We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat before you go !”
Review of China City Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

China City Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
scotland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't eat before you go !”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were here last night. Situated by the water, great views, nice ambiance. You can sit in or out. It was busy but we got a table.
We had the banquet for 4.........wow !
Starters ribs, chick satay, prawn toast, prawn crackers. Then crispy duck course. Then mains, sweet &sour chick, beef with black bean sauce, chick curry, Chinese city prawn dish and of course rice. The curry was particularly nice as was the duck in my opinion.
I cannot complain about any one of these dishes apart from the portion size....none of us could finish. They were flavoursome, very well cooked, aromatic, not greasy, nice veg and all for 11euros per person. We were also given a free drink at the end.
The service was excellent, the establishment very clean, toilets sparkling ! All good news. Our particular waiter was very nice with a good sense of humour.
The wine was extremely palatable and very reasonable (take note rip off Britain )
I don't think anyone would be disappointed here, well cooked food, great value for money.
Good job china city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ges000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best Chinese I've ever had”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The food at this place was quality. We had the set menu between 3 of us and all the courses were superb. Spring rolls and prawn toast to start, then duck with pancakes and finally sweet and sour and black bean dishes etc. Everything was very fresh and tasty. Service was very nice and good too. Free shots with the bill too that came in some comedy glasses as well. A must try if you fancy a Chinese away from home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbloke2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect meal, excellent service and absolute value for money”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I can highly recommend everything about this restaurant, the staff are so friendly, pleasant and attentive and the food is exceptional and very reasonably priced, they actually gave my wife and I a beautiful calendar as we were leaving so I have recipricated by sending them one of Yorkshire. Really pleasant evening, thoroughly enjoyable and would definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dreadful food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a takeaway from this restaurant. The vegetables were covered in batter and hardly any of them. The Spare ribs were dreadful - very little meat and covered in an artificial sauce. When we picked up the takeaway I was put off by the few people who were eating at the restaurant. I definitely would not visit this place again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
281 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great value and superb meal”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Didn't believe that a Chinese restaurant in the Canaries could be as good as at home taking into consideration the difficulties getting the ingredients but China City proved it can. The excellent 11.50 euro menu pretty much allowed you to choose what you want so fussy daughter very happy as her favourite cripsy chicken with chilli was on the menu. Service efficient and nothing too much trouble. Can't fault it at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China City Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing