We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st timer!”
Review of VIK Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Coral Beach
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was the first time we have stayed at this hotel, we went for 5 nights all inclusive in Oct half term with my husband and 9 year old son. The villas were excellent very spacious and very clean with a lovely terrace, pool area was great plenty of sun beds all day, water was freezing though! The staff were lovely, very friendly. Chill out area was nice, lovely sunsets.

Main downside for us was the food, it was more like a cafeteria than a restaurant and breakfast was cold on a couple of occasions. After the 1st night we went out to eat every night and had lovely meals in Playa Blanca at very good prices, (much cheaper than when we went to Majorca earlier this year).

To be honest the villas and pool area were so good and we got the hotel at such a good price that this wouldn't put us off going again, we'd use the 'cafe' for breakfast and lunch and go out in the evening as we did this year. Be aware though that this place is a good 45 minute walk into the centre, 5 euros in a taxi!

Room Tip: We were in villa 29 which was right next to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
There are newer reviews for VIK Coral Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our third visit to Vik Club Coral Beach Playa Blanca Lanzarote. We always hire a car at the airport pre-booked online with Auto Reisen to save paying the earth for transfers and to give us flexibility getting around (recommended at this venue)
We have always enjoyed our holidays at Coral Beach due to the service and huge villas, so we were looking forward to this one especially as we had been given a free upgrade by On The Beach to a sea view villa worth €113 (according to Vik Hotels website) .
Imagine our disappointment when we were given a villa about as far from the sea as you can get. Reception said the travel agents (On The Beach) had not booked a seaview and there were none available. They did say there might be one available later in the week , but as we were only staying one week this time we said not to bother. They did however put a €9 bottle of Cava in our villa next day. Not much compensation though :-( .

Enough moaning, lets get back to the review of this delightful holiday centre,
We met a few guests who were disappointed about the lack of beach here just volcanic rock between us and the sea. They should read Trip-advisor before booking holidays :-)
As usual the villa was very clean and the maid service was as good as ever
Not much has changed since our 2011 visit. Entertainment staff have changed a bit, mainly done by a delightful little lady called Steffi full of life and a beautiful dancer who works tirelessly all day and evening.
She is quite ambitious and probably won’t be there for long, but a great asset to Coral Beach
Another new thing introduced was an inside bar in the old wasted tv room opposite reception, bit loud for me but very popular with the guests. Shows including quizzes and the usual things (bingo yuk) take place in there.
The best thing in my opinion is the addition of the “Chill out bar” down by the coastal path. This is fitted out with loungers and massage benches where you can get a drink and a massage up to 9.30 at night, good to go down and watch the sunsets over the ocean.. The bar is run by a lovely girl named Almudena who used to work in the restaurant when we were here before. It was nice to be able to chat to her, not possible before in the restaurant, she was always happy and provided excellent service with a smile even when busy. Probably the most popular member of staff at Coral Beach.
Drinks are charged for in this area, €1 for beer €2-- €3 for spirits and cocktails, even for all inclusive guests, they do say that all inclusive guests get reduced prices but I didn’t notice any discount.
We still manage to find things on Lanzarote that we haven’t seen, even though we have been here four times. We will go back to Vik Club Coral Beach again in the future, and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NormanJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Norman JB,

We are glad to hear about your satisfactory stay at our hotel again. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
For us is very important the personal treatment of our staff and we are glad to hear about the excellent treatment you received.
About the type of room you can book with us, we have already spoken with the travel agencies, so that we do not have any misunderstandings through the reservation and give you the best conditions we can.

We believe your next stay with us will be as good as the last ones, or even better. May you require anything to have an enjoyable time with us at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from two weeks at Coral Beach. We'd been in Nov 10 and May 11 so took no notice of the reviews as we knew what to expect. The staff are great, a few have been there since our trip in 10 & 11 so it was nice that they remembered us. The bungalows are fantastic! The animation girl is the best, although we didn't participate in any day activities we always had a laugh at her doing them, she's very funny. The breakfasts are fantastic, the lunches are also very good. The dinners for us were abit hit & miss. If you like fish you'll be fine, but that goes for all AI in Spain. Pool area is great & plenty of beds, certainly no fighting over them like previous hotels we've been too. If you went to the pool at any time of day you will have no trouble getting a bed. Under €6 for a taxi to Playa Blanca, we ate out about 5 or 6 nights, bills ranged from €25 to €40, not expensive at all & always nice to get out for dinner. You can hire bikes from reception but we found it cheaper in the town. Bikes were dropped off to us & collected again a week later. All in all we knew what to expect and weren't let down in any way. Met some lovely people. If you want a quite, totally relaxing sunshine holiday then give it a try :) booking for next May now!

Room Tip: As others have said, book a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee_reyn0lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Reynolds,

We are glad to hear about your satisfactory stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
For us is very important the personal treatment of our staff and we are glad to hear about the excellent treatment you received.
We are always trying to improve all our departments to give you the best service as possible.

We believe your next stay with us will be as good as the last ones, or even better. May you require anything to have an enjoyable time with us at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On arrival we were told the hotel computer had crashed, so we were told there was no room for us until the next day, so we were sent to another hotel down the road. Very annoying as we could not unpack and were told not to return to the hotel until at least noon as the room might not be ready. We are not food snobs but the food was in-edible, when something ran out it was very rarely replaced. Entertainment very poor, location about an hours walk away from Playa Blanca. One plus point the villa was very big, nice big bed, lounge, kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Mrs. Annette,

We are sorry to hear about a discomfort during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
We have already find a solution for our last computer incidents, so that things that happened at your arrival are not going to be repeated again. We are also improving every day our service at the restaurant and the bars, so that we can offer you the best as possible in the future.

We believe your next stay with us will be flawless, may you require anything to have an enjoyable time at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have never been to Lanzarote before and picked this hotel for 7 days 14.10.13 till 21.10.13 after reading some other reviews. Playa Blanca looked a nice resort from the website Lanzarote.com with it's Rubicon Marina so we booked all inclusive in an upgraded 2 bedroom villa. The complex only has 60 rooms with a smallish pool which we like as it's likely to be quiet and more intimate for couples. Transfer takes a while as the main resort is spread out but once arrived the staff were very welcoming. We went straight to dinner and I must say the food was excellent all week with tasty local dishes (paella, stews, fish in sauce). The bungalow style semi-detatched villas were fitted to a high standard - we had a sea view as the Atlantic was 40 metres away.
I would recommend the Grand Tour of the island as you need to see the Volcano Park as it's amazing. Reception can book this for you at no extra charge with Last Minute Tours (driver Davide and guide Antonio were great). We also went to Fuertoventura via the ferry from Playa Blanca, the dunes over there are wonderful.
Drinks at the hotel are plentiful or also help yourself (beer, soft drinks). The staff are very friendly and hard working - we enjoyed the Chill Out Zone watching the fantastic sunsets as it's virtually right at the water's edge. The young lady kept us well entertained with her evening dancing and pool areobics, she was superb!
Would have been good if the hotel had some bikes for hire as the walk into the nearest beach was 40 mins - the taxi back is about 5 euros. We also took the free hotel bus into town ( 3 times a week) - Dorada beach and the nearby Rubicon Marina are lovely. It picks up again at 2pm for the return.
Overall a great location for peace and quiet, excellent food and the villas are superbly furnished.
Highly recommended, enjoy!
Sorry, can't understand the recent poor review as the food was lovely. Perhaps it was too Spanish for some tastes.
Any questions just send me a message.

Room Tip: Pick an upgraded 2 bedroom villa with a sea view. We had room 42, one away from the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiffy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnxaM, Director General at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Smiffy,

We are glad to hear about your satisfactory stay at our hotel again. We appreciate your feedback and we are currently dealing with the issue you have brought to our attention.
We are glad to hear your positive opinion about our Villas and services. Our staff tries to do as good as possible to offer you the treatment you deserve.

We believe your next stay with us will be as good as the last one, or even better. May you require anything to have an enjoyable time with us at Vik Club Coral Beach, we will be happily at your service.

With best regards,

Anxa Martínez
Vik Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We holidayed in July 2013 and found Vik Club Coral beach to be better than our expectations, after reading mixed reviews about the food. It was our first all inclusive holiday and we found the food to be of good variety and choice, however if you were late arriving this was not always the case! The villa was very spacious and the only fault was we had a complaint after the first night from our neighbours even though we were not noisy. You could hear them coughing in the villa next door! As this is sited on the peninsula it was very windy and we got burnt on the first day because we didn't feel the heat of the sun, so beware. The entertainment from Steffi and Claire was great and the kids enjoyed it, they were always very friendly and trying to include you in the entertainment. I would have preferred to stay closer to the main resort in playa blanca but the kids loved meeting new friends on holiday here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinannice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We normally opt for 4 Star hotels but we have just returned from 10 very relaxing nights at this hotel. Having read the previous mixed reviews we decided to book it 2 weeks before we travelled and were not disappointed. Upon arrival after a delay at the airport we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist with glasses of champagne, however we had missed out on a hot meal as the restaurant had closed for the evening. Luckily for us the hotel had already arranged for us to have a cold platter delivered to our room which we were very grateful for after a long day of travel!

It’s important to note that this is a 3 Star hotel situated an hour’s walk down the scenic coastal path or a 10-15 minute drive from the centre of Playa Blanca. The villas are set out like bungalows, most have sea views and are clean and very spacious. Housekeeping comes in Monday, Wednesday and Friday each week and if you want clean towels you need to put the used ones in the bath and they will happily change them for you! Simples!

Hotel staff are attentive and very welcoming; special mention to Raul, who makes the best cocktails ever and keeps the bar queues down to a minimum. He always knew what customers’ drinks rounds were and had your drinks pulled as you walked towards him! Another very important person to mention is Estefania otherwise known to us all as “Stephanie”. Where do you start explaining about this incredibly talented lady!! She is a one-woman-entertainment-machine! Throughout the day she was down by the poolside, organising entertainment for all ages. This ranged from archery to water polo and yoga to water aerobics! In the evenings she facilitated various quizzes (you must see the Film Quiz) and mini-shows, again for all ages, including rare bird shows and reptile shows. Her enthusiasm is infectious - even I and my partner joined in with the entertainment which is quite rare for us!

We had very good weather whilst we were there but be warned – the swimming pools in the Canaries are famed for their cold temperatures and the pool at VIK Club Coral Beach was no exception!!! On the plus side it was nice to cool off and there were always plenty of available sun loungers to choose from! The Chill Out area was a good place to escape from it all but it’s a pity there wasn’t a pool down there! The sea views and sunsets were amazing from this position.

The restaurant was informal and was always busy but it is not air conditioned so we tried to sit away from the hot food areas! It is fair to say that the food was edible and there was always something even for the fussiest of eaters (including myself). They did try to vary themes to suit all palates and they were constantly bringing out fresh food during servings. We had booked AI but not all the drinks were included at the bar. You had to pay for cocktails and certain branded drinks but they weren’t expensive. We were happy to sample the wines and the beer and also the odd cheeky cocktail shots in the evenings.

The last thing to mention is that you will need to pay a deposit of 10 Euros for the room air conditioning system, 10 Euros each for pool towels, 10 Euros for the room safe (all refundable) plus the daily hire of the safe itself!

All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel to holiday-makers looking for a very relaxing holiday in the sun.

Room Tip: Most have sea view locations - ask for sea front for better view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,778 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
4.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
3.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Coral Beach

Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $125 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing