We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, wouldn't recommend”

La Cantina Mejicana
Ranked #103 of 236 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant that mixes the authentic TEX MEX cuisine with the island spirit, cuisine in sight, fresh produce and prepared at the moment, all in a colorful and cheerful.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

4 of us arrived to the newly fitted resturant hoping for an even better experiance from 4 years ago when we first visited.

So, after being seated at 9.05pm we waited 15mins for menus, and another 10mins for our first drinks to arrive.

We then order, our order of wings x2, mex bread and cheesy bites arrive in reasonable time and were ok, the cheesy bites being the best of the starters.

Then, the time passed, and passed and passed and passed, when we were offered complimentary drinks for the delay, we accepted. At 10.40pm we were finally served 2 of our 4 meals, and they was NOT worth the wait...the burger was raw in the middle, and the first of the mixed tacos had been sat under the heater for over 20mins (we had been out for a smoke)

At this point we refused any more meals as there was no sign of them being served, and the cheif stormed out of the kitchen

The waiter only asked for us to pay for our first round of drinks which is worth a mention. Vast improvement needed, we left hungry and anoyed as all the good nearby resturants were closed.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank rezafazeli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner58Restaurants, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantina Mejicana, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Good morning . We aresorry that you had a bad experience in our restaurant, unfortunately that day our usual employees were not working. We do not want you to have a bad image of us, please come back to our restaurant and ask for our chef who will take care of you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic meal. The best Mexican food I’ve had anywhere. Excellent location overlooking the sea & excellent service

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Funky1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner58Restaurants, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantina Mejicana, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thanks for your comments, we are very glad to know you enjoyed that much our food and service, and our views too. Please come again soon. Greetings from La Cantina!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Had 2 delicious meals here last week and a take away pizza yesterday
The staff here are amazing,helpful & polite, greet you with a smile & a welcome
Janis & Jesus are so helpful and will explain all the dishes to you
We sat upstairs where the view over the harbour is amazing ⛵️
The owner also pops in to make sure you are happy and enjoying your food
The chefs welcome and remember you too
Clearly the staff are very passionate about your happiness and enjoyment unlike some in Playa Blanca
The food was delicious so visited here more than once, prices are reasonable too
We visit Playa Blanca every year so will be back now on our favourite list
Well worth a visit highly recommended
Thank you all at Tex Mex
Keep up the great work
Love Julie & Steve

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank juliesbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner58Restaurants, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantina Mejicana, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Much thanks for your words, it's such a pleasure to receive comments like this from our clients. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed that much our food and service. Please come again soon, we will be waiting for you with open arms, greetings from La Cantina!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Wouldn’t recommend this place at all if you actually like proper Mexican food.

Firstly, on a separate note from the food, my partner ordered a margarita cocktail which took at least 15 minutes to arrive. Second one ordered arrived in less than 5 minutes so most likely overlooked in the first instance.

On to the food, we opted for the Mexican combo for two to share at €15 (€7.50 pp).

Wow, if you enjoy eating frozen wedges, onion rings and some interesting fish croquettes then this is for you. Not a fresh ingredient in sight which was later confirmed by the waitress who confirmed it was all frozen and deep fried. Apparently you can’t get source fresh on an island.

Main meals weren’t anything to shout about either. I’ve never been to a Mexican and had a meal which didn’t have any spice, they were bland to say the least and the refried beans that came with my burrito were dry after cooking under a heat lamp for so long, the rice wasn’t great either.

The other main was a prawn fajita dish, again no spice or heat, wasn’t sizzling and appeared to have been covered in a packet mix of flavour (or lack of). 3 tiny tortilla wraps accompanied this dish and other tables were openly asking for more tortillas.

To put it in to perspective, this was the most expensive meal we have had as a couple after 5 nights on holiday. The bill came to €65 and it certainly wasn’t worth it.

Plenty of other places to eat which offer fresh food at reasonable prices. If you can hire a car head to El Golfo or take a taxi to Marina Rubicon.

On a positive note about this place the waiting staff are very enthusiastic and seem to relay our disappointment to the management. It’s unfortunate that they couldn’t justify or offer a resolution.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank jasonsA2036XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner58Restaurants, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantina Mejicana, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Good morning Jason, in La Cantina we have been making Tex Mex food for many years and our clients have always been satisfied with our food, regarding the price, we think that € 65 for two people is not expensive(less than € 33 per person) considering that you had cocktails, a menu to share, nachos, shrimp fajitas, burritos, fish croquettes and onion rings. We respect your opinion and you are free to go where you want, we will continue here offering good food and nice views to all the people who visit us. Thanks for your comment, have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally write bad reviews. I normally give the benefit of the doubt. But when I am accused of not paying the full bill, I take exception. So here goes....we came in for lunch. We ordered a decent half bottle of lanzarote wine, which was very nice. My husband ordered pork and pineapple fajitas. I ordered the beef burrito. My husband was given beef fajitas - no hint of pork, pineapple or other promised accompaniments. We let it slide.

My beef burrito was cold - although i was assured later that the plate was definitely hot when delivered. It may have been, the food definitely wasn’t. Still we didn’t make a big fuss. Instead, this is the only time during our holiday I haven’t tipped around 15%, even for mediocre food and service. We left €35 for a €34 meal, and left. The waiter then pocketed 5 euros in coins (or at least, it disappeared in an empty restaurant) and then chased me out of the restaurant demanding more money. We’ve seen this scam before, but never in Spain, and refused. Despicable in food and in service. Avoid if you don’t want to spoil your holiday.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank jhutch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner58Restaurants, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cantina Mejicana, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

You made a mistake when paying your bill, the waiter simply told you that there was a lack of money, please do not accuse our staff of stealing, the people who work with us are honest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Mejicana also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
El Golfo, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cantina Mejicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing