We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road biking trip in Lanzarote”
Review of VIK Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Coral Beach
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just spent a week in Playa Blanca at the Club Coral Beach on an all inclusive basis booking through Lowcostholidays.com. I went with my bike buddy Mike and used the hotel as our base to bike the whole of Lanzarote during the week.
It was an extremely successful trip due to the following :
- extremely spacious and clean 2 bedroom villa with separate room to store the bikes;
- very friendly staff at reception and in restaurant;
- generous amounts of good quality fresh fruit and veg and fresh meat and fish. Very good for very hungry cyclists having spent six hours plus in the saddle each day !
- nice flights with Ryanair ( Mike was shocked that you could have a pleasant time on Ryanair!)

My only criticism if you can call it that is that the quality of wine served at dinner was woeful. Sorry , I like my wine and serving low quality box wine and wine produced in Lanzarote is not a smart thing when there are so many great mainland Spanish wines bottle or box that can be served which are inexpensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanceTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear LanceTri,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed cycling around the gorgeous island Lanzarote.

We appreciate to hear that you could relax in our complex after having spent six hours on the bikes. However, we really much apologize for not having been able to come up with your expectations concerning our wine offer. We do offer a great selection of wines, some of them from Lanzarote, some of them from wineries from the mainland of Spain, but these are with an extra charge.

Thank you very much for your feed back and we really hope to meet you again shortly.

Kind regards,
Anxa Martínez
VIK Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
There are newer reviews for VIK Coral Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

The staff at this place are some of the friendliest people i've met on a holiday, and they do everything they possibley can to make your stay brilliant- they'll call you taxis, book trips to the volcanos for you, provide any extra towels, or anything else you ask for, and always with a smile- they were truely impressive.

The two bedroom villas are very spacious and very clean- there were only two of us but each villa would accomodate a family of four easily. The complex has a great pool that is heated year round; we went in March and it was a bit cold at first but once you got in it was lovely. There are plenty of sun loungers and sun umbrellas, and the whole place has a very chilled feel to it. It's slightly out of the way, which we loved because it was quiet but there's a shuttle bus into the center of Playa Blanca 3 times a week which takes 5 mins, and the costal path/ promenade is beautiful- it's a lovely walk and takes about 20-30 mins depending on how fast you walk to Playa Flamingo which is a really nice clean family friendly beach with some shops, bars and restsaurants on the promenade behind it, and a further 20-30 mins walk(again depending on how fast you walk) into Playa Blanca to the town center and Marina, which has loads of places to eat and shop. The Tapas bar Bodégon was a particular favourite with wonderful food and really friendly staff. Taxis to Playa Blanca or back cost a max of €5 so getting around is easy.

The food at Coral Beach was much better than i had expected from an all inclusive hotel. There was always plenty of choice; they have a number of different stations, and serve pasta and chips for the less adventurous, but most of the food is canarian/ spanish influenced- lots of fish, and rice, pork, chicken, we even had steak one night! I challenge anyone to go to breakfast and find nothing they like. We tended to have breakfast in the dining room and then take coffee and pastries/ donuts out on to the terrace to soak up the morning sun. Overall the food was fine; i think it would get a little repetitive after 10 days, but we went for a week and the only criticism would be that sometimes dishes were a little salty.

All in all, a great holiday- very relaxing, and great value for money!

Room Tip: Really it's luck, but if you have quiet nieghbours it's better as the smaller room with twin...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTravelling16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all Many Thanks for choosing the VIK Club Coral Beach as your last holiday´s destination!

We are very glad to know about your comments and your positive experience at the hotel.
We are always happy to receive you again and give you a better stay with us.

With our best wishes,
Anxa Martínez
VIK Club Coral Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just returned from a week all inclusive at the VIK Club Coral. Beautiful villas with lovely sea views. Villas spacious and well decorated, only fault with the villa was the bath which flooded the floor everytime you needed a shower. Should be fixed as its a simple thing that can really annoy holiday makers. Pool is lovely. Quite remote so need a car, did not affect us though as we like peace and quiet. The food in the restaurant was average and really lacked a choice on meats, good for fish though. Also no ice cream for deserts which is a first for me.

All the girls in the retaurant were lovely with the exception of one, who I believe was called Michelle. Horrible person who embarressed my Dad and Uncle when explaining about the fact you cannot drink your drink out of a glass outside of the retaurant. Spoke to them like they were bold children, not acceptable. When she was challenged by myself and my mother about her rudeness, she was even worse. People like that should not work in the customer service business as they can affect your whole holiday, she did everything possible for the rest of the holiday to avoid serving us. Other guests noticed it too so it seems to be a common problem at this resort, all because of one person.

On the otherhand Gemma the animation girl was amazing, she did everything to keep my Three year old entertained. She was this resorts best asset. All other staff lovely too. Biggest downfall was lack of bar, resorts cannot expect you to drink wine out of a plastic glass on a night out, just not practical. Major need to build a fully functional bar at this resort.

All in all nice resort which just needed to fix a few little problems to make guests enjoy it so much more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzanneMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear Suzanne,

We are glad to know that you could enjoy the peace with us, within the Atlantic Ocean. We are close to the centre but we are no within, so you can relax with the sound of the waves.

Please, be sure that we are going to take count of your comments about the things that we need to improve.
Unfortunately, we are not allow to take crystal glasses away from the bar, because it is a pool area, however, our apologise if our staff bothered you about this matter.

Suzanne, we wish to see you in a shortly future.
Our Best Regards,
Anxa Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Ok...where to start...

The location - believe what you read...it's miles from anywhere...unless you REALLY want to do nothing - hire a car.

The property...is lovely...beautiful...well appointed, immaculately clean, spacious and if like us, you get a sea view...utterly stunning...every villa has its own well equipped terrace.

The food...hmmmm...ok...above average seems about fair to me and inconsistent is also VERY fair...hot? Not. There was always something for everyone to eat - but if you are veggie - BEWARE...the descriptions of the food are not always accurate - my veggie pal bit into an alleged tuna fritter and it was chicken - and the salads and rce often contained meat without being labled. For me, the biggest let down was the lack of selection - the food was plentiful but lacked imagination and choice...the cuts of meat were often the cheaper cuts too.

However, to be balanced...when the food was good - it was great - steaks were great, the roast leg of pork was heavenly...Breakfast was fine - although they 'ran out' of baked beans!?!?! What? And do not, ever, and I mean ever, expect to see a mushroom - you will go home disappointed!

We stayed for a week all inclusive - now then...in the evening you had to walk between buildings and up stairs to get to the 'hall' and drinks were ONLY permitted in plastic cups. The bar 'ran out' of brandy for two nights too...the 'hall' is where the evening entertainment takes place. It has a few comfy sofas but is really rather soul less. One female member of staff in the restaurant really kicked up a fuss when a couple of guests took glasses to the hall. Arkward.

Cue GEMMA - 'Gemma the Gem' - This one woman animation team is fabulous at her job. She really works hard to create a 'community' feeling amongst the guests and has a teriffic manner about her. Nobody had anything other than positives to say. It appears that she does what she can on what seems to me to have been an impossibly small to invisible budget...so more credit due to her. For me, never having partaken in animation at a property before, she made me think twice in future. A definite credit to the property.

The pool...is cold. Please note - heated in Lanzarote is CLEARLY not heated as over here...it is not too cold to swim in however and it just takes a minute or two to get used to it and once you are in - it is clean, refreshing and has a full time lifeguard. I love to swim so it was a real bonus for me.
No one EVER reserved a sunbed which were all in extremely good nick, clean and plentiful.

It's a real communiy feel at the VIK, guests soon get to know one another and I found it to be a very friendly venue.

Negatives...my bedding was not changed the entire week I was there.
There were no matress protectors on the bed - it knocked me sick to think I was sleeping on someone else's sweat.
Maid service really is only three times a week and one bath towel and one hand towel per guest has to last between changes - and frankly - it was a challenge. We experienced the phenomenon that is Calima and the sand and dust made it impossible to keep the floors in the villa clean. Consequently the bathroom and towels all suffered.

The well equipped kitchen made a mockery of the 2 euro a day charge for a hairdryer.

The safe is a reasonable 15 euros a week but heaven help you if you want Wifi...an incredible rip off at a whopping 25 euros a week!!!!!

My tips if you go here:

* Shop around for good car hire deals - don't be surprosed when they tell you blass B & C cars are not available - we got a great deal on an Astra for four days, completely fully comprehensively insured with no exess for 90 euros.

*Visit Papyagayo (spelt something like that) beach - its a trek downhill to get there...but its stunning

*Be prepared for dust - I'm a very regular visitor to Fuerteventura but I found March in Lanzarote to be very dusty.

*Beware the breeze - we saw sooooooo many people who got burnt - please take care.

*The market in the Rubicon Marina on a Wednesday and Saturday gets packed - but you can haggle to get some lovely souvenirs

Room Tip: We e mailed ahead and requested a sea view and got one.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simmeringsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear Sammy,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed with Gema, our animation girl. She loves her work with clients as you!

On the other hand, we apologise for the inconvenients that you have found during your stay, we are going to do all our best to improve our standards. Concerning plastic glasses, unfortunatelly, we are not allow to take crystal glasses away from the bar, however, our apologise if some of our staff bothered you about this matter.

Finally, all the VIK Club Coral Beach staff appreciate your comments and we invite you again to visit us.
With our Best Wishes,
Anxa Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

just returned from a relaxing week at coral beach hotel, very impressed with the accommodation , large and spacious, great patio for sunbathing. first time to this island, impressed with the cleanliness and lovely white buildings.
food was average all inclusive, always something to take your fancy, however served cool so use the microwave to reheat your food, always lots of fresh fish, plenty of fresh fruit and salads, by the end of the week we craved a chinese !
location: we knew it was a good 5 miles outside playa blanca , we enjoyed walking each day along the coast, you can catch the bus back. if you do not want to be isolated book nearer the town or hire a car.
also due to being on the headland it was extremely windy compared to those hotels nearer the town, which did get on our nerves as it was too windy to sit around the pool and too cold to use the pool, however the patio at your villa is sheltered.
entertainment: due to a quiet week not much was going on, however Gemma the animation team was fun and sat with the guests each nigh,t had a few quizzes, parrot shows etc. met some lovely people whom we spent the evenings with
would we go back...no as we never return to a place, however we would recommend the accommodation for a cheap and relaxing holiday, take some jeans and jumpers for the evening and a scarf to protect you from the wind...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleyanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Dear Lesley Anne,

We are delighted to know about your relaxed holidays with us, however, we are sad because the weather was not excellent during your week here. We wish we could have the control of the weather for our clients!

We keep your comments and we take it seriously to improve things which clients recommend to us, everything in order to give you a unforgetable holidays.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again, even if you never return to the same place.
Best Regards,
Anxa Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I can walk short distances with walking sticks but i use a mobility scooter as well if i want to venture further afield, I found Coral Beach Ideal for access inside the complex and the bungalows are nice and spacious, plenty room to manouver my scooter and plenty sockets for charging it.The only let down was the shower was over the bath and the grab rail was at the opposite end of the shower which made it difficult, I found that putting a towel on the bath floor made me feel a bit more safer.
The shuttle bus which comes on a Monday, Wednesday, Saturday will take a manual wheelchair or a lightweight scooter, the driver is very good he helped my husband to put it on the bus.
the staff were very helpful,nice and friendly, we found the food was good,not the best we have had but there is plenty of choice and for what we paid we have no complaints, the soft drinks where good makes, and the alcohol was full strengh. pull your own beer.,soft drinks.
The complex is not near Playa Blanca, but the shuttle bus will take you there or the taxi is only 5 euro

Room Tip: all rooms are the same all get the sun we were in 43
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patsy65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I'm just from a week's holiday with my husband and we had a really nice relaxing time at the Coral Beach. The Villas are spacious and clean and it's nice to have your own private patio area outside to relax in.
Because it's a couple of miles from the main resort it's very quiet. You can walk into Playa Blanca in about an hour and a half or get a taxi for 4 or 5 euros each way. We hired bikes from 'Cool Bikes' (reception have a leaflet) and it was a great way to get around. It took about 15 minutes to some nice sea front bars and 30 minutes along the main promenade into Playa Blanca.
The food was generally very nice, lots of salad and a few different choices for breakfast lunch and dinner. There were however some odd things, like brussel sprouts in mayonnaise one day!! Sometimes it was obvious that leftover food had been re-heated and served again the next day and even the day afterwards or left out for snack time. Such as fried calamari, fish fingers and chips.
A lot of the fruit was nice - fresh melon and kiwis but it would have been nice to have more choice for dessert and at snack time.
The staff are helfpul and friendly and they are happy to order you taxis, arrange bike hire, check transfers etc.
You need to pay extra for things like a hairdryer so take your own - it's 10 euros for the week.
It was very windy when we went, and the resort is a little exposed. Apparently Lanzarote is less windy from September to November.
Overall we had a nice relaxing quiet holiday which is what we wanted but compared to other 4 star inclusive holidays we've had, this was more of a 3 star resort.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room and it was nice to be away from the restaurant and pool area and you ca...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iloveholidays005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,777 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
4.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
3.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Coral Beach

Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $125 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing