We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Pity about the Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Pity about the Food!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a super holiday at the Hotel Volcan, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote.
A large, mostlly luxurious complex with plenty of space, 5 pools, and indoor relaxing areas. Although full during our time there, we always able to find pool side recliners nor wait to be tended to. Low Key non intrusive entertainment in bar area most evenings
Staff were all helpful, polite and friendly. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and our room was luxurious with most extras to be expected in a 5 star estabishment. Good location near to the Marina with shops and bars. Shortish walk along a paved and well lit boulevard takes you to the excellent clean beach and the main part of Playa Blanca.
Sadly, all let down somewhat by the poor quality food. Although an adequate well presented buffet, meals were frequently cold and overprepared, bland and tasteless with little day to day variation. Definitely NOT 5 star!!. Thomas Cook offer their clients 2 dinners per stay in a small choice of restaurants in the Marina as an alternative, but choice is limited to cost. I do not call Pizza and icecream 5 star dining!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View on the 5th or 6 th levels. "Club Voltan" rooms are best and include oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a super time here at the Hotel Volcan, thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent holiday to Lanzarote. Thank you also for your positive comments about our hotel, and we are sorry that the food did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Volcan should you visit Lanzarote again and please feel free to contact us if we can be of any assistance.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,029
    1,131
    368
    83
    37
See reviews for
827
2,277
78
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

So much gets said on here about 5* rating- lets get this straight the rating system in Spain,and for that matter anywhere else is different from the UK.
Being in the tourist trade for over 42 years I spend an average of 220 days a year in Hotels-and know a little about hotels work- but remember at the end of the day a hotel is only bricks and mortar-what really makes a hotel is- the people that run it- I also fully understand for most people staying in a hotel can be a special event and time (I very rarely PAY to stay in a Hotel- its my job)
Now the review- When you walk in to this Hotel from the road- its a little shock really but a nice one- through a Church !....and then into the middle of a Volcano !...a wonderful welcome by the staff at reception called me by my name- and instantly knew I had emailed with a little request and this was done- I was also handed a welcome (very) refreshing drink, and so to the room- very nice-lots of room,well thought out airy and bright- and spotless.
Breakfast - one of the finest breakfasts spreads I have ever seen -I spotted Caviar and bottles of Champagne (well the Spanish version) a wonderful array of foods to suit all tastes and the food hygiene was first class with all member of staff handling foods had funny little(but very effective) clear plastic masks on, superb all round.

The staff to man and woman where fantastic - well done to the hotel for training your staff to this level- everyone from the pool attendants- the porters and reception top class.

Enough has been said about the location- it is a super -if you want lots of pubs close to the hotel- go somewhere else, mostly resteraunts but a 15 minute walk will take you to a local shopping complex with lots of the usual Irish- English bars.

I went for a rest- not a typical tourist I know- but take it from me- its a great hotel.

Only 1 single negative comment -thats why I have marked up the rooms with only 4 out of 5- take note management ! this is 2012 - your TV's come from another time- like the 80's ! and add a DVD player- they cost very very little these days-ithis was the only disappointment - the rest is fantastic.
Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long way from reception - but that suited me for the peace and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jfranktd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Volcan for your holiday to Lanzarote, we are really pleased that you had a relaxing holiday. As a person with many years experience in the tourist trade we really do appreciate your comments here on tripadvisor. We will make sure these are passed on to all our staff, positive feedback is a great motivator and all the staff work really hard to ensure our guests are well looked after. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just had a wonderful week in this hotel, and can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a touch of class which is a lilttle different. The design of the place makes it seem more like a Canarian village than a hotel, complete with a candle lit church for an entrance, which seemed a bizarre idea but was a lovely peaceful space, complete with Gregorian chants and lovely paintings. The volcano shaped reception area seemed like the lair of a Bond villain, and we enjoyed pre dinner drinks there most evenings while trying to use the WiFi to contact our (grown up) children whom we had left behind in rainy cold England (shame on us). The hotel rooms are all reached by walking along paths through lovely gardens - there were quite a few steps so beware if less mobile. The overall ambience is classy and peaceful, so if you're looking for a racous time I should look somewhere else.

We were staying B & B and the breakfast was great - I've put on about a stone so probably just as well we only stayed 8 nights. All sorts of different hot and cold options to choose from as well as lovely fresh fruit which we pilfered for our lunch.

Every staff member was so friendly and welcoming, and could not have been kinder to us - including the cleaners, waiters, receprion, everyone. The pool is huge and a joy to swim in, and when we were there never seemed to get too busy or noisy - I often had it to myself - although the hotel seemed full.

Our room was lovely and made up beautifully every day - with a different style of turn down to our cover each time. Nice touch. We could also see Fuertaventura and the Isla de Lobos from our room - quite breathtaking.

One word of warning - the excursions offered by the Club (where you get your towels) are not the cheapest to use. The short tour we were about to book was on offer from the hotel's own reception for half the price, which is wierd.

If we were going back to Playa Blanca or Lanzarote we would stay here again, but the island is very touristy (obviously for a reason - the weather in November was glorious and warm). I would have loved the surrounding area to show a little more of a real sense of local culture rather then being such a purpose built holiday resort. But all in all, we did have a lovely time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoxyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel Volcan for your recent holiday to Lanzarote. Your review is a very good reflection of our hotel and we thank you for your kind words.
Your positive comments about the service you recieved from all the staff will be passed onto them. As all our staff work really hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible, it is nice to be appreciated, thank you.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in the future, and we look forward to wecoming you back to our hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

On arrival we were met with a nice refreshing cocktail. Checking in was a bit slow( more staff needed). Room was very big and comfortable with a balcony with table and chairs. Breakfast is great. HUGE selection! Great location close to centre of playa blanca and the beaches. Lots of shops and fantastic restaurants nearby also. Would like a better wifi. A lovely hotel will be going back again. Most staff had a reasonable level of English which was great

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review about the Hotel Volcan. We are pleased that we could play a part in making your holiday a very enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Cambs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Joined friends who have visited this hotel several times before. As my title says "perfect bolthole" for peace and quiet. As a single traveller room was large with own sitting area and well maintained throughout my stay.
Breakfast was plentiful lots of choice and we ate in some superb restaurants in the Marina area just a five minute walk away.
If you want lots of nightlife music around the pool and glitzy accommodation dont go to this hotel.
For me it was the perfect unwind from the stresses and strains of everyday life in a beautiful setting with helpful and polite staff.
Perhaps it doesnt rate the top end of a 5 star but neither does the price so perhaps that is something to take into account.
Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann46HuntingdonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good evening dear client,

The Management and all the staff from the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote would like to say thank you for spending your vacation here with us and especially for share your comments here on this page.

Opinions like yours give us the motivation to keep going with our work day by day. We will send your nice words to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back as soon as possible and are on your full disposal for any kind of information you might need.

Kindest regards,
The Management of the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel lobby and reception area is very unusual and has a WOW factor. The rooms are clean and large with a separate sitting area and plenty of wardrobe space. The bathrooms are very clean and well looked after (albeit the shower is over the bath). With a free safe included, there isn't much to moan about - however, the coffee and teas are not replaced and don't last the week even with only one cup a day.

Lanzarote seems to be a much more expensive place to holiday now. We have been several times to the Canaries (including Lanzarote) but not for 10 years or more. We booked bed and breakfast but ate-in 2 evenings - the £20 Euro dinner buffet was excellent (as was the breakfast buffets) and helped save quite a bit. Four of us (all adults) eating at local restaurants were spending 120 to 150 Euros (3 courses). That's for four, not each before you faint.

Drinks are very expensive everywhere - beteen 2.5 and 3 Euros for a small bottle of Pepsi, 3 Euros for less than 1/2 pint of draft Spanish beer etc. You can get a bottle of wine for 12-15 Euros but, almost everywhere, most of the wine list will be at 20 Euros or more. hat said, prices may be a bit lower in the main resort area where most of the 3-star hotels are located.

The hotel is right on the marina with about 8 eateries to choose from - you need to book during the day to be sure of a table that evening because the most popular get busy.

I would strongly advise NOT to use a cafe called MOULIN. Dreadful, absolutely dreadful. Even my dog would refuse what MOULIN serves up as food.

The restaurant Lani's (grills and steaks but a lot more besides) is pretty good and their cocktails are varied and very good and reasonably priced considering you get about a triple spirit. You can have a cocktail without sitting down to eat.

We didn't have a marvellous week weather-wise but it was warm and the sun did show itself here and there. If the sun does come out then there really aren't anywhere near enough sun beds in the hotel. The main pool is very big, fresh water, but cold (not heated). The squash court is out of commission, there is no table tennis and the Spa has the usual rip-off prices you would pay here in the UK. The small gym is reasonably well-equipped.

Car hire (we hired a Terios - rubbish car but good enough for a day out) is reasonably inexpensive (we paid 50 Euros for the day, all-in, with no insurance excess).

So, overall, a nice hotel, quite nicely positioned away from the main town (which is within a 20 minute walking distance). That said, there seems to be very little night life (pub-type entertainment, karaoke, piano bars) - just restaurants. I seem to remember that Puerto Carmen was much livelier but still without being infested with lager louts
and other undesirables (that assertion may have changed over the past 10 years - don't know).

If you have already booked then don't worry. If you haven't booked then you might look at Puerto Carmen which is much closer to the Airport and might be a little livelier.

Room Tip: You need 4th floor to get a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandJennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear clients,

First of all we would like to thank you for your opinion and your comments here on this side. We are sure that your opinion will be really helpful for other clients.

We also would like to thank you for spending your holidays here with us and for your nice words about the hotel, especially about the situation of the hotel, the cleaning and the buffet in our restaurant. We will send your commentaries to our involved departments.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again and do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

All the Volcan Team sends you the best wishes and some sunny regards,

The Management of the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

WE havce stayed at this hotel for the first time and what a lovely experience it was.We were in the part no children under 12 years were allowd and it was absolute bliss. We had our own sunbathing area/own swimming pool/own breakfast restaurant/tea or coffee plus cakes in the afternoon and pre-dinner drinks and also a free newspaper, not forgetting the absolute beautiful room. If you want to be pampered, go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,

The Management and all the staff of the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote would like to say thank you for your nice words about our Hotel especially about the Club Volcán area.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here with us and it makes us happy to know that we could be a part of your holiday memories.

The satisfactions of our clients are important for us to keep going with our work day by day.

Once again we would like to thank you for your opinion and please do not hesitate for any kind of information you might need in the future.

We send you our best wishes,

The Direction of the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,561 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing