We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value no frills holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIK Club Coral Beach
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Hull, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value no frills holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Coral Beach from 29 June to 8 July, 2010. Overall we enjoyed the holiday, and would recommend the Coral Beach to anyone wanting a good value holiday, without too many frills.

We were on the all inclusive option, and were well satisfied with the quality of the food, and although the alcoholic drinks are not UK brands they are hard to distinguish and are very enjoyable.
I agree with previous comments about the absence of a bar with a nice (indoor) seating area, and it would probably be easy enough to link the indoor bat to the reception by a conservatory-type structure to create one.

One of the main plus points of the resort is the enthusiasm of its fantastic staff. It is probably unfair to single any for special comment, but Pancho and Carol in Reception get a mention for their willingness to go the extra mile to ensure that guests get the most out of their holiday experience. All the staff in the dining room do an excellent job, as do the cleaners, gardeners and maintenance staff. We have stayed in 5-star resorts in Turkey, Egypt, and Tunisia and would say that the staff at Coral Beach are the best we have come across.

Another good feature is the size of the guest accommodation, which is in the style of 2-bed roomed semi-detached bungalows, with a large bathroom, kitchen, and lounge area. The downside is that walls dividing the bungalows are not soundproofed and there are few soft furnishings to absorb noise, so you can hear conversations (and anything else!) in the adjoining bungalows . We were lucky to have very good neighbours, and if the two ladies who occupied number 7 whilst we were in number 8 are reading this - thanks for your consideration.

The resort is in a quiet area which has both advantages and disadvantages. The advantage is that there is no disturbance from bars etc, but there is little in the way of evening entertainment. The two members of the animation team do a good job for the children, but their efforts for the adults are confined to quizzes and competitions which gets a bit boring. We did however, have quite a good singer on the Sunday evening which was the only opportunity for a bit of a dance - a big hello to our fellow dancers from Poole - and more of this type of entertainment or Karaoke or similar should be introduced. A word of warning though about the weather - all the entertainment is outside and whilst we were there it was quite cool in the evenings so you need something warm to wear.

The free shuttle bus into Play Blanca goes and collects twice a day, and the drivers were punctual, friendly and courteous, but the last collection from Playa Blanca is at 5.00pm. I thought Playa Blanca was an attractive town, but looked a bit untidy - the garden areas are not well-maintained, and the dead leaves etc are not cleared up.

There is a lot more freedom at the Coral Beach for the guests to serve themselves with drinks as well as food than there is at most all-inclusive hotels, which is welcome in most respects, but the management should get to grips with children getting themselves alcohol, and in some cases being served alcohol in the dining room bar (since some parents seem to think it is OK). They should also ban all swimwear from the dining room bar and the dining room itself. Having to watch overweight men in budgie smuggler speedos spoils my appetite. They should also ban naked children from all areas!

Finally if you get the chance to go on a free “blanket tour” do not worry about being subject to a hard sell - it is a good way to see some of the island without hiring a car and at the end of it you just have to sit through a short(ish) presentation about bedding which is quite entertaining. We went to Famara which is a traditional village that we probably would not have thought of going to when we did hire a car. For anyone who does hire a car the cactus garden and Manrique’s house were very interesting, but the Caves of Lagomar (Omar Sharif’s house) was not worth the admission charge.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    429
    241
    93
    66
See reviews for
424
480
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

I have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday with my wife and 3 year old daughter.
If you are looking for a lively hotel in the centre of a resort then this is not for you, but what is does offer is a good base with staff who can't do enough for you.
The food choice was perhaps limited but always of a good standard, and we are generally not fans of all inclusive so it must have been good. The accommodation was perfect, spacious, clean, minimalistic and fresh. We did not walk to any of the nearby amenities as we had a car so could not comment on that area. Entertainment was not fantastic but due to the size of complex we all enjoyed each others company and had enjoyable evenings.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berty40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

*villas are fantastic
* hotel very clean
* food was disgusting, beyond imagination, ruined the holiday, had to eat out
* location terrible
* hotel was empty
* no entertainment after 11, no music etc,
* no bar to sit in after 12 as bar was closed
* cleaning inadequate,floor not brushed in week
* most boring holiday ever

do not stay here if you enjoy good food and drink and have a pulse!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

southern UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Coral Beach villas are lovely, welcoming and absolutely spotless - the only downside is that the location is quite far away from the centre of the town but there are shops within easy walking distance. However, we rented a car and had a fabulous time exploring the whole island. The villas are new and although not palatial they are spotless and comfy - very well laid out so that you can feel very private. The food was very good - not gourmet but always fresh and plenty of variety - the picnic lunch however wasn't so good but at least there was the option if you needed it.
The girls running the animation team were excellent, and the live music night was very good. The one thing we all felt the complex lacked was a bar where adults could sit and relax in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningnotpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The actual hotel is fine. Villas are basic but clean and that is where it ends.

This side of the island is very windy an you really did get buffetted by the wind. In fact after day 2 we bought a lilo each and laid on them outside our villa as the veranda was protected by a low wall. The pool was absolutely freezing.

The food was terrible. I can't understand people saying it was good, what do they eat at home? Certainly not home cooked meals. Come on .. a hotel that serves chips for breakfast is seriously lacking in imagination. The same dishes were brought out at least every twice out of every four meals. There was very little choice and I would hope this was simply because the hotel was quite empty and they just hadn't got the balance of the food yet rather than thinking it will always be like that.

The drinks are not branded names. Do not be fooled! They have all the branded names out front and then give you their local substitute. Having said that the local equivalent of my drink was lovely and with a mixer you would not have known any difference.

The rooms only get done 5 days out of seven which is the first hotel that I have known not to clean every day. You can also hear the entertainment from your villa but it does not seem to go on too late. Beware if you have young children and they are light sleepers.

I would not recommend that anyone goes with children above about six as there is little for them to do.

It is a shame this is so cold and windy as in the right location with decent food it would be ok. However value for money I think Tenerife is a better option.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsk125London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I'm not sure I can add much to the previous reviewers.

The only slight irritations are that the maid service is not every day (and they don't tell you which days it's not), the only staffed bar is in the restaurant so the night time seating etc doesn't have nuch character and it's a long way from anywhere.

Having said that, the upside was very few guests (on one nice day there were 6 of us around the pool!), lovely villas, great entertainment from both the animation team and the duo that visit weekly, varied and good food and friendly staff.

Hire a car, make your bed every day and just enjoy the evening entertainment so the niggles don't matter!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swivellingmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel not on the beach. Middle of no where car hire a must food boring and cold. Who reccomends this hotel must like boring holidays.Don't go There please......................

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metin1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
3.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#16 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Club Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Club Coral Beach

Property: VIK Club Coral Beach
Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Club Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Club Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Club Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing