We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place was lovely but food was terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Club Coral Beach
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place was lovely but food was terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just returned home from a lovely stay here with my husband and little boy who is 4. place it's self was spotless. Villas were lovely and big. Maids cleaned it 3 times while we were there. My son liked the kids club. The girl who runs it was really good with kids of all ages and got them all involved. There was always sun beds were u wanted to sit. There was a little park by the pool so u could keep eye on kids while sun bathing.
The only down side to this holiday was the food. Food was cold and tasteless. There was flys all over the food and while eating your food u have to battle with the flys to get to your food 1st. Same food for lunch and dinner. We had to start eating out in the end because my son hasn't eaten much while there.
There was a lovely cafe called lighthouse about 3 mins walk away from villas. The food was lovely here and all home cooked. Worth a few goin.
Would defo go back but would go self catering my self next time. Staff were lovely and I would of face this a 5 out 5 but the food was a really big let down after paying for all inclusive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    429
    241
    93
    66
See reviews for
424
481
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just home from a week at Club Coral Beach with three teenage boys. We were welcomed by a glass of champagne and friendly staff who really couldn't do enough to be helpful. The Villa was large, clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The patio and garden area was lovely. Air con was essential and worked well. The restaurant staff were always polite and the food was varied with a good selection. The all inclusive drinks were generous as were the daily snacks and ice-cream. The food suited all of us including my vegetarian son who was tempted to try all sorts of fresh fish and seafood. The pool area was clean and there was never an issue getting a sunbed or parasol. But the real star of the hotel was the girl running the animation. She was brilliant, an extremely talented dancer with boundless energy who engaged children of all ages (and adults!) to join in the daily activities. The promenade into Playa Blanca provided a beautiful walk in the early morning or evening (too hot to walk far during the day). Montana Roja provided a beautiful backdrop to the hotel and the sunrise over the mountain was stunning. Taxi's from the hotel into Playa Blanca only 5 euro for 4 people. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

i the food was rubbish , they didnt cater for vegetarians. it was the same every day and the flies in the dining hall were unbelievable. the entertainment was not too bad , but one girl had to do it all herself. the location of the complex was really too far to go if you wanted to go to a restaurant at night. playa blanca town had mostlly all the same shops ,one after the other. the market solt nearly all the same stuff, all differently priced and made in japan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postiecatMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travelled as a family of 2 adults and 3 children, we arrived early hours of the morning and were greeted by security who then took us to our villa which was beautiful and clean, there was a meal laid out on the table but to be honest it didnt look very appealing, but the thought was there. The next day we went for breakfast and was shocked at the amount of flies on the food and no attempt whatsoever at covering the food up and considering it is left out for so long you would think some kind of netting or something would be put into place, dinner on the first day was nice, we had pasta bolognaise and a few chips, same again for tea, for the next 3 days then it was tuna bolgnaise!! tuna and bolognaise???? there was a range of food on offer but it seemed to me they cater mainly for spanish and french nationalities aside from one or 2 days when they had chicken or beef which was ok, every soup they had tasted of fish! i didnt understand the 'all inclusive' package as drinks were switched off after breakfast until 11am, ice cream wasnt allowed until 1pm unless you paid for it at a minimum of 3 euros, the bar shut at 9 then you had to go to the hits bar where noone was in sight to serve you, until about 10pm then there was a queue of people so by 11pm you have to pay. Very clever! the snack bar was half 4 till half 5, surely an all inclusive snack bar is all day and a variety of snacks, ie chips burgers etc, this one was cold chips and some kind of croquette every day left out until about 6 before they sered evening meals. The entertainment was ok i guess, short and sweet so disappointing but the lady whi runs pretty much everything was amazing not really much for the children to do, only swim in the pool. The pool which was falling apart, my daughter took a cup load of tiiles to reception after cutting her foot on one of them to be told to leave them that was it we then see someone siliconing the tiles back in place, whilst the children were in the pool! surely any maintenance should be done when the pool is empty? the location itsewlf was beautiful, and thew sunsets were out of this world, but thats basically wat you are paying for, we ate out alot of the time and went into playa blanca almost every day, entertainment was same the following week so we couldnt really do anything but sit through it all again, staff were very helpful and polite, was a lovely holiday but would never rate it a 3 or 4 star hotel and would class it full board rather than an all inclusive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Firstly I must say this to save you from reading all through my review...IF YOU WANT A LIVELY AREA THIS IS NOT FOR YOU..
If you want to get away from work ,home life, stresses,worries and just chill out then read on.
We travelled as a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children aged 13 and 16.Good transfer times to and from the airport, approx. 30 minutes depending on the amount of pick ups your coach has to do.
A very warm welcome by the staff when we arrived at 11pm, we were given a brief explanation of the hotel and food was arranged to be sent to our villa for us.
All the staff are very polite and speak English well. There was a mixture of nationalities when we went.
Villas are very nice with a kitchen lounge flat screen tv 2 bedrooms ,bathroom,ours also had an outside massage shower but talking to other families,it seems we were lucky as no one else seemed to have one. Outside terrace area with table and chairs.
Towels and sheets were changed every other day although the floor never seemed to be done, quite annoying as we had visited several beaches and came back with sandy towels which resulted in sandy floors the whole stay. The room maids did do a good job otherwise cleaning and tidying..
The food WAS ALWAYS VARIED despite what other travellers say, and very nice too, a good selection of soup, meats, veg etc and also in good quantity, quickly replaced when the trays were empty. The only criticism I have of the restaurant is the damn flies!!
The pool area ALWAYS had sunbeds available ANY time of day.Surprising as we were there for 10 days in August.A good size pool with a smaller one for toddlers, waterpolo, volleyball aquarobics etc played often, and in the chill out zone they done pilates.
We never used the chillout area so can not comment, we only know this is a bar area for adults only but on a Wednesday, children are welcome.
Someone has comment that the pool was shut off..YES because it had something in it that had to be removed !!! The staff were quick to action on this and for OUR SAFETY the pool had to be closed from the time of the incident until 9 am, I had no problem with this as at least I knew the pool would BE SAFE at 9 am !!! At least they didn't ignore it.
The drinks are good for the quality of the local spirits, I had no complaints there, drinks are on tap all day long until 11pm if you are all inclusive like we were.
Entertainment is limited but the staff do a fantastic job, just a shame it is so short and starts rather late...9.45pm.
The entertainment room/bar area is rather small too but I understand that when the weather is guaranteed to be good they do it outside.
Playa Blanca is rather a long way to walk as we found out..we read on here that it was a 20 minute walk along the coast... no way !!! We walked for well over an hour and reached playa flamingo beach and rested there. Playa Blanca is a good 20 minute walk further on from there.
If you hire a car it is only 5 minutes away and easy to find or about 6 - 7 euros in a taxi each way.
Overall If you just want to chill out and do nothing this hotel is perfect but if you like to take a walk out of an evening along a beach with bars shops and restaurants, this is not for you.Unless you want to pay for taxis every night.
Texas Rancho is worth a visit, a zoo with seal,parrot and eagle shows, they also have a swimming / fun pool which is great when the weather is hot and you need to chill off,they also have lockers at the pool so you can leave your stuff there , saves carrying it around the park
We also found Playa Honda beach which is miles of sandy beach and EMPTY , just a few people on it, that runs alongside the airport so its great fun watching the planes landing and taking off at such a close proximity.
Go Karting in Areceif was great too but at 18 euros for just 8 minutes, a little pricey, as well as 6 euros for a photo (optional ) but your on holiday..do something you wouldn't do at home that's what its all about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank louistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week in Feb 2013. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great but that wasn't the main cause of our disappointment with this holiday. Starting with the positives, the staff we excellent - friendly, helpful and polite. The food was average and tepid when served, there is a microwave in the dining hall for use so they are obviously aware of this.

The location of the resort is not ideal, you are quite a walk away from Playa Blanca (~ 1 hour). The promenade is incomplete in places and does not reach coral beach, so its not ideal in flip flops There are a couple of shops and restaurants nearby and the quickest way to get there is to walk over some rough wasteland. It really is a sad sign of the economic crash. The 'all-inclusive' tag doesn't cover a lot of what you'd expect to get, the safety deposit box is 15 euro per week, if you want a sun lounger on your terrace that's 8 euro per bed per day, tennis is 6 euro an hour and the chill out area is 5 euro a day per person if you want to pay for that privilege.

We expected a four start resort but even the literature in the resort contradicts this with some things saying four star and others (including our all inclusive wrist bands) starting three star.

The accommodation is tired but functional, but not 100% clean as we found on our first night while getting into bed, there was a stain on the bed sheets, but these were promptly changed without hassle, again good staff as previously mentioned. It would be nice if they moped the floors at least once during the week as the rooms quickly get dusty.

We won't be going back especially given the location of this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clinto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We travelled as a family of 5 - my wife and I, our daughter aged 17 and two sons aged 15 and 12. We stayed for one week from August 18th to August 25th, 2013.

This review describes exactly what we experienced and we’ve also tried to include additional information that we were looking for before we arrived and were unable to find. We're a typical family and not party animals by any stretch of the imagination. The review is probably a bit detailed but heres hoping that somebody will find it useful.


TRANSFER and ARRIVAL:
VIK Club Coral Beach is about 35 minutes from Arrecife Airport. We had a private transfer arranged both ways with Viajes Urbis and we were quite literally swept off our feet. Fast and efficient is an understatement. We arrived at Coral Beach around 8:45pm. Check-in was reasonably efficient and then we were taken through the welcome page item by item which seemed to take forever, when at that time of the night after a four hour flight, two airports and being acutely aware that the Restaurant was closing at 9:30pm, all we wanted to do was eat. I was interested to see some people mentioning champagne on arrival - we definitely weren’t offered any.


ACCOMODATION:
Comfortable enough with a Living Room, two Bedrooms, Bathroom, Kitchenette and an outer Utility Room of some sort. There is Air Conditioning in the main Bedroom and Living Room and to use it, you need to pay a deposit of €10 at Reception to get a Remote Control. The settings are locked and all you can do it switch it on and off. In our opinion, the temperature was set too high. You do get your tenner back at the end of the week when you surrender the Remote Control. Safe Deposit box in the main bedroom costs €15.30 per week with a €10 deposit which is returned at the end of the week when you return the activator thingy. Word of warning… if you leave the safe deposit box open for longer than about 15 minutes, it loses the unlock code and has to be reset. There is a list of other stuff you can rent in the villa (eg, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, etc)

We had ants in the Bathroom. It was reported to Reception and within a couple of hours, the cleaners had been in and had sprayed them. The only problem was that within an hour of the spraying, another busload of ants had arrived for the funerals of the first lot. At one stage, I counted 23 of them running around. Didn’t bother reporting them again. I really couldn’t see the point.

Using the bath/shower at various times resulted in vast quantities of water coming from under the bath, from around the bath and from under a round thingy on the floor (which appeared to be some sort of drain cover). At one time, there was water coming from under it when the toilet was flushed and we also had ants coming out from under it on a number of occasions.

The inside handle on the bathroom door fell off at one stage and a quick inspection revealed that it had been rather hastily stuck on with some sort of blue stuff at some time in the past. It was reported to Reception and sure enough a Technician arrived in our absence and stuck it back on with more of the same blue stuff. It was hanging off again an hour later and we just left it as it was and worked around it.

We had a half-open sewage manhole cover 1.5 metres from our front terrace with very nasty smells sometimes which made it distinctly uncomfortable to sit outside for very long. Other villas also had them but they were properly sealed and didn’t appear to cause problems.


SUNBEDS:
There are plenty of sunbeds available at all times and never a problem with them. The sunbeds are well maintained and good quality. We did not see one broken sunbed at any time. This is sunbed heaven. Other resorts can take note on this. It can be done with little or no effort.


SWIMMING POOL:
Good size and not too deep either with somebody keeping an eye on things all the time. Unfortunately, large quantities of tiles are continually falling off and ending up on the bottom of the pool. There was somebody going around constantly sticking tiles back on. Nasty enough if you happen to be in the pool and you accidentally walk on one. The first day we were there, we fished out well over 40 tiles. They shouldn’t be falling off in the first place and guests shouldn’t have to be removing them from the pool to avoid walking on them.

The pool was closed very suddenly one day and we were told that it would not be available until the next morning. Enquiries revealed that it was closed for “health reasons” and other enquiries revealed that something was found floating in it. I’m not going to say what. Top marks to the management for the really quick response in closing the pool but at the same time, it shouldn’t have been allowed to happen as there is somebody supervising the pool constantly..


ENTERTAINMENT:
Top marks here for the quality of the shows put on by the entertainment team but in all honesty, a show that starts at 22:00 and lasts half an hour isn’t good enough. The entertainment people really are fantastic and in particular, the young lady who heads up the entertainment team is nothing short of incredible and is quite capable of producing a show that is on a par with the best you’ll find anywhere, if only she were given the opportunity.



LOCATION:
Nice views with a lovely coastal walk around the back but too far away from civilisation altogether. There is nothing of any interest in the vicinity apart from a couple of depressed looking small supermarkets and a few restaurants within walking distance. If you don’t have a rental car, you’re stuck with taxis to get into Playa Blanca for shops, etc. Reception will ring for a taxi for you but you might have to wait for it to arrive. One day, we had to wait an hour for a taxi because there were five people in our party. We found it costing about €6 to get to Playa Blanca by taxi - not expensive but it does add up if you’re going the whole time. Ten minutes to Playa Blanca by taxi (may improve depending on the taxi driver) or an hours walk if you want to chance it. In general, it is very quiet at night, good it you’re into “quiet” but if you have teenagers looking for shops or whatever, then you really are going to have to travel.


FOOD:
Food is ok and in all honesty, by comparison with other places we have stayed in, there is not a great selection but it is quite edible and no problem with quantities as you can just keep coming back. Breakfast 08:00-10:30, Lunch 13:30-15:30, Dinner 19:00-21:30 and Snacks 16:30-17:30. You can order picnics before 20:00 the day before for a cost of €5 per person. Ice cream seems to be available from lunchtime every day.
One night, we were highly amused to see a member of staff leave a load of food on some sort of unit in the middle of the villas at 22:30 in the dark. It was gone within minutes, wherever it went.



DRINKS:
All-Inclusive covers soft drinks, beer and wine/alcoholic drinks. Apparently, not cocktails. The Pool Bar is available from 11:00 to 21:00. You can help yourself to soft drinks and beer, everything else you need to ask for. Wine for meals comes from a box under the counter, a glass at a time, no bottles going to tables here unless you pay for the bottles separately. Having said that, the wine is not bad at all. After 21:00, you cannot get drinks from the Restaurant/Poolside Bar and you need to go indoors to the Hits Bar. The big problem here is that at this time, there generally isn’t anybody serving in the bar and when there is, service is seriously slow for no apparent reason that we could see. All Inclusive drinks finish at 23:00 and apparently, then you pay.


GENERAL:
We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful at all times. On one occasion, I was wondering about how the calamari had been cooked and I intercepted one of the Chefs with my basic enough Spanish. He took great care to explain to me in simple Spanish and to ensure that I understood everything that he had said to me. I was most impressed.

Towels changed every couple of days, sheets once a week. They operate a towel rental system for €10 per towel which is a great idea. There are a number of vending machines, pool tables, games, etc although they appear to be out of action quite a bit.

Beware of travel times. We booked a villa for 7 days and were told we had to be out of our room before 12:00 noon on the last day, despite the fact that our flight was at 9pm that night. If we wanted a villa for 6.5 days, then that is what we would have booked and paid for. There were no shower rooms available and nowhere but the main Reception area to leave cases. THIS IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH. We’ve seen other places work around this sort of problem quite amicably but none of that here. You are out and that’s it! They do not care. As a result, your last day is nothing but wasted, sitting and walking around. There are mentions on the welcome page about “Late-Check Outs” but don’t waste your time.

That was the final straw and I asked about the “Official” Complaints Book and I was told that there isn't one. Now, to the best of my knowledge, every Spanish business involved in tourism is obliged to have an official complaints book ('Libro de Reclamaciones') available. This is basically a form which any customer can complete which puts the details of a complaint on record and each complaint is then followed up by the authorities. It is a legal obligation for businesses to have this book, and to display a notice - usually in Spanish and English - advising that it is available if required. Well, apparently not here there isn’t and this WILL be followed up.

We love going to Spain and will continue to do so. Over the years, we have stayed at countless Spanish resorts, on the mainland and on various islands, all-inclusive and otherwise. We have returned to some of them many times. By comparison, the VIK Club Coral Beach is lacking in many respects. We were disappointed with what we found and we feel that a lot of the issues could be corrected very very simply.

It wasn’t a bad holiday by any standard. The pool atmosphere was good and for the first time ever there were no sunbed battles. No major problems with the food and the villa was quite comfortable. The entertainment crew have incredible potential and there are staff who value customers.

If you look after your customers, they will look after you in return… if you do not, then you can rest assured that somebody else will.

Would we return to this one? No, absolutely not and that is unanimous!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The coastline is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mac_the_hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
3.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#16 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Club Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Club Coral Beach

Property: VIK Club Coral Beach
Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Club Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your VIK Club Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Club Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing