We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location overlooking sea; absolutely have to book!”

La Chalanita Restaurante
Ranked #20 of 198 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location overlooking sea; absolutely have to book!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Run by two great guys who clearly care a lot about the food they serve. Fish is a must here; ask what the locally caught fresh fish is and also ask for it filleted if you don't want to fight with the bones; they are happy to do that. Great menu, great choices, great atmosphere. Booking a must as it's not very big. Ask for a table by the windows for the view. Enter either from the seafront up some stairs or off the main pedestrianized street. Have been holidaying in Playa Blanca for over thirty years and don't know how I've missed this before! Much better than the touristy other restaurants on the front...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YachtSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    176
    42
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DUblin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve 2013”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I preface my review by saying that this is our favourite restaurant in the world and during 2013, we celebrated a few significant events. we choose here for our 25th wedding anniversary dinner , my birthday and a few great nights with our friends. its simply the highlight of our holiday . it is a restraint where if you appreciate fine dining or simple fare you will be treated to excellent food and a great but very friendly service.
the number of repeat and local visitors is testament to this .

New Year's 2013 was packed to rafters, but this added to the ambience and air of festivity . the menu was set a five course meal..... simply delicious and while it was packed the service levels did not dip and everyone was having a fine time,
it was a gathering of all of the regulars who enjoy the experience here .
a local set up and the place was rocking party bags were distributed and countdown to midnight was underway..
fireworks all over Playa Blanca lit up the skies and we had great view the light up skies.
the band played on .. we all danced the night away.. the finish time ... it was some time early in 2014.
thank you for yet another wonderful experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMcEntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Superb Steak”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We called in at 1815 on a Sunday night & were very lucky to get a table for 3 - nearly all the other tables reserved . Garlic prawns starters were very very hot & extremely tasty - then the fillet steak with pepper sauce was cooked in front of you at the table .
The steak came with either rice or chips & vegetables & was Superb . We finished off with the bananas flambé & ice cream . An excellent meal all round - very good quality - lovely,efficient staff & a special little restaurant . Gracias

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdcNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in PlayaBlanca”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

If you like good local food freshly cooked this is the place to eat.
We have been going to eat there for 3 years and love the food and staff.
The Fresh grilled fish is our favourite.
You will need to book to obtain a window view table

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ManxManandWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant. Not cheap”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have visited La Chalanita frequently (probably 15 times), have never been disappointed and it is our favourite restaurant in Playa Blanca. The best tables (which need booking probably days in advance) overlook the sea (it's at first floor level on Av Maritima). The tables are adequately spaced, the room is pleasant and has a lovely atmosphere (and aroma - they do a lot of flambees at tables which adds to the atmosphere and aroma). Service is excellent: you instantly pick up that they really know their stuff. The food has been great. (There was one exception, when I didn't like the meal much and only ate some. When the bill arrived it had been removed and they refused to reinstate it, so we left a bigger tip. The way they dealt with this speaks volumes as to what a good restaurant it is).

The only caveat is that, over the time we have been coming, prices have risen. Fair enough, in that they are normally very busy, but there is a tipping point. It still offers good value for the quality of the food and general ambience - but there are plenty of places away from the sea that serve, for example, as good a steak for little more than half the price, albeit not in such a lovely ambience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chalanita Restaurante also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Chalanita Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing