We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled and Relaxed”
Review of VIK Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Coral Beach
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We looked into this hotel before booking it and knew we were going to be over an hours walk from the town.

What we were looking for was somewhere we could just relax and just do nothing. And that is exactly what happened.

We found the staff very helpful and the food very acceptable.

We found the staff have gone beyond helpful, especially when we got home and realised I had left my coat behind in reception. When we emailed them, they contacted us back to say they had the coat and would arrange for it to be sent back to us. Currently, we are still working out the money for postage, but I am 100% sure I will see my coat again.

Thank you all very much for a wonderful relaxing week we spent with you.

Marie and Clive

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliveH301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr. CliveH,

We are glad to hear about your satisfactory stay at our hotel again. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
The type of Villas we offer is exactly what you have written about us, a place to be relaxed and in a privileged situation.
For us is very important the personal contact of our staff and we are glad to hear about the excellent treatment you received.
We guarantee you will have your coat back as soon as possible.

We believe your next stay with us will be as good as the last one. May you require anything to have an enjoyable time with us at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have just returned as part of a party of 6 all in all were very happy with our holiday, considering the price we paid we felt it represented very good value for money.
For us the location of the hotel was not a problem, its a 45 min walk to the resort or a 5 euro taxi ride and there is a free shuttle bus couple of days a week. To me this place seemed like it used to a 4 star and is now closer to 3 star but i do think they are priced to reflect that.
The breakfast was good, lunch was a bit hit and miss would have liked more cold meat selection. The dinner was pretty good i have had better have also had worse for sure.
i would have liked some more english channels other than news on the tv especially as evening entertainment was not the best despite the ladys best efforts the same woman also ran the kids club and day time activities.The staff were friendly and helpful. I found wifi expensive don't think you should have to pay for wifi when you are all inclusive either hopefully the management will change that.The bed linen uncovered duvet between two sheets never seen that, not pleasant please get proper duvet cover or dont bother at all.

In general would recommend hotel but its not luxury and not 4 star by uk standards but then thats always when you go to spain

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgp1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Mr. dgp,

We are glad to hear about your satisfactory stay at our hotel again. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
As you mencioned, we are a 3 stars hotel and we are able to give the best services as possible for a reasonable price. We are trying to improve our facilities everyday and we will study the option about the Wi-fi.

We believe your next stay with us will be flawless, may you require anything to have an enjoyable time in Vik Club Coral Beach , we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Yes the location is remote but research would show you that and we wanted a relaxing peaceful break, although I appreciate if the weather was a bit iffy there is not a lot to do, Shuttle does go to Playa Blanca a few times a week and it is only a short taxi ride.
The complex is quite small, we did not want to go to a big hotel, but well laid out and the bungalows are spacious. The second bedroom is a real bonus with kids (no one having to sleep on a sofa bed as in a lot of hotels) Pool area is good and there were always sunbeds available. The food while not gourmet style was sufficient if you are not a fussy eater, the wine and other drinks on offer fine. We found the staff very hard working and friendly always greeting you with a smile and a cheery 'hola' and as most mention Steffi is brilliant especially with the kids.
The bar area in the evening is small and used for kids entertainment up to 9.30-10. Most people seem to take drinks back to their bungalows/patios.
The thing that would make a big difference to the Club Coral Beach would be if they made the Chill Out Bar area part of the all inclusive (even if for only age 14 and over) it would give you an option to go somewhere in the afternoon, early evening or after eating while the kids are in the other bar, without having to pay extra for drinks after you have paid for an all inclusive holiday. It really would make all the difference in my opinion.
We would go back but probably as part of a larger group to keep ourselves entertained in the evening, especially if they sorted that Chill Out area as you are not exactly spoilt for choice during the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Mark G,

We are glad to hear about your satisfactory stay at our hotel again. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
We thank you for the proposal about the Chill Out Area, we have just open this part of the hotel and we are trying to find the most comfortable way to give the service for our clients. For us is very important the personal treatment of our staff and we are glad to hear about the excellent treatment you received.

We believe your next stay with us will be as good as the last ones, or even better. May you require anything to have an enjoyable time with us at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

After looking at the Cosmos brochure, and researching on line, we had booked the Vik Club to celebrate a special birthday. We had 2 friends coming with us, and had booked, and paid for, 2 separate villas on an All Inclusive basis. After reading about others experiences concerning over-booking, we had emailed twice, and faxed but had no reply to any.
It was with some trepidation that we arrived at the Vik Club to be told that they had put the 4 of us in just one villa. After standing our ground, and showing "annoyance" (together with the original invoice) we managed to get what we had paid for. I will say though, that we did receive an apology and an upgrade to a "Premium" villa. The only difference to a standard villa that I could see was that we had a day bed.
I feel that they tried to get away with being able to let another villa at our expense.
So, with that problem resolved, we got on with our holiday.
All was well until Monday the 11th when, after dinner my wife was literally chased out of the restaurant by what I will call an "enforcer" of a waitress - called Michel. She accused my wife of getting drinks for other guests who were not All Inclusive. In spite of my wife's protests, Michel was not having any of it - eventually reducing my wife to tears. We asked to speak to a manager, only to be told that there was no manager on site. we did not receive an apology, and decided to take it up with management the next day - which we did. Once again we were told that there was no manager on site - unbelievable !! That evening, Michel would not clear our table - we had to move our plates to another table before she took them away.
We were due to leave on Thursday 14th so, on Wednesday, we once again asked for a manager. This time, we spoke to Felipe who told us that it was his second week in the job. He was very apologetic about the incident. We told him that all we wanted was an apology from Michel. This was still not forthcoming - and that was the way it stayed until we left.
As for the rest of our holiday - the food was just ok, sometimes cold. The villa was "shabby", with paint peeling off and falling onto the patio. There were 2 broken chairs. I was told that they had run out of Brandy, and that if I wanted a vodka and orange, I would have to PAY 3 Euros for the orange juice !! We also heard of non-all inclusive guests having to pay for water at meal times !
All in all, we feel that Michel should have been reprimanded for her actions, and that she, in no way, should have any contact with customers. As for management, I find it unbelievable that there was none on site after 4pm, and that we got the impression that everybody was trying to sweep the problem under the carpet in the hope that it would just go away.
As for other staff, Raul was good, Laura was extremely hard working (more so than Michel), and Felipe did his best under the circumstances.
We will NEVER return to ANY Vik Club resort, and I just hope that Cosmos remove this from any future brochure

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Alan G,

We are sorry to hear about a discomfort during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
First of all we would like to apologize again about the incidents in the restaurant and we are sure that after the personal apology of our staff, the situation turned into a better one.

The manager of the hotel was anytime available to contact to you, but it could be probably a misunderstood between you and the staff you speaked with, because I was open to take care about the incidents and find the best solution for it.

We believe your next stay with us will be flawless, may you require anything to have an enjoyable time at any of our VIK Hotels, we will be happily at your service.
With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the VIK Coral Beach. The lay out of the villas on the site is good. The villas are spacious with a large lounge area, two good sized bedrooms, a functional bathroom and a reasonably well equipped kitchen for those taking the self catering option. The décor in our villa was clean and bright although the furniture coverings on the sofa and chairs were worn and in need of a good spring clean and update. The bed in the master room was large and relatively comfortable. The TV was small in comparison to the size of the room and the only English speaking channels were three World news channels and Discovery Max.

The food was ok, nothing more nothing less. There was not a great deal of variety and to be honest at most meals the food was only luke warm and the staff were quite slow at replenishing the dishes that had been emptied. In fact if you didn’t go until after 8:15 the dishes didn’t get replenished at all and so that made the meagre choices even more limited.

The main thing for us though was the location of the accommodation. It is called ‘Coral Beach’ and so it is quite reasonable from the name to expect there to be a beach close by. WRONG> It is so far away from anywhere else it is ridiculous, it sits on top of a very craggy and rocky coastline with the sea at the bottom of the rocks inaccessible to anyone unless they have a severely adventurous spirit, and the nearest beach of any type is located a good 40 minutes walk away. There isn’t even a local bus route to the place. The views however from the rock tops are stunning and they have created what they call a ‘Chill Out Area’ overlooking the sea. This is very restful with laid back music playing in a Zen like atmosphere but here you have to pay for drinks, tea and coffee included as it does not form part of the all inclusive package.

The entertainment at night is very basic and takes place in a room called ‘The Hits’ which will only hold about 40 people max. The entertainment over the week comprised of a film quiz, a reptile show, a belly dance show and bingo on the Sunday. These all lasted for approx. 30 – 40 minutes and were followed every night for the rest of the time open (all inclusive finishes at 23:00) by music videos being beamed onto the far wall, same video’s every night!!! The one bright point of this entertainment was the one and only entertainer (I think her name was Steffi), who was full of energy and enthusiasm and it was she who made the quiz so funny and who did the belly dancing. She is actually brilliant and deserves great credit for keeping it going. She is so bubbly. Whatever they pay her it isn’t enough.

There is a supermarket and some bars and restaurants fairly close by but these are only accessible by either walking around the desolate pathways, lit by street lamps at night, (and this takes a good 20 minutes), or by walking across a very rugged, rocky and unlit terrain diagonally opposite the Coral Beach (don’t be fooled by the tarmac pathway it ends after 30 yards), attempting to avoid the rocks and dog faeces which is unseen in the dark. This route however takes only around 5 minutes.

If we hadn’t decided to hire a car for four days we would have gone insane with having nothing to do so far from anywhere else. The weather was cloudy and windy therefore not good enough to sunbathe or to go into the pool for too long so unless you wanted to stay inside the villa all day or sit on their shaded balconies boredom soon set in.

If you really want to get away from it all with little to do and nowhere to go nearby and are happy with your own company then this is the place for you, if you want a little variety then avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Trevor H,

We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention and we are glad to know about your positive experiences with us.
Our staff is improving everyday for a better service in the future. About the location of the hotel, it is thought for a relaxing experience without any loudness or discomfort from any other locals in the arounds, so this is the reason why it is away of the centre of the town.

We believe your next stay with us will be flawless, may you require anything to have an enjoyable time at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned from coral beach after 10 days.we have walking difficulties andit is a 15min walk to shops.we had to get taxis every day 5to6 euros each way to playa blanca which I would liked to have stayed to be central to shops taxis etc.
Bungalows are lovely spotless with own little garden and ours was in a lovely position.
Reception area dark and dingy couldnt see the info or read a book etc.
Staff were lovely except for dining room hed waitress .
we were half board and we had made friend with ome all inclusive guests who were accused of giving us drinks from bar free and were chased out of dining room by this head waitress.
It had already been a stressful holiday and this spoilt it for the last couple of days.
after that we were watched constantly in the dining area in the evening when she was on duty
we spent alot of money on taxis enterainment was in another dingy unlit area in bar entertainments girl was very good with children and tried to get things of interest for adults but that wasnt untill 21 30 or 2230 when we couldnt be bothered to wait around since our meal at 7pm.Couldnt buy a newspaper etc and was bored alot of the time .only news on tv station
Food was good selection but not kept hot definately wont go back to coral beach again

Room Tip: All bungalows are in a good position and ther is no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

You always wonder how new the photos of a place are, we arrived in October 2013, first time to Lanzarote. All went very smoothly and the staff were the most helpful we have ever had.
The apartments were clean and only news channel on the tv that was in English.
The staff were great but they sacked the most helpful one! Turns out better for her though!
Reception was very helpful and booked the hire car and they buggys and the submarine for us.
Veronica was miserable on the last day when we checked out as we were missing a voucher for a deposit that we were not given!

The girl that arranged the activities was brilliant and worked very hard, did lots for the kids and stuff for adults too, aerobics in the pool and volley ball and archery to name but a few.

As with most cheaper All Inclusive, the food could be hotter! But I just put my breakfast in the micro wave for 20 seconds and it was fine. The food had a good selection and variety and there was other things cooked fresh on one counter, I recomend the Tallapia when they have it!

Drinks were good, wine beer and spirits but near the end of the second week they ran out of scotch and tried to palm me off with some substitute. They had ice cream(scoops) but the real ones were €5 and not included in the AI.

The villa patios could be cleaner, lots of dried paint and in our case, some pills! Not swept in 2 weeks. Also not enough loo rolls left out. You would have thought that a sad face drawn on the empty core and HELP in a speech bubble would drop the hint but sadly not! Oh well there is always the pool! Just kidding...

The walk to the main Playa Blanca was quite a walk and a cab to the market was €7-8 so unless you don`t mind spending loads on taxi`s then it is fairly isolated unless you hire a car.

We hired air con, I think it was only a deposit actually but only needed it a few times as it cooled off in the evening enough to not need it.

If you feel energetic you can go for a walk up the volcano that you can see from Vic Apartments, it is about 7mile round trip, take water!!! (Montana Roja) Overall we were very happy with the price and what we got.

There are some shops close by, turn left out the reception door and there is a path that turns to dust, bear left and you come to a small car park and the shops are to the right and a chemist and super market, pub etc It is about a 5 min walk. Did find a bit of a problem with dog poo outside the complex.

If you are going on the Buggy tour, they pick you up, but be warned that the 5 Hour tour is only on a friday. We did the 3 hr tour and you stop a few times, if you drop back a bit then you will be able to see where you are going and don`t wear an expensive white T-shirt!!!

If you walk to the lighthouse then after that it is path all the way for miles towards playa blanca, dirt track the other way. If you do Geocaching then there are a few around.

There is a rockpool that you can climb down to, go north along the sea edge and turn left where the wall ends. Now and then a wave might get you! But its warmer than the pool and rest of the Atlantic!

Room Tip: Probably all much about the same, none are far from the edge of the complex but the sea view is a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy66655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Andy66655,

Many thanks for your review: your opinión is very important for us!

It is good to read that you had a nice holiday.
im sorry for the Little problema with the deposit:

kind regards,
Anxa Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
4.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
3.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,922 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Coral Beach

Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $114 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your VIK Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing