We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Canarian food, lacking atmosphere”

El Mano Casa de Comidas
Ranked #75 of 198 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Canarian food, lacking atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having given up the All-Inclusive meals at our hotel we tried various resteraunts in Playa Blanca and found this one did really good local food, but it just felt very sterile and overly formal which meant very little atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 74Tabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    195
    101
    51
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This restaurant has been on and off over the years. This year it was disappointing so we only went once. Welcome was muted and the waitress not overly friendly. The food was average and exactly the same as every other year. It needs a revamp.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Canarian Food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I liked this place a lot and visited twice. The baby squid and chorizo starter was cooked superbly - best squid I've ever tasted. Mainly good traditional Canarian and Spanish dishes - simple but very well done. Staff not full of warmth - if they'd been friendlier would have been a 5 star review.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing atmosphere, with pleasant view”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate here twice during our holiday, so we clearly voted with our feet by coming back. I've seen some reviews (since), where the scallop starter hasn't scored too well. So I was lucky that although the scallop starter sounded interesting I never picked it. I chose the asparagus, mushroom and scrambled egg, and loved it. Stroganoff for the mains, very nice. Now interestingly we have been to El Mano before and found the dessert to be, well, not too special. So we didn't order dessert this holiday, and went for starters and mains both times. The service was good, and the whole experience was peaceful and relaxed. Prices, yes you do pay more here, but for a bit of a treat when you just want to know the food will be good, the view nice and the ambience just right why not. We left smiling, which is priceless.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speedking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
146 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fabulous food, great value for money and excellent service. What more could you ask for-an extensive and well stocked wine list too!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mano Casa de Comidas also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Teguise, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to El Mano Casa de Comidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing