We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to relax despite minor hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
CUMBRIA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lovely place to relax despite minor hiccups”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

like other reviewers was impressed by the first impressions of the hotel, arriving through the church like hallway with chanting music, bring greeted with a fruit punch, and looking at the greenery and the water fall, wow!! The interior of the room was lovely but we had paid for a sea view which we got but only if you stood up and saw the tops of the masts of the Marina and the sea in the distance, we did ask about this but got no response, I wasn't really disappointed until we walked around the grounds and saw what kind of view we could have had , begging the question what do you need to do to guarantee a good sea view certainly not pay for it!
The room did tick the boxes in that it was quiet but didn't get the sun until late afternoon which was a shame as we happened to stay in a week were the weather wasn't fantastic and it was too cool on the balcony of a morning. Like other reviewers you can hear other people as the walls are quite thin.
The breakfast area was lovely and the range of choice of food and drink was excellent, I haven't seen such a good choice before in other hotels!
In all areas the staff were friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be working there which makes a nice change, the uniforms are quite quirky!
The level of cleanliness was great with a choice of pillows and rooms cleaned daily,
The pool areas were lovely but oh boy was the water cold!!!! liked the touch in one area where you buzzed and a waitress came to take your drink order! Didnt like the scrappy loungers in the other areas with cushions that have seen better days and it was a shame there was no pool bar or the pub open when we were there.
The Volcan is in a nice area close to the Marina Rubicon with some good restaurants close by, I liked the layout and the overall impression of the hotel, get the little niggles sorted out like sunbeds and poolside bar and give a room you expect and my review would get 5 star, that said definitely glad I chose this hotel!

Room Tip: dont go in block 2 if you want great views and sun all the time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FABFIFTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent vacation on Lanzarote and for taking the time to review us online.

It is a pleasure to read that you were fully satisfied with for example our breakfast and our level of cleanliness.

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff. We will make sure to pass them on.
Also would like to apologize if we couldn’t meet your expectations in terms of the view you had from your room.

Furthermore we take a good note of your suggestions for improvement concerning for example the sun lounges and the water temperature of our pools. Rest assured that we will communicate your comments to all the relevant departments.

We appreciate any kind of feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our services on a day-to-day basis.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.

Until then we remain at your full disposal and send kind regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    1,161
    381
    85
    38
See reviews for
855
2,338
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackmore, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week in April to get away from the miserable weather in the UK. We were not disappointed. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and large and included a sitting area as well as balcony. Unfortunately, where we were situated we didn't receive any sun on the balcony, which was slightly disappointing.

The buffet breakfast was vast and we cannot recall seeing a more extensive range of food. Everything was kept topped up too. The hotel must be congratulated.

The hotel grounds are well-maintained and perhaps the only criticism is that at times you might struggle to find adequate shade from the sun around the pool areas. What is nice is that they don't allow people to place their towels on the sunbeds before 9am, which does mean you don't have to get up really early to bag your place!

All in all, an excellent find for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LexiiBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking some minutes to share your experience with us online and for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote as your holiday’s destination.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and we sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about our staff.
We take a good note about your comment of the inconvenience to find adequate shade from the sun around the pool areas.
Be sure that we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future and please feel free to contact us for any comments or requests.
Best regards from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have recently returned from a 7 day break at the Volcan Hotel, this was our second visit to this unusual hotel. The reception is housed underneath a reconstructed volcano which is at the top of a 3 storey waterfall, the water from which discharges into the main swimming pool. The dining room is a separate building located on a promontory surrounded on 3 sides by this pool. The majority of rooms are built into steps in the hillside and overlook either well tended gardens or sunbathing and swimming pool areas. The accommodation is spacious with excellent en-suite facilities ,king sized beds, a sitting area and a sun terrace. The buffet breakfasts are the most extensive we have ever seen covering a massive selection of hot food, cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, fresh fruits yogurts, cereals dried fruits and nuts, and with sections of gluten-free or diabetic foods. There is also a range of fruit juices and for those requiring a Hair of the Dog there are bottles of chilled Cava. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous , all of which added to a pleasant weeks stay on the island of Lanzarote.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calverleycamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review about your stay in our accommodation and for having chosen the Hotel Volcan for your recent trip to Lanzarote in the first place.
We appreciate all the lovely words that you have used to describe your stay in our facilities.
It makes us very proud to hear that you enjoyed your vacations with us to the fullest extent and that we were able to make this holiday a little bit more special.
Thank you for your kind compliments concerning our breakfast buffet, our staff and our rooms.
We are very much hoping to be able to welcome you again for your third stay in our facilities in the near future.
Until then, we remain at your full disposal and we send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel volcan is a lovely clean hotel with a definite wow factor. It dominates the Playa Blanca skyline and is position right in the middle of the Rubicon Marina. If you love Yachts and the picturesque setting amongst all the boats and top notch restaurants this hotel is for you. We travelled on April 1st and I have to say the hotel seemed empty although the reception staff insisted the hotel was fully booked. Where everyone was I've no idea. The restaurant was always busy for breakfast which was really good quality with something for everyone and the staff were very attentive. However sue to the lack of people the hotel in the evenings seemed a little like a ghost town. It was ok as we wandered into Playa Blanca most evenings which is a lovely 20 minute walk along the promenade. Glad I took my coat as I sadly had to wear it every evening. I loved this hotel, but have only given it 4/5 as I know that the neighbouring 5 star hotel seemed by far superior in general standards. But if it wasn't for the fact that the pool was tooooooooo cold for us to swim in I think I would still have given this hotel a 5. So much sun and not a solar panel in sight!! BBBrrrrrrr Definitely worth a visit, particularly if you DON't have teenagers to entertain as we did. They were quite quite bored with no-one around and no warm sea or pool to swim in. psWe were blessed with the most AMAZING room. It was the nicest surprise to have struck so lucky.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to review us online.

We appreciate your kind compliments for example about our staff and will make sure to pass them on.

Also we take a good note about your suggestions for improvement concerning for example the temperature of our pools.

We are grateful for any kind of feedback as it supports us in our effort to improve our services daily.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.

Until then we remain at your full disposal and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Volcan for seven days from May 6th 2013:absolutely delighted with accommodation, and location. The staff were friendly,helpful and very efficient and could not have done more to enhance our wonderful week of complete relaxation in glorious sunshine.We didn't want to leave and consequently have booked to return for a further 14 day holiday commencing 24th October 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamajester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your recent Trip to Lanzarote and for having taken the time to post such a delightful review about our facilities on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that we were able to fully satisfy you with the services we offer.

Knowing that we could be part of your memorable holidays and were able to make them a little more special makes us incredibly proud.

Thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff and our accommodation in general.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again to our facilities during your upcoming holiday in October.

Until then we wish you all the best and remain at your full disposal.

Sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned from 1 week at the Volcan Hotel and can say that it was a lovely experience, we were half board and regretted this after reading some of the reviews but we found it a pleasant dinning room and very good staff with certainly better food than we have had in other 4 star hotels. We ate out at lunch time with plenty of places to choose from . our room was beside the childrens pool and that area was very relaxing though the whole hotel seemed to be very laid back . At night we sat in the Lobby bar and again it was very relaxed and all that we needed . I spoke to the Manager one one occasion and he was very approachable and polite, infact he was very interactive with the hotel and staff and seemed keen to keep things up to scratch without being obtrusive. Certainly hope to visit again . This holiday was booked with Thomas Cook and it turned out to be the best organised package holiday from start to finish that we have ever had in over 30 years of holidays

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyndaAmble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review about our hotel and of course for having chosen our facilities for your recent holiday on Lanzarote in the first place.

We appreciate all the kind words that you have used to describe your vacations with us. Thank you for your lovely comments on the dining experience in our main restaurant, the Lobby bar and the atmosphere of the hotel in general.

We will also make sure to pass on your compliments to the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team, especially to our new director.

We are very much looking forward to being able to welcome you again on our grounds in the near future! Until then we remain at your full disposal.

Please inform us about any reservations you are planning on making with us.

Sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This might be a bit of a confused review, full of contradictions, but that does sort of sum up my views of the hotel!

Firstly id like to say that i am confident it is the nicest, and probably the best hotel in the Playa Blanca area. Nothing i saw made me think otherwise. If i do go back to the same area i would very likely give the volcan another stay.

Location is great - immediately opposite the Marina Rubicon with lots of lovely bars and restaurants, and a really nice area to stroll around on a warm holiday evening. Just a 15 minute walk to the main playa blanca beach (which is a really lovely beach - lovely clear water- clean sand) And a 40 minute walk to the rustic but stunning Playas Papagayo.

Visually the hotel is really impressive - the main hotel building is built inside an artificial volcano. The main entrance to the hotel is a mock abbey - complete with chanting monks, dozens of candles - a really impressive area, The main reception area and lobby is filled with enormous trees and plants as well as a giant waterfall thing. It might sounds like a mish-mash of styles, and could sound naff...but actually it works very very well and the styles somehow combine well. its one of the best first impressions of a hotel ive ever experienced. also helped by the fruit cocktail received immediately on arrival!

Rooms are really very nice.Spacious, attractive and comfortable, mostly with good views of the marina. I would say that sound proofing is an issue and you can hear people walk in the corridors outside the rooms, and hear a fair amount of noise from the rooms above - i was woken a few times. Wifi in the rooms is really really poor - not worth trying.

Food in the main dining room area was good... not great. Some nights were better than others. It certainly wasnt bad - it just felt like a very repetitive experience, - similar food, and kind of lacking atmosphere, and on a few nights we decided to eat out for a change of scene and style of food, despite having paid for half board.

The exterior of the hotel was clean and attractive, the pools look really good, very inviting. however as other people mentioned they are freezing... like refrigerator water! we chose to swim in the smaller pool next to the kids pool as it was by far the warmest. Quite a shame as the largest pool looks stunning, My biggest gripe with the outside of the hotel and pool area is the amount of concrete... its all painted a sand colour and has been dressed with plants and cactus gardens so looks very good... it did just feel like a great expanse or artificial-ness... more grass would have been welcomed.

The hotel is very very quiet and relaxed. perfect if you are looking for total relaxation. It was probably too quiet for my taste but i can see why others would love it. Personally i would prefer some chilled mood music around the pools and in the dining area.

There is a bar in the reception area - but again seemed lacking in atmosphere. There didnt really seem to be a bespoke bar area outside to enjoy a post dinner drink in the evening which i thought was a shame.. again we chose to eat in the hotel and go to the marina for a drink.

staff are freindly and well presented.. love the uniforms! they were all very very professional.

To summarize:

a very very attractive hotel with a great design, very professional staff and a VERY calm quiet atmosphere, in a very good location. Just slightly lacking in atmosphere all around which would have made me give it the excellent score.

do go if you want a quiet holiday in attractive surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to review us online.

It makes us very proud to read your kind compliments with regard to our staff, the design of our hotel and our facilities in general.

We will make sure pass on all your lovely words to the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.

Also we take a good note about your suggestions for improvement concerning for example the variety of food being offered in the main restaurant or providing a place to consume a post-dinner drink.

We greatly appreciate any kind of feedback as this gives us the opportunity to improve our services on a day-to-day basis in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Rest assured that we will communicate all your comments to the departments involved.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our facilities in the near future.

Until then we remain at your full disposal and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing