We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
SHEFFIELD
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definite oasis of calm”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel and room were lovely. Great location. The staff were excellent. The hotel seemed very organised and well run. The food (particularly breakfast) was also very good. A big thankyou! Felt like a 5* hotel to us, We will certainly return! Thank you Alexis and team!!!!!

Keith+Kate Marsden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Keith & Kate,

Thank you very much for have chosen our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to have a relaxing vacation on the Canary Islands and taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are delighted to read about the amazing time you had with us.

We will send all the nice words to our staff and the involved departments. Comments like yours are important for us to keep with our work and satisfy our clients.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to Lanzarote.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,173
    383
    85
    38
See reviews for
867
2,354
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,094)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I have just arrived back home after spending a week at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

The weather in the main was beautiful and the hotel is located in an ideal location in which to spend a relaxing holiday.

This hotel has a number of factors going for it and with attention given to several areas could be a first class hotel.

After reading numerous reviews on trip advisor we opted for a room in the Club Volcan area of the hotel and were pleased by the choice.

Positives:

Room 667 had a lovely view of the club sunbathing area and onwards to the sea.
The room was kept spotless by the excellent housekeeping team.
The Club breakfast room offered a wide range of cold buffet options along with hot breakfast dishes if wanted.Much pleasanter experience than the free-for-all buffet restaurant where fellow guest manners were in short supply.
Afternoon tea was a nice idea with choice of cakes and freshly made hot drinks.
The courtesy bar open between 6-9 pm served top brand spirits and liqueurs ideal for an aperitif and after dinner drink.
Hotel is situated in an excellent location overlooking the classy Marina Rubicon and within easy walking distance to Playa Blanca and the quieter Papagayo beach area.

Negatives:

The food served in the evening in the buffet restaurant was bland and predictable with very little variety over the week we were there. There was no atmosphere and felt like eating in a work canteen. Have to agree with earlier reviewers who rate the food no better than 3 star.

One evening we ate in the hotel's Italian restaurant and this was extremely mediocre. Very little choice and my partner's tiramisu had not been completely defrosted. This is totally unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

Promised WI-FI access within our room was virtually non-existent and necessitated hanging over the terrace railings in order to try and find some connection! Complaining to reception, we were told to try the public areas because the architecture of the hotel prevented some rooms getting reception. This begs the question, why promise a service that can't be delivered?

There was no private check in desk in the Club area, though this was advertised.

With the exception of the Club swimming pool none of the other swimming pools appeared to be heated and consequently unused.

On walking through the hotel grounds the state of some of the sunbeds were shocking. The padding on some of the them was dirty and generally unkempt. I would have been disgusted by the appearance of them staying in a 2 star never mind a 5 star.

You need your plastic swipe key card to enter and exit the hotel onto the promenade and to access and exit the Club area. We found to our cost that the magnetic strip can be deleted when pocketed next to a mobile phone. When this happened after leaving our room, it was a challenge to get out of the Club without a working card; though there are a couple of insecure routes, it would have been much less stressful if the reception desk in the Club area had been staffed.

In conclusion this hotel has an awful lot going for it but needs a shake up in a number of areas. Personally I would rate this hotel as 3/4 star and in no way compares with some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in in Gran Canaria.

Solely due to the location we would return but definitely would opt for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GreenBalloon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for post your comments about your recent stay with us and have been choose the Hotel Volcan for your vacation.

As per your feedback, we appreciate your resume explaining all your experience here with us, especially your words about our Club Volcan and the location.

We would like to apologize that we couldn´t satisfy you in the point you comment about the food in our restaurant, wifi and the reception desk in the Club area.

We take a good note about your mentioned points and will do our best to be better in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need. We are on your full disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved the layout of the hotel with several small low rise buildings, the different levels, volcanic gardens with cactii, hibiscus, etc. and the volcano styled main building. The marina location was perfect and if we return to Playa Blanca we will definately want to stay in this part of town. Staff were courteous and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a large sitting area, good bathroom and a balcony. The sea view to the marina and beyond was a bit obstructed between the branches of two palm trees but still acceptable.The breakfast buffet was excellent but we did not try the restaurants for dinner as we were not half board and there were a number of good restaurants in the marina area. The reception area was a bit short staffed sometimes and the wifi was temperamental but these are minor gripes. On balance, a worthy 4 out of five.

Room Tip: Try for a room high up with a balcony e.g. level 5 and ask for a view unobstructed by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfyResco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Alfy,
Thank you for having spent your valuable time in writing your kind comments on Trip Advisor, all our staff thank you for choosing us to celebrate such special event like your holidays.

We sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the hotel especially about our breakfast, our staff and the layout. We will let them know about your comments.

We take a good note about the wifi connection and we apologize about the waiting time on our reception. Unfortunately we have some busy days with lots of check ins and check outs at the same time.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again with us; do not hesitate in contacting us for anything you might need for your next visit.

The Management of the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for one week on a half board basis at the Volcan Club in January, we booked a room with a sea view, the first room offered to us had a view of a tree which made the room dark, and certainly no sea view was on offer, when I complained we were moved to a larger room overlooking the sea and pool area, I had the feeling this was standard procedure, once in the larger room though no further complaints from us.
We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, all the staff where very friendly and helpful, I recommend the Volcan Club on a bed and breakfast basis, as the buffet evening meal failed to achieve the standard set by the rest of the hotel. We will go again.

Room Tip: Go for the Bed and Breakfast as the evening buffet was 3 to 4 star, very poor in fact, and there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CliveDurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for have chosen our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to have a relaxing vacation here on the Canary Islands.

As per your feedback, we appreciate your resume explaining all your experience here with us, especially your words about our staff, the relaxed atmosphere and the breakfast buffet.

We would like to apologize that we couldn´t satisfy you with our dinner buffet and that you had problem at the beginning of your stay with your room. In general like you could see the Hotel is a-typical and our sea view rooms are on different levels, if we don´t receive a special request from our guests before the arrival we give the rooms with the correspondent category which are available during this time. If we have the disponibility our reception department is always able to offer an alternative to our guests. We are glad to know that we could resolve this problem the same day.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our Hotel and wishes you all the best and some sunny regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a bit of winter sun October 2012 and found it very comfortable with a very nice large room with a well eqipped and decent bathroom. We only stayed B and B and found the buffet style breakfast very good in pleasant surroundings as the restaurant juts out over the very large sculptured swimming pool.
The Hotel is very large on many levels and takes a day or two to get your bearings, there are plenty of sunloungers around the different pools although the usal scurge of having to "bagsy" them with an early morning towel before breakfast is utterly annoying.
The poolside exit from the hotel walks straight on to the marina area where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.
There was some building work going on inside the spa pool when we visited and it was closed of which we were not notified before hand.
Poolside waiters are fairly attentive and pleasant and the terrace bar is a great place for a cocktail in the evening.
Lacks a little bit of character and is more for the poolside loving sun worshippers. So if thats not you hire a car opposite and go and discover some of the great little villages of Lanzarote

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSteve64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share that overall you had a great time at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote last year in October.

One of the best satisfactions for us is to read that we could satisfy your wishes and that we could be a part of your holiday memories.

Thank you for the notable asset about our staff, the location and the breakfast buffet. Be sure that we will pass it on to all our staff.

Also we would like to apologize that you couldn´t use the Jacuzzi in the Spa during your stay, we would like to let you and other travelers know that since the last year the whole installation of the Spa are working regularly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our Hotel and please let us know about further reservations.

Kind regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Husband and I stayed for one week in the Club for a stress free break. We were so pleased we stayed in the club area as we enjoyed the peace and quiet. Loved the breakfast room with the wonderful choices and afternoon cakes and tea, not forgetting the self service bar for pre-dinner drinks. Club pool area very nice, swimming pool a little chilly but I soon got used to the temperature. Staff, especially the porters, cleaners and club breakfast waiters and waitresses were a credit to the hotel, friendly and professional. Two members of staff were less than helpful, one on reception and the other in the main restaurant.
We stayed on a half board basis but if we returned it would be bed and breakfast only. We were underwhelmed by the evening buffet, also with the Japanese restaurant meal (set options as part of a deal with Thomas Cook) and Rubicon (italian) also in the hotel. The breakfasts were 5 star but evening meals definately 3/4 star. We travel alot and have had much better quality food, nicely presented in 4 star hotels. The Japonese restaurant was gloomy and the food obviously dictated by budget. The risotto in the Rubicon restaurant was very under cooked and 'al dente' and when I commented on it (as my husband didn't eat it) the waiter had nothing to say and no apology.
We had better meals in the marina at a tapas restaurant and Aphrodite Little Italy, Italian restaurant.
In conclusion we would recommend the Club rooms with all the extras you get and B & B only

Room Tip: Club rooms 6 or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank St_AgnesJoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having spent your valuable time in writing this comment on Tripadvisor and for your recent holiday with us at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

Your feedback is very important to us and the satisfaction of our guests is our main objective.

We also appreciate your nice words about our staff. It´s sad for us to know that we couldn´t satisfy you in the point you comment about the food in our restaurant and the temperature of our pool.

We take a good note about your mentioned points and will do our best to be better in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need. We are on your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel recently had a lovely relaxing time in the Tranquil settings of the this Hotel based upon a Canarian Village. There is ample places in the Hotel Grounds to find your own little hideaway whilst being a 1 min stroll to all the Hotels amenities. Service is very good & food was plentiful as expected being a 5star rated Hotel. You may have to pay more to get a Higher Sea View Room with views over the Atantic & Marina Rubicon, otherwise you will have a lower level Garden View room which some people may prefer. I would not recommend this Hotel to familes with lots of children as in my opinion it is more suited to couples & older people who want a relaxing quiet getaway in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, it was a true pleasure to host you with us.

We are very pleased to know that our staff and our service & food could satisfy all your wishes.

All of your nice comments are greatly appreciated; once again thank you very much.
We hope to have you back once again in Lanzarote and please let us know about further reservations.

Sunny regards, The Hotel Volcan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,676 reviews
22.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing