We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Likeable, but nothing special.”

Trattoria il Commendatore
Ranked #29 of 197 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Likeable, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've been here a few times as we are frequent visitors to the island.

The food during my experience has been nice, but not amazing. The atmosphere, decor and overall feel of the place is very luxurious and original - especially the see through floor out on the balcony - and the waiters have always been courteous.

Service however can be a little slow and when I visited it was busy so we had to sit inside and I became stifling hot, not attractive when dining! (They should invest in air con with those prices.)

Although not a rip off the place is on the upper end of decent and the dishes do sound quite complicated. There are much better places in Playa Blanca and the marina itself, but they do serve nice pasta and pizza so please don't be off put! That's the problem with giving a 3* ... you're a little in the middle! ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    175
    66
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great food, fantastic views, Great value for money. Kids well catered for. Only down side we found this holiday was that if you turned up you usually had to sit inside. Easily resolved though we just calle din the day before and reserved a outdoor table.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank clare7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistent high standard of food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful location on the waterfront in Marina Rubicon. Nicely spaced tables in subdued lighting, many tables right by the water on a jetty styled balcony. This restaurant consistently serves good quality food, attentive service without being over fussy and the best sangria.... We visit Playa Blanca several times a year and visit Il Commendatore at least twice each time. Never disappointed and have already booked our table for Christmas day ! EXCELLENT

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 211sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited twice on our holiday as the pasta and pizza dishes were good and the view of the marina stunning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We dined here twice last month and thoroughly enjoyed both evenings. The food was fantastic and, despite slightly tatty tablecloths, it really felt like we were at a proper restaurant rather than just a tourist eatery.
Great service and quite reasonably priced for the Marina.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xoJULESox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria il Commendatore also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Trattoria il Commendatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing