We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, though a little claustrophobic”

La Chalanita Restaurante
Ranked #21 of 197 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food, though a little claustrophobic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is very popular at weekends so would recommend making a reservation. All of the sea facing tables were reserved when we arrived. The menu had a good variety of meat & fish and they specialise in Flambe. My husband had the catch of the day which was like bream - he really enjoyed. I had the lamb cutlets which were very good. Portion sizes are good (about 6 cutlets) per person. The only problem was the flambés which made the atmosphere smokey as the upstairs restaurant is quite small area. Otherwise a really nice fine dining restaurant with attentive and friendly waiting staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spaaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    172
    41
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“As good this year as last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We first dined at La Chalanita 12 months ago on our first trip to Lanzarote. The food is excellent, lovely starter of farm eggs and Iberico ham, we then had chateaubriand (again) (couldn't resist it) which was carved for us at the table, this was followed by flambed bananas again cooked at the table, coffe and liqueurs followed by the complimentary repeat of the liqueurs. Great service, beautiful location and just a little over 100 Euros for the 2 of us. Looking forward to next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris-t-wolves1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner & myself have just come back from Playa Blanca after a 2 week holiday. We ate at La Chalanita on 3 occasions as we enjoyed eating there so much . We booked first to ensure we got a window seat for the sea views . The food was excellent and I would recommend the mixed sea food platter , the paella , and the steak dishes , also the flambied strawberries and the chocolate fondant , & the violet creme Bruelle . The service was excellent the owner & waiters could not have been more friendly & helpful . I would highly recommend you try this restaurant for a special night out

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V1P_451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just come back from playa blanca 2 week hols, we found this small but perfect restaurant, book window seat if you can we ate there 3 times this hol ,s staff are great recommend starters garlic prawns ,followed by pork meddalions with red fruit , finish with violet ice cream crème brula .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our meal at this seafront restaurant started well with everyone enjoying their starters.Things began to go wrong when the waiter topped up my glass of white wine with red. I accepted his apology but my wife and her friend thought he should have replaced my glass of white wine. The main courses arrived shortly after. The paella that my friend and I had was not the best we have ever had. My wife's grilled sole was significantly overcooked whilst her friend really enjoyed her cannelloni. What really disappointed my wife was that no member of staff asked us, at any point in time, if the food was to our liking. We were left with the feeling that this restaurant, because of it's location, is usually busy and does not have to try too hard to please.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank menstonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chalanita Restaurante also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Chalanita Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing