We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional..... A paradise for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at The Volcan hotel and had to write a review to compliment the hotel staff and the whole hotel experience.
This was our first visit to Lanzarote and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment we set foot into the hotel our holiday started and our week was the most peaceful I can remember.
The staff are courteous and helpful. From the reception staff to the restaurant staff, we could not find fault.
I have to mention Caterina who was the restaurant manager, she was such a lovely girl. The rest of the restaurant staff were so helpful and kind, I just wish I could remember their names, they all deserve praise.
As for the food..... Yum... Breakfast was fantastic and we did have evening meals on three evenings which were superb. I would highly recommend having a meal in the hotel, great value for money. We dined out at several local restaurants on the marina and were very disappointed with the food and it was very expensive.
The rooms were fantastic, very spacious and clean. We had clean towels and bedding every day.
We will definitely return and recommend the Volcan to friends.
Many thanks to all the staff for their dedication and hard work and for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 834Liz1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a favorable comment about the Hotel Volcan online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent holiday on Lanzarote in the first place.

It makes us incredibly proud to read all the lovely words you have used to paint a picture of your stay with us and to know that we could be part of your memorable holidays.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, the food we offer and our rooms.

Be assured that we will pass them on to all our staff members.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our facilities in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Volcån has a WOW factor from the minute you walk into the entrance hall right through the reception atrium and when you see the room for the first time.

My partner and I stayed for a weekend and had a fantastic time, every interaction with the hotel staff was friendly polite and efficient, the room was very nice, well presented and clean and the hotel buildings and grounds are breath-taking.

We only booked bed and breakfast as we were only there for the weekend and had planned to et out, but the breakfast (with the exception of the coffee) was excellent, great choice and good quality food. The coffee which we were served at the table on the first morning was vile, but on the second morning we discovered a self service coffee machine in the buffet area which was much better.

There is a key card controlled gate giving direct access to the shops and restaurants of the nearby Marina Rubicon, which is a great place to sit and watch the World go by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanzaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for posting such a lovely review about our facilities on TripAdvisor.

We feel really happy that we were able to satisfy all your wishes, especially for such an important event like your holidays.

In the Hotel Volcan we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.

It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you once again in our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for reservations in the future. Until then we wish you all the best and remain at your full disposal.

Sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel normally very quiet in may and June. Peaceful, right next to harbour which has plenty good restaurants, shops, car hire and a launderette. Breakfast is amazing but we were half board and got a little bored of food at night so went elsewhere sometimes. Standard Rooms good size and well equipped with kettle, fridge, hair dryer but no iron. We had no issues getting sunbeds there were dozens empty but hotel was quiet. Pool icy cold initially. Recommend take a cardi or jumper with you as really windy at night and also they do like men in long pants in hotel restaurant at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElleBee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote in the first place.

It makes us very proud to hear that we were able to fully satisfy your expectations with the services we offer.

Thank you for your kind words concerning for example our rooms, breakfast and hotel location.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our facilities for a third stay with us.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my first visit to the volcan ,and what a lovely surprize it was to ,the staff were nice ,freindly,done all that you could of asked for . lovely scenery from almost every part of the hotel,the food was good ,no complaints although it could have been a bit more varied in the evenings dinner time.They had 3 nights of entertainment.but this was because the hotel at this time of year was quiet,the surrounding areas were exceptionally nice ,you could either relax in the marina area or go for a leisurely stroll along the beach front .plenty of shops and restruarants close by.all in all top marks.

Room Tip: 264,265 266 upwards are close to pools you see the marina from thereand the sea beyound,it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adagriff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Griffin,

Firstly we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent vacations on Lanzarote.

Thank you also for posting such a lovely comment about our facilities and your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to hear that we were able to fully satisfy you with the services we offer and we highly appreciate your kind comments about our staff, the location of the hotel and the food in our main restaurant.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on our grounds in the near future.

Please inform us about any future reservations you are planning on making with us.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lovely room, nice extras (including slippers!), beautiful pool area, great selection at breakfast. We had a really lovely, relaxing time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Close proximity to the Marina with great restaurants, bars, few shops, a supermarket and car rentals. 15-20 min walk to Playa blanca beach and town. Would highly recommend and hope to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher floors had better views of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Amy,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay with us at THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote and thanks for recommending us.

We already sent all your comments to our staff and we can just confirm that our staff is such a great team.

Our mail goal is the satisfaction of our clients and it is satisfactory for us to read your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.

Best regards from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A wonderful holiday in an excellent hotel.
Staff were most helpful and obliging.
Breakfast and dinner buffets were the best we have ever experienced in a holiday hotel.
Plenty of sun loungers and no need to put towels out.
Handy for the marina and plenty of nice walks around the resort

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, NOT with a tree in front of balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarefeetsanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Traveler,

In the name of the Management and the whole staff of the “THE” Hotel Volcan Lanzarote we would like to thank you first of all for your nice on TripAdvisor and for staying with us.

We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the food and the hotel location.

It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you once again in our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for reservations in the future.

Send you all our best wishes and sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good quality hotel with lovely food, helpful staff and very clean!
Just spent a week with my Mum to celebrate her birthday - had a lovely time.
Rooms comfortable with nice sitting area and tea and coffee facilities. Food plentiful with lots of choice, wine is reasonable price for a hotel and nice quality
Pool area clean with nice sun beds and plenty of umbrellas, water was cold but usual for canary islands.
Very close to marina and supermarket for water etc
Would definately go back, albeit it late check out fees at €40 were high and the wifi is not great but this is due to the cables in Lanzarote I understand - nice relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley-tune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for posting such a lovely comment about our facilities online.

It is our pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We appreciate all your kind compliments for example about our food, the staff and the level of cleanliness of our hotel.

Also we take a good note about your suggestions for improvement and will make sure to communicate them to all the relevant departments involved.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our facilities in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,780 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $143 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing