We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Great World Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Great World Chinese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This chinese restaurant is in a great location but is really nothing special.Service is fast--probably too fast,and the food is average with no outstanding dishes.
Best feature is the view across the harbour

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Oriental Delight”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent very reasonably priced Chinese and Cantonese food. Sizzling platters very good value, particuklarly sizzling chicken and prawns at 6 Euros 75. Nice view of sea and harbour area. Very friendly owners and staff. If tyhey are not too busy, one of the hosts will treat you to a private performance of professional standard magic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice enough! More good than average.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had the banquet and it was very enjoyable with lots of food. The sangria was dreadful but I guess the chinese are not known for their sangria! Service was good if a little standoffish. The strangest thing was at the end of the meal when the poured us some shots into glasses that had naked pictures at the bottom. I found this really wierd and kind of creepy in a food place but hubbie says thats just me being odd! It did however really put me off and I would not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great menu. Fantastic service including magic performed for your children at the table.And the food is delicious

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“best chinese in Playa Blanca”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we have been to a fair few Chinese restaurants in the area and we came here on recommendation after a bad experience elsewhere. It is on the seafront (about half way along) and the food is served up politely, extremely clean and very tasty. We would always return here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great World Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing