We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cod and chips at its best in the sun.”
Review of Plaice in the Sun

Plaice in the Sun
Ranked #10 of 205 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Award winning fish and chips, voted the best in the Canary Islands. Don't settle for less. If your fed up with eating frozen French fries, come in and try our home made chips, Just like back home. Open 12.00 until 10pm Tuesday to Sunday (CLOSED MONDAYS)
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cod and chips at its best in the sun.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just spent 3weeks in Playa Blanca and visited 3 times and every time was excellent . Geoff is very hospitable, the fish was real cod and the batter was great and the chips were to die for. Well worth a visit, we shall definitely visit again next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    117
    40
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the right plaice in the sun”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

a small but select fish and chip shop, what lovely battered cod and the chips are to die for, anyone who says they are frozen chips has no palate at all, friendly people make you welcome, really enjoyable comfortable place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beryl andrews a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Probably the best fish and chips ever!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here early afternoon and timed it right-not too busy,we both had cod and chips freshly cooked and it was delicious!The batter was light and golden and the home made chips just crispy enough and we both agreed it was without doubt the best we had ever tasted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangynidr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality fish and chips.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After coming to Playa Blanca now for many years and holidaying for the winter months our first call is to see Geof and Mandy and what a sigh of relief to see there smile and welcome to know that they are still doing what they do best. The fish and chips are always cooked to order the batter is so light it almosts melts in your mouth have never tasted anything like it, I had fish chips and curry sauce, and my husband"s fish and mushy peas,very tasty. Can·t wait till the next visit 2014 Evelyn and Eddie (wales)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evelynandeddie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England's Hidden Secret
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real Yorkshire welcome”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A welcome haven from the wind & rain on arrival in Playa Blanca. Our disappointment was forgotten as soon as we were welcomed into this cosy care. The food is first class..cod, chips mushy peas & gin & tonic was fantastic. Reserved tables seemed strange in a simple care but as the evening wore on it WA understandable that this is a very popular plaice! Well done guys! You have a formula for food & service that works. Looking forward to our return visit soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaice in the Sun also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Plaice in the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing