We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet relaxing clean and good service wish i was still there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“quiet relaxing clean and good service wish i was still there!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

stayed in volcan standard double room for 1 week bed and breakfast only.Had a great time lovely setting,very quiet ,no loud pool music or bar music.Rooms very clean the bed was massive ,air conditioning good(free).Free towels even if you were going to the beach.Felt very safe and secure.Staff were friendly everywhere.Great choice for breakfast.Only used the pool a few times but it was nice.Slept very well curtains have extra lining so room is nice and dark. There is also activities laid on like a spanish lesson or a zumba class.Even if you don't like architecture it is a hotel with a difference fantastic lobby.It also seemed that fellow guests were happy to.If leaving late than your luggage is kept safe and you still have access to the pool etc.It is a place for relaxtion and romance and we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddytulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,174
    384
    85
    38
See reviews for
871
2,357
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed here with my wife for a week on a half board basis. Basically, this hotel is a crazy design and isn't people friendly. However, the basic rooms are a very good size with large safes and the hotel is very quiet. It took 5 days to discover the very well hidden pub and it basically is designed to send you through the back gate to the beautiful Rubicon Marina. The buffet meal is of a very average standard and the hotel is under staffed.

However, it is perfectly placed for the the noisy Playa Blanca centre to the west, the Marina a 100 metres away and to the east the beautiful beaches of Papagayo. I would return but only on a B & B basis. If you treat this hotel as a up market apartment you won't be disappointed. The Rubicon Marina is full of beautiful restaurants and bars, which are better places to eat an evening meal. I didn't try Club Volcan, but the main area of the hotel doesn't confluence people that often happens in most hotels. The pool bar at the main swimming pool was permanently closed and no one came round the pool to take orders for drinks from the up stairs bar/cafe. It was not 5 star service in the main areas.

Tips:-

Don't unless you are not bothered about food or have a family budget to keep do the evening meal. Just eat in the Marina. Its not that expensive and with the heat you don't need to eat a lot. The ambience at some of them is lovely.

There are plenty of Sports Bars on the front of Playa Blanca centre. The Harp, Jungle etc

The Yaiza Hotel has a Jazz Night Club ( through the gates and turn right to the front of the Ice Cream Parlour). The Club is gorgeous inside and the seats are some of most comfortable you could wish for. It is mainly frequented by Spanish people. Access is free and starts about 10.30pm. The night I went was a variety of Spanish Jazz Guitar music but they have sax etc on other nights. Drinks are not that different to any of the Marina Bars.

To reach Papagayo beaches go through front of hotel and turn right to the promenade, so that you avoid the steps on the promenade at the Marina. When you reach the Papagayo hotel complexes circumnavigate round the back of them till you come to the end. Cross onto the volcanic area and then turn through the aisle of volcanic rocks on your left, 50 metres before the Beach sign, which is half destroyed by weather. After you walk a few hundred yards you see 2 posts 100 metres apart. At the first post turn seawards. This is the best route down to the first large beach. It takes about 40 minutes to reach the far end of the first large sandy beach beyond the hotels of Papagayo.

There is a Segway Tour at the Papagayo complex that do the paths and beaches of Papagayo. It looked fun for the young people. Don't kno wthe prices.

The water in the sea at this time of the year was warm.

There are no mosquitoes or wasps here. Hooray!!!

Room Tip: 117 was very quiet and overlooked the pool and was on the same level as the restaurant and the gate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our suite in the Club Volcan exclusive area was lovely. Well situated with views over the swimming pool & sea. The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Our Canarian style suite was thoroughly cleaned every day replacing all towels. The breakfast in Club Volcan was really good with excellent service and the poolside area with balinese sunbeds was lovely.
The main thing that lets this hotel down is the evening meal option. There is only one buffet option, which is like a service station cafe, not a 5 star restaurant and there is no other choice as led to believe. If you like cheap and cheerful and don't really care about eating somewhere nice then this will be fine but if you don't, then book a different hotel. The onsite Japanese restaurant is expensive, greasy and below standard.
We had booked half board but ate elsewhere in the evenings at our own cost. The best restaurant we found was La Cochina De Colacho, open only at weekends.
If I had to stay at the main part of the hotel and not Club Volcan, I would have asked for a refund as it is not a 5 star hotel.
Playa Blanca is a lovely area, clean and well maintained with a marina and nearby beaches but if you prefer some nightlife then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Club Volcan suite is large and has a separate walk in shower, Bvlgari toiletries, water and chocolat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed at the Volcan for 10nts at the end September on a b&b basis. The Volcan is stated as a 5* hotel but this may have been in years past, although it has tried to keep its traditional canarian charm, the lack of new areas and the wear and tear over the years is now showing (esp round the main pools and access areas). Although we had a great stay and I would revisit, there are things that I expect in a 5* hotel which sadly this hotel is lacking. Although the service and experience is relatively good (take note Tenerife Sheraton) it is lacking in many areas such as entertainment, facilities, large heated pools and all the other things that modern 5* provide as standard.

The Volcan is located in the Marina area with restaurants and a couple of bars nearby. The location is fab right on the marina and only a 25min walk into Playa Blanca or 3e taxi. On arrival pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to “Club” room. This gives you a room in a separate part of the hotel with access to private dining room and sundeck area with plunge pool. The sundeck area has plenty of loungers, canopy beds, jacuzzis and small plunge pool. It also has fabulous views of the straits between Lanzarote and Fuertevnetura where you can watch the yachts and ferries from dawn/dusk. The rooms are good standard size with two beds put together, with a separate sitting area comprising of settee and two chairs. The bathrooms are decent sized with standard fittings, nothing exceptional, and a separate w.c. The only difference between this room and std is for few goodies such as robes and toiletries and possibly slightly larger?. The main advantage of Club with the above is the private dining room for breakfast and afternoon teas/coffees with cakes, then followed by a courtesy bar between 6 and 9pm. All club guests definitely take advantage of this freebie and why not! Great place to meet people and discuss evening events.

In summary had a really great and chilled out holiday, met some new and now dear friends and ate at some fine restaurants. One not to be missed is La Cochina De Colacho, probably the best restaurant in Playa Blanca, if not the whole island and only a short walk from the hotel. You will not be disappointed, but beware its only open Friday/Saturday which was my only disappointment. The food is fab.

Would I recommend the Volcan? Yes and No. The Club gives you more options and a better standard of stay but it will cost. Sadly the wear and tear and lack of amenities and evening entertainment then bring better 5* hotels we have stayed in comparison and they win hands down. This is a nice hotel without the wow factor that on a holiday you do want and look out for. If I was honest this is more a 4* hotel that really needs to improve esp the large pool areas, loungers and night time entertainment instead of closing shop at midnight.

Room Tip: The Club option is recommended esp if you can get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at this fabulous hotel in Lanzarote, we were late arriving due to the flight so we missed the evening meal but the hotel had arranged for a buffet type meal to be delivered to the room on arrival, so that was a good start.
The room was emaculately clean, bedding and towels changed every day, the food was excellent, we were half board lots of variety every day.
The grounds were emmaculately clean and tidy, if i had one little moan it would have to be the pool's were cold, but once in very nice and refreshing.
As other people have stated this hotel is right next to the Marina which is lovely with plenty of bars and restaraunts some with entertainment and only a 15 minute walk along the front into Playa Blanca which was very pleasant.
The beds were abit firm but I find this with most European Hotels now a days not really a problem though.
I would definatley recommend this hotel, but probably mainly for couples rather than families with children over 12 years old.

Room Tip: I would think 95% of the rooms would be excellent some did have restricted views due to the landscap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from the Volcan Hotel. Check-in was quick and painless with 3 staff working. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the club suites which made all the difference. The hotel has a gated area within its grounds for the Volcan Club guests (staff call it the VIP area) it is for adults only, has a lovely large decking area with a swim up bar, pool, 2 Jacuzzis, enough new sun loungers, 10 large sun beds (big enough for 2). inside is a business room with a PC, free underground car park, breakfast is served in good restaurant where they will cook to order or help yourself to the usual choices. There is free wifi throughout, however they still use CRT TVs in the rooms.
The rooms were cleaned well every day with the towels replaced at the same time. All the staff were helpful at all times. A light bulb went in the bathroom which I reported on my way out, it was replaced by the time we returned 2 hours later.
This is a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpatmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Have just returned from a weeks stay and I have to say I was very disappointed.
The hotel is supposed to be five star? I would say a modest 4 star at best. The swimming pool had a large section of filter missing and was very dirty. The Sun loungers were always covered with a towel and half of them were broken. The restaurant food was bland, only the buffet restaurant was open even though we were told by our travel agent that there was four restaurants to choose from!!
The staff are a credit to themselves as they could not do enough for you but I think they a flogging a dead horse as the hotel is in need of some investment!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aserty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Good afternoon,
First of all, we would like to thank you for having spent your valuable time on publishing your impressions about our Hotel.
Opinions like yours help us to improve our day to day efforts to offer better service.
Regarding your comments about our facilities, we would like to confirm you that we have analyzed all of your comments and we are taking the opportune measures.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you.
Receive our best regards.
Hotel Volcán Lanzarote Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,689 reviews
22.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing