We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this bar”
Review of Meson La Taberna

Meson La Taberna
Ranked #57 of 198 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London
Level Contributor
220 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“I love this bar”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We always come back here for lunch when in Playa Blanca and it never fails to delight. It has a great location overlooking the marina and the staff are always friendly. I've never had a bad meal either. The grilled squid was perfect and the garlic chicken was - well very garlicky! Would recommend for a reasonable lunch with a good view.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    88
    25
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best tapas in Lanzarote”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stopped of at lunchtime as we fancied tapas for lunch. The man waiter who seated us was lovely, chatty, smiley and polite. The older lady who took or order and served us was miserable and looked unhappy.
I asked for chorizo and was pointed to the Argentinian sausage on the menu which we ordered. It smelt like old donkey and tasted like it too. The other green peppers were ok and that was about it.
Maybe we chose wrongly, but wish we had eaten somewhere else for £40 Euros.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Would stick with cold tapas”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We ordered a mix of tapas. Serrano ham and mixed cheeses were big portions and tasty, bread with tomato and octopus so so, tuna a la Portugues was the worst thing in my opinion (I don't know the original recipe): a slice of uncooked tuna completely covered by a yellow sauce with green bits which seemed to have come out of a can. Didn't see any healthy options for kids. Service attentive as in all the other restaurants we tried in Lanzarote.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurotourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on a sunny afternoon and managed to get a great seat overlooking the port. The food was nice...especially the bread, meatballs and canarian potatoes but the portions were massive! The service was really good too. If I had to criticise it would be that the anchovies were salty! Can imagine the restaurant gets busy in summer. Make sure you visit even if just for the view, a cold beer and a small plate.

Helpful?
Thank KBalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and good location”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We've been here a few times over the past 4 years and always come away feeling like we've had good food and good service. Portions are larger than average and quality above average for Playa Blanca. Would recommend for a good lunch spot.

Helpful?
Thank BPGandMCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson La Taberna also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Meson La Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing