We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was skeptical about visiting Lanzarote but was pleasantly surprised by the island and the hotel. The Volcan is very clean and nicely laid out with a couple of large pools (not heated) plus a couple of smaller pools for children in a separate area together with a playground. The rooms are traditional Canarian style, spacious and our balcony had a lovely view over the landscaped gardens and out towards the marina. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the beautiful horseshoe beach at Playa Blanca, plenty of sunbeds and shades (Euro 9) and close to restaurants and bars. We stayed on a bed and breakfast option which suited us as we like to try different restaurants in the evening (we can recommend the Valadero overlooking the sea, excellent food and friendly waiters, good value). The Volcan's buffet restaurant in the evening is not very good; not much choice of food. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, plenty of choice for everyone.

The only minor faults of this hotel are lack of sunbeds (need updating, they are incredibly tatty), and the WiFi signal is very hit and miss. The spa was just ok.

Overall, we would return to the hotel as we understand it is being updated during May 2013, which will hopefully address the sunbeds and updating of the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Oscar,

Thank you very much for choosing THE Hotel Volcan for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to reviewing it on Tripadvisor.

It makes us proud that we were able to win you over with the quality of our services despite your initial skepticism. All your kind comments about our hotel, the breakfast buffet and the room are greatly appreciated and motivate us to keep working hard to satisfy all of our guests.

Rest assured that we also take a good note about your comments concerning the areas you perceive our hotel could still improve in like the sun beds and the spa. We will communicate your thoughts to the relevant departments.

Additionally we would like to inform you that only the “Club Volcan” Area of the Hotel will be closed throughout May and June in order to make some amendments in a few details.

For further queries we remain on your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the THE Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    1,096
    357
    79
    34
See reviews for
807
2,200
74
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I set out to find a sunny, fun break...somewhere not too touristy. This place was perfect for us! The transfer from the airport isn't the shortest....about 40 minutes on windy roads....but it is a pretty drive. As others have noted, the entrance to this hotel is so lovely and relaxing. We were greeted outside and taken in to check in, given a glass of juice and given all the information we would need through the week. The week before I had called to ask for our rooms to be next to each other and near the pool. Our rooms were in a brilliant location. Just of looking the pool area, across from the spa and to the left of the restaurant. At first I was worried it might be noisy at night but it wasn't at all. The hotel h a lovely balance of families, older couples and singles. I didn't really see many young singles...just some couples with out kids and a few groups of ladies on a girls holiday....I don't think the hotel attracts young party types which is fine with me. My husband and I have three kids under five and we re traveling with my mom. So our oldest shared a room with my mom and we had two travel cots in our room. We had plenty of room for this....we had a standard room. It had a large bathroom, lovely powerful shower, a hallway with closets and shelves...then you walk into the room with a vanity and a large bed(two twins put together...not very comfy but I have slept on worse in the uk in five star hotels)...then there is a arch way into the sitting area. We moved a few of the chairs and a table on to the porch from this area to fit the two cots in.... Had lots of room to move about and still plenty of room to enjoy the porch.
We went half board....the food was wonderful! This made the holiday for me!! As a mom, nothing is better on holiday than someone cleaning your room everyday and making you tasty, healthy meals!!! There was so much choice...my favorite was the salad bar! My mom and I a American, my husband is english....we would all very pleased with the choice of food....there was a lot of German influence as well. As half board, you have the opportunity to eat at the Italian restaurant one night, we did this but we were very disappointed! The Floridia is so much better!! My kids loved all the choice, the ice cream bar and the play area! There is a family area in the restaurant that has a little play area so the kids can play while you finish your meal....this was fantastic!!! The whole atmosphere was so chilled and friendly. In an other area they had a pianist....so they cater to all types.
All the staff was great. I wouldn't rate it five star only because parts of the hotel were a bit worn, the pool could have been warmer(it is supposed to be heated) and our room wasn't really clean the last day we were there( we were told new guests take priority!). But with all that said I would go back! I was told the hotel is closed all of may for refurb and I am interested to see the changes they make.
Oh, also....the Mimi disco at night was great....a big hot with my kids. I can't really comment on the kids club as my eldest didn't want to go....but the activities planned seemed good and all the kids seemed to enjoy them selves.
The area of playa Blanca that the hotel is located is so lovely....kinda out of the way....about fifteen minute walk to the beach. The promenade is right outside the hotel and you can walk for miles in either direction. There is a lovely market on Saturdays just outside.
Really lovely.....have already recommended it lots and just arrived home three days ago..... Looking to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraSBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Tamara,

We would like to thank you for your favorable comments following your stay with us at THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote. We highly appreciate that you have already recommended our facilities to several people. It truly is a pleasure to read that!

Thank you furthermore for the kind words you used to describe the “La Florida” and the room you were allocated to!

Also we take a good note about your suggestions for improvement concerning the pool and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on your departure day.
We appreciate your honest feedback since it is a great help for us in our effort to improve our services day by day!

Additionally we would like to inform you that only the “Club Volcan” Area of the Hotel will be closed throughout May and June in order to make some amendments in a few details.

We are very much looking forward to being able to welcome you once more in our facilities next year and send some sunny regards from Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from our stay in Lanzarote. We both agree that the hotel was great and had a fantastic holiday. We found both the atmosphere in the hotel and the general feel of Playa Blanca to be really relaxed and chilled out.

The location of the hotel was great for us - just beside the Marina Rubicon (with a good choice of restaurants) and about 15 minutes or so walk into the centre of Playa Blanca (again, with a good choice of restaurants and bars).

We took the Bed & Breakfast option and the buffet breakfast was fantastic - a great selection of breads, meats, cheese, fruit, pastries, waffles, pancakes, cakes, etc. and freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. We ate lunch at the hotel a couple of times and it was really tasty and not ridiculously priced. We never ate dinner at the hotel but we spoke to a family who said that the buffet dinners were excellent and really good value.

Some people have commented on the layout of the hotel but we didn't find it to be that confusing at all - don't let that put you off! In fact, I really like the fact that it is low-rise and spread out - it didn't feel as big a hotel as it was.

Our room was great - very spacious and very clean.

The pool areas were lovely and generally not too many problems getting a wee space but there was a fair bit of towels on sunloungers action first thing in the morning. Although to be fair, we managed to get a couple whenever we needed. Also, the pool areas were pretty chilled out and reasonably quiet so please don't worry about them being too noisy with people running about.

All in all, we loved it and would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeAl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing THE Hotel Volcan for your trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to write such a charming comment on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you spend enjoyable holidays in our facilities. Thank you especially for your compliments on our Restaurants and be assured we will pass them on to our chefs and the Restaurant staff. Also we will communicate your thoughts about the sun lounges to the relevant departments.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the near future!

Until then we send some sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are in the lobby waiting to go to the airport. I must say another 7 days or so would be very welcome. This hotel is located at the quieter end of Playa Blanca and is better for it. From the moment we arrived the staff were efficient and polite. The room was clean, tidy and better that we had expected (having read some not such good reviews). We stayed half board and the food was of good quality and choice. However with the very good restaurants located around the marina, bed and breakfast would on reflection been a better choice. Our only criticism of the hotel is the pool area. There is very little shade, the sun beds are reserved with towels at ridiculously early hours by selfish people who then spend very little time on them. We would and will return to this hotel, resort and island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nigel,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments and of course for spending your vacations in our Hotel.

We are very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.

The main objective of our Hotel is to make our guest feel like at home.

We also take a good note about the problem with the towels on the sun beds.

It will be our pleasure to attend you again in a near future here at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote. We are on your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the THE Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a lovely week at the Volcan hotel. We had a great week. We had just returned after staying at Princesa Yaisa in February and thought it could not be beaten but we were wrong. The Volcan is as good as the Yaisa and the food was excellent. Very good for children, there was even a play area in the dining room so you could enjoy your own meal. Rooms were a nice size and very clean - maybe a bit dated but still very comfortable. It was nice to be able to eat in another restaurant on Two evenings. Staff were all very friendly and very polite. Good quality items in the shops and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Choose a high room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Chris,

It is a truly pleasure to know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in the THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote with other Tripadvisor members.

We consider the satisfaction of our clients our main goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service day by day.

We will send all your nice words to our involved departments, for us it´s just a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us.

We thank you once again and hope to welcome you and your family once again in Lanzarote.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in the club volcan part of the hotel for 4 nights in April 2013. We got a good price and it was well worth it. You stay in a separate adults only section of the hotel. It is quiet and very civilised. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the club dining room was to die for. It was a very high standard and the waitresses were lovely. The extras such as cake and coffee every afternoon and help yourself drinks every evening just added to the whole experience. The rooms were large and clean. The bathrooms were a little tired but again they were well cleaned. The private pool and deck area had lovely views and a good bar service.
We were not as impressed with the other part of the hotel. We booked half board and had dinner in the normal restaurant. It was ok but I have eaten much better in other 4* hotels. The kitchen staff seemed quite miserable. As previously stated the sun loungers were in poor repair and let the hotel down. The motto with reception seemed to be that you had to ask for things twice before it got actioned.
The hotel is well situated just behind the marina and it's about a 15 minute walk to the main town.
I would go again as long as it was Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and of course for spending your vacations in our Hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and the satisfaction of our guests is our main objective.

We also appreciate your nice words about the Club Volcan, the hotel location, the breakfast and our staff. It´s sad for us to know that we couldn´t satisfy you in the points you comment about the dinner in our main buffet and the other part of the hotel.

Thank you for mentioning those little points that can help us to improve our services and make them better for all our guests.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again here in our Hotel.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the THE Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

what a nice place. The hotel staff are friendly, the food is plentiful, and the location is great. its a big hotel (well for us anyway) and we found there is some stuff you need to get used to. Residents make sure they bag the sunbeds with their blue towels - so get out there early ! Breakfast is amazing. Its a 360 degree buffet. We ate out each evening. its a lovely walk along the brick pathway to the main harbour and lots of variety. Our favorite was Bodegon. A mad Spanish tapas bar with some quality wines. The room was really comfortable - but not quite up to the Fairmont in San Francisco where the beds are just heaven. It is very nice and you won't go far wrong at the Volcan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikesBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mikes,

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community.

Your memorable experience is a true testament of the dedication of our Staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation. Comments like yours are important for us to keep with our work and satisfy our clients.

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel.

We wish you all the best for you and your family and send you some warm regards from the THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing