We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GETTING BETTER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been to this hotel on several occasions. When we first went it really was a 5 star hotel but it went downhill for a number of years. However, it is coming back up although it is not yet what you'd hope for from a 5 star hotel. The setting is fantastic beside a marina with unusual architecture and a superb layout; it could not be bettered in that respect. However, do not go if you are elderly or at all incapacitated., The distances, slopes etc are just too great for that and thie practice of cleaning sloping paths mid-morning makes it dangerous for us all. The hotel is now going out of its way to attract families which might not suit everyone. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel is clean and room service is very good although a 5 star hotel should have an automatic turn down service in the late evening. Breakfast buffet is good and varied although before 9am there are too few staff and guests sometimes have to remove plates themselves and go for their own pots of coffee. The sunbeds in most outside areas are disgraceful; they are dirty, the umbrellas are ragged. There is no service outside offering to help with your beds/umbrellas or offering drinks as a 5 star should have.This hotel has huge potential but has struggled in recent years. However, there are signs on improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective and we sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the hotel especially about our breakfast, our staff and the hotel location.

We take a good note about your mentioned points and will do our best to be better in the future.


It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with a great stay showing that we have improved our service for you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,242 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived in Playa Blanca to the hotel, our first visit and were swept away by the Gregorian chant as we walked through the beautiful entrance leading to the reception area which in itself was full of atmosphere, as if we had stepped into a tropical rain forest with steep cliffs of plants and water cascading down to lower levels.
The staff were so welcoming and relaxed, nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel special by all. Our room was very pleasant even though the hotel was full and could not fulfil our requests as we had booked late. It was in a quiet position with large double bed and lounge area and had a balcony from which we could see the marina even though not near. Everything was clean and every day the room was made to look as if we had just arrived! Always given clean towels and we could tell that every detail had been attended to. The only negative was that the bed was too hard for us to a point that my husband's back suffered. As the day wore on it did improve with walking! We didn't mention this as we assumed that nothing could be done.
However any other problems that we experienced ie one bedside light not working and the fan failed to work was immediately fixed.

The food was excellent, both at breakfast and the evening meal. We would recommend half board but cannot imagine anyone being able to manage full board! Both meals were buffet style. The breakfasts exceptional with a wide choice of everything imaginable for all cultures. They even had a chef cooking while you waited, which was never long, the eggs, bacon, omelettes etc so it was lovely and hot. The evening meal had a wide range of choice for meat lovers and vegetarians and beautiful fresh fish, cooked while you chose.

The sunbeds, pools and gardens with plenty of seating wherever one chose to be was thoughtfully designed for peace and quiet and always plenty available. In fact we went at half term and very few children were evident, in fact very few people seemed to be there at all even though the hotel had getting on for 500!

The walks out to the light house from the hotel probably as far as 12 mile round trip were very pleasant and gave a chance to get good exercise after all the good food. Or we enjoyed scrambling over the cliffs to walk across the volcanic plains to more isolated beaches.

We enjoyed the peace and tranquillity with no night clubs, a place to read, to be undisturbed and pampered, away from the busy sea fronts and loud music therefore we would recommend this hotel and this part of the island.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better for quietness and views.I would choose Sea views and it's possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Delia,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online.

You review let us know that we are achieving our priority, which is to ensure that every guest is satisfied. It helps to motivate our staff to continue improving day by day.

We are thrilled to read that you consider that our food and facilities are exceptional. Thank you very much for recommending us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know for any kind of information or reservation in the future you might need

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Overall this hotel is excellent. Had fabulous room with lovely view of pool area and surroundings. Rooms spacious and very quiet .Breakfast delicious ,dinner buffet style ,just ok. would have preferred better main courses and less of a variety on other food.we ate out in main shopping area and had several very good meals which i would hve preferred. go bed and breakfast if possible . wifi only available in main reception which was abit of a dissappointment but overall i would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erin032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hola dear Erin,

Thank you for taking some minutes of your time to write a review about us and your experience in our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays.

Especially your kind words about the location, the breakfast and the rooms.

Opinions like yours are really important for our work day by day, we really appreciate that.

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel.

Please let us know about further reservations in the future.

Best regards from the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in a club room at your hotel 5th February - 10th February and just wanted to say how impressed I was with the staff, cleanliness of all areas and I loved the club area and facilities The breakfasts were well presented and the decor and ambiance of the dining room/lounge area was first class. The staff were always very pleasant and friendly

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heathy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Heathy,

It´s wonderful to read your nice comments about your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the Management of the THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote it was a real pleasure to assist you during your stay.

Thank you for your nice words especially about our staff, we are really proud of them and we will let them know all your positive feedback.

We wish you all the best from Lanzarote and it will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you once again in our Hotel.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel Volcan was seriously the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in, I travelled mid-Feb with my mother & younger sister. Walking through the amazing entrance was like walking into some kind of serene health spa, I instantly felt calmer! Our check-in was fast & efficient and the guy dealing with us (I'm so sorry, I can't remember his name!) was so friendly. All the staff were so friendly with ready smiles & eager to help. We were handed refreshing cocktails as our porter brought us & our luggage to our room. We stayed in 115 which had a lovely view of the pool. Our room was perfect, three women fit perfectly without any arguments! We stayed b&b and we couldn't get over the breakfast buffet, they cater for everyone's taste, champagne for Buck's Fizz, vodka for Bloody Mary's, fruit, cheese, meats, fry, cereal, breads, pastries - our heads were spinning! Delicious food which we tried not to be too greedy about! Again, the restaurant staff were so lovely and helpful, we dined there two nights and again were seriously impressed with the standard & choice of food available. The hotel is set in a beautiful area and is only a short walk down to Playa Blanca. We are already looking at prices to come back in September and I honestly would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you to all the staff for such a gorgeous week! We will see you again.

Room Tip: 115 is on the ground floor and it was lovely to look out onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anniemehigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service.

All your kind comments about our staff, the hotel location, as well as the food are greatly appreciated and it motivate us to keep working hard to satisfy all of our guests.

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel for your next vacation.

Please let us know about further reservations in the future.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent a week here and can highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect -really near the Rubicon harbour with all its restaurants and bars. TIPS: The taverna for lunch and the Blue Note bar for evenings - very good live music.
The hotel is lovely. The reception staff were really nice, especially the manager Juan Moro. Nothing was too much trouble for them. So often in hotels , the reception staff are not friendly but here this is not the case.
Our room was huge and very luxurious with a great view of the Club pool and the island of Fuerteventura beyond.
The food at the buffet was good but it's worth trying the Italian there ( you can do a straight swap one in a week's stay) and also the Kazan restaurant - Japanese - which is on the same site as the hotel. We had an excellent meal there and it's worth noting that you get a discount if you are staying at the hotel.
The evening entertainment wasn't great but it seems to be the same in most of these hotels. The only other 'off-note' was the spa's manicure/pedicure service. If you go for the 'Basic Pedicure' (30Euros )as opposed to the more expensive 40 Euro one you get a very, very basic service indeed. They only trim do your toenails and don't even touch the heels - quite pricey.
All in all, a great place. We will definitely be back. Thank you to all the staff there who helped to make our stay so good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith56169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Judith,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed each service and facilities like the Club Volcan, food, friendly and efficient staff reception; reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

We remind you that we are here to serve you and look forward to welcoming you again.

We wish you all the best and please let us know about further reservations.

Best regards from the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Volcan week commencing 18th February 2013 with our 14 year old daughter. On arrival you were instantly relaxed with the beautiful decor of the hotel. We had booked a sea view room, Room 565 (if you are thinking of going), the views were to die for. We have stayed in lovely hotels previously, but none with a view like this. The breakfast was in the Florida restaurant overlooking the pool, it was truly lovely, so much choice you didn't know what to have first and everything looked and tasted lovely.

The location of the hotel is right on the marina, perfect, if not very quiet, but that is exactly what we wanted - lovely restaurants and long leisurely alcoholic lunches.

The pool was beautiful, although too cold to swim in at that time of year, very chilled so just the perfect place for reading.....

I can't comment on the entertainment or the bar as that's really not our thing, we prefer to venture out on an evening.

We asked for 3 extra pillows, I have never been given a choice of so many different types!!!! the little touches were so lovely, a candle in the bathroom which smelt lovely, the fridge is empty for your own bottles, which I think is very nice when staying in a hotel rather than paying mini bar charges.

Playa Blanca is apparently only half an hour walk away, but a taxi was only 3 euros so we took the easy option!!!

We went on a tour of the Club Volcan, to be honest I don't think my husband and I would book this, it was extremely quiet, the restaurant is not as nice as the Florida restaurant and the buzz of the lovely pool in the main hotel isn't intrusive to us - but each to their own......

On arrival if you were a Club Volcan guest you were given a cocktail, I think maybe it might be nice for all guests to have this greeting as it does make the check-in a little more special.

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous at all times.

We had the loveliest time at this hotel, we will definitely return, if you can upgrade to a sea view then stretch yourselves, it really is worth the extra cost.

Perfect location, lovely hotel, beautiful rooms (with sea view), gorgeous breakfast, to us a 5* hotel..........

Room Tip: Room 565 has views to die for and is spacious.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueblackburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at THE Volcan Lanzarote.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed from the very beginning of your vacations, our friendly staff, our rooms, the hotel facilities and the food served in the La Florida restaurant.

Your words will not only motivate our star friends’ staff, but will encourage our entire team to continue providing the best service experience we can.

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel.

Please let us know about further reservations in the future.

Best regards from the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,778 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $143 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing