with us.

However we are grateful for any kind of feedback, as this is what gives us the opportunity to constantly improve our services.

We can assure you that we will communicate all your comments to all the relevant departments, where they will be analyzed in detail and that we will do our very best to improve in the mentioned areas.

We hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back to our grounds in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and remain at your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    1,116
    367
    81
    34
See reviews for
821
2,246
79
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Lanzarote Volcan is a beautiful hotel. The moment you arrive and walk through the replica church accompanied by the sound of Gregorian chanting, a feeling of calm descends. a few yards and you are in a beautiful open airey reception area that has a waterfall/jungle feature. Checkin was very straight forward.
The rooms are large clean and well maintained. They should probably consider flat televisions to replace the old large tube TVs. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are well kitted out. Our view from room 204 was somewhat limited but our balcony area met our needs and we could almost see the marina.
The pool areas are well set out, clean and very quiet.
The surrounding marina has a decent number of shops/bars/restaurants. Some of the restaurants are partners with the hotel and we were entitled to eat in 2 of them instead of the the hotel during our week-long stay. For my wife's birthday we chose the Il Commendatore which was a great disappointment. Once we had handed the waiter our hotel booking form, the service seemed to be non-existent. The menu was very restrictive compared to the restaurant's standard menu and the food itself was only just ok.
Now the food in the Volcan itself was also a little disappointing. Breakfast was good with all tastes catered for including gluten-free choices and lunch at the poolside bar was equally decent but evening meals lacked variety and there was a slow replenishment of empty dishes.The staff however were superb.
I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective and we sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the hotel especially about our breakfast, our staff and the hotel location.

We are sorry to hear that we weren’t able to fully satisfy your expectations about the Il Commendatore restaurant and the evening meals.

We take a good note about your mentioned points and will do our best to be better in the future.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back again.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just returned from a weeks half board at this hotel. First impressions were WOW.....beautiful hotel, warm welcome and efficient staff. We had requested a quiet room with a sea view through Thomas Cook...we got neither!! There was no view from our room as such (just see the top of the masts of the yachts in the marina if you looked carefully, otherwise it was a wall or two!!) and the room was lovely and quiet until around 7.30am when we were awoken by what we think were moaning water pipes! Saying that it didn't really bother us much as the room itself was beautiful, a high standard for a standard room, could of done with an iron though.
The food was lovely and plenty of variety but must admit enjoyed the breakfasts far more than the buffet dinner, this got a little boring after a couple of visits. As a Thomas Cook traveller we had the choice to dine in a three other restaurants at the marina......we tried the Italian....I'd say don't bother, very slow and nothing very special. Best food by far was the Grill bar.....loved throwing the fish the bread rolls too...entertainment whilst we waited for our food.
The pools at the hotel ARE FREEZING!!! I didn't go swimming once which I was gutted by, it wouldn't have been to bad if the pool bar was open as could of just chilled all day by the lake pool as it was the restaurant by the upper pools was the only service available which was VERY slow due to lack of staff I think.
Didn't bother with the spa at £12 per day which was a shame but hubby visited the gym every day which served its purpose.
All in all, this is a lovely hotel, immaculate!!
I got the impression that it wasn't running on max just yet, that the season hadn't quite started for them so there was a feeling of lack of staff and facilities. I think once all restaurants, bars and facilities are fully open this would be a fab place to stay...pity it wasn't fully open last week :( it did spoil it little for us....oh well just have to book another holiday soon....but maybe somewhere different!

Room Tip: I'd go for a higher room if I were to stay again to get a view....and if you can afford it, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote in the first place.

Thank you for your kind compliments concerning for example our staff and the standard of our rooms.

We are sorry to hear that we weren’t able to fully satisfy your expectations in other areas.

Rest assured that we will communicate all your remarks to all the relevant departments.

With customer satisfaction being our main goal we are extremely grateful for any kind of feedback as it gives us the chance to constantly improve our services.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to our grounds.

Until then we wish you all the best and remain on your full disposal.

Kind regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

All reviews are subjective and can only be based upon your own experience. Here is ours. We stayed for nine nights from 16th June 2013. 1st impression with the entrance hall was superb. Efficient check in. Long walk to room (565) and not suited to anyone with walking difficulities as you have to go down in lift from reception, walk outside for some distance then up two sets of steps.1st impression of room was excellent with superb views of marina and the ocean. Being a little picky on the room, the door casing could have been better reparied from where it had split from being forced open at some point, leaving a very sharp edge. Also the inside of the toilet brush holder was discusting and the repaired plastering in the bathroom could have been re-painted - air con okay but ceiling fan could not be turned on unless stood on chair as the pull cord was cut. We are talking 5* hotel here so please bear in mind.
We booked 1/2 board but like other reveiwers, we were easily bored with evening meal choices and quality. Would have liked to have the option of either lunchtime meal or evening meal availability. One evening they ran out of the carvery meat at 9pm, which on this night was chicken - the restaurant was open till 10.30pm. Some food was luke warm or shrivelled up like the Lasagne - not good! The microwave to re-heat food if you so wished was a bit of a clue. Breakfast was superb although diabetics using the milk from the self service machines, please be careful as it contains sugar! Coffee from these machines is better than that brought to table. No al a carte restaurant only buffet option for evening meal, although there is a very good Japanese restaurant on site (not run by the hotel) which was excellent. You get 20% discount but only if you are on half board. Only pool service at one pool, near lunchtime restaurant. Pools very cold and was told one was heated to 21 -24 C? The Atlantic Ocean at 19 C when I went diving was warmer - honestly!
Some sun beds tatty and scruffy looking.
On a positive - breakfast good, staff all cheerful and very friendly. But as mentioned earlier, we are talking 5* and when compared to a 4* hotel in Puerto Mogan Gran Canaria you would expect the 5* to at least equal or better than the 4* - sadly it didnt in our case. Car Hire outside on the marina was very good and cheaper than hotel.
All in all somewhat disappointed given previous Canary Island experiences but as I said earlier we all look for different pros and cons. Good luck with your holiday

Room Tip: Only book bed and breakfast, that way you can choose where to eat. There are many good restaurants c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel to spend your holiday and for sharing your experience from your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We see all guests’ feedback as a great opportunity to continue improving our services for our guests on a day-to-day basis.

We are taking good note about your impressions and we want to confirm you that we are taking the opportune measures to offer to all our guests a better service.

We are very sorry for not having been informed about your wife especial diet needing. We like to give a very personal assistance to all the guests with any food intolerance and normally we help them since their arrival day with any specific request.

It would be a pleasure for us to have the opportunity of welcoming your back.

Best regards from the Hotel Volcan Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at The Volcan hotel and had to write a review to compliment the hotel staff and the whole hotel experience.
This was our first visit to Lanzarote and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment we set foot into the hotel our holiday started and our week was the most peaceful I can remember.
The staff are courteous and helpful. From the reception staff to the restaurant staff, we could not find fault.
I have to mention Caterina who was the restaurant manager, she was such a lovely girl. The rest of the restaurant staff were so helpful and kind, I just wish I could remember their names, they all deserve praise.
As for the food..... Yum... Breakfast was fantastic and we did have evening meals on three evenings which were superb. I would highly recommend having a meal in the hotel, great value for money. We dined out at several local restaurants on the marina and were very disappointed with the food and it was very expensive.
The rooms were fantastic, very spacious and clean. We had clean towels and bedding every day.
We will definitely return and recommend the Volcan to friends.
Many thanks to all the staff for their dedication and hard work and for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 834Liz1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a favorable comment about the Hotel Volcan online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent holiday on Lanzarote in the first place.

It makes us incredibly proud to read all the lovely words you have used to paint a picture of your stay with us and to know that we could be part of your memorable holidays.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, the food we offer and our rooms.

Be assured that we will pass them on to all our staff members.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our facilities in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Volcån has a WOW factor from the minute you walk into the entrance hall right through the reception atrium and when you see the room for the first time.

My partner and I stayed for a weekend and had a fantastic time, every interaction with the hotel staff was friendly polite and efficient, the room was very nice, well presented and clean and the hotel buildings and grounds are breath-taking.

We only booked bed and breakfast as we were only there for the weekend and had planned to et out, but the breakfast (with the exception of the coffee) was excellent, great choice and good quality food. The coffee which we were served at the table on the first morning was vile, but on the second morning we discovered a self service coffee machine in the buffet area which was much better.

There is a key card controlled gate giving direct access to the shops and restaurants of the nearby Marina Rubicon, which is a great place to sit and watch the World go by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanzaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for posting such a lovely review about our facilities on TripAdvisor.

We feel really happy that we were able to satisfy all your wishes, especially for such an important event like your holidays.

In the Hotel Volcan we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.

It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you once again in our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for reservations in the future. Until then we wish you all the best and remain at your full disposal.

Sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel normally very quiet in may and June. Peaceful, right next to harbour which has plenty good restaurants, shops, car hire and a launderette. Breakfast is amazing but we were half board and got a little bored of food at night so went elsewhere sometimes. Standard Rooms good size and well equipped with kettle, fridge, hair dryer but no iron. We had no issues getting sunbeds there were dozens empty but hotel was quiet. Pool icy cold initially. Recommend take a cardi or jumper with you as really windy at night and also they do like men in long pants in hotel restaurant at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleBee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote in the first place.

It makes us very proud to hear that we were able to fully satisfy your expectations with the services we offer.

Thank you for your kind words concerning for example our rooms, breakfast and hotel location.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our facilities for a third stay with us.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing