We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Playa Blanca”

La Chalanita Restaurante
Ranked #22 of 201 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best in Playa Blanca”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I visit Playa Blanca about 4 times annually. The highlight of our day is always evening dinner. Some years ago we tried La Chalanita, once only, because the food was indifferent, and the staff somewhat unsavoury looking and surly. However we heard that it was under new management (Jose and Roman) and was getting glowing reports. Hence during our Christmas and New Year Holiday, we tried it again, and were so impressed that we had another 3 dinners there. It is marginally more expensive than most other restaurants, but boy, is it worth it! I can say without hesitation that, in my view, it is the finest restaurant in Playa Blanca, but word has got round, so booking is virtually essential. Fresh fish as good as Casa Pedro, and flambed steaks sublime.

David Hollingdale, Edinburgh

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    184
    47
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“yummy paella”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst shopping in Playa Blanca, What a little gem. We had a delicious paella washed down with a glass or two of the "house white", sitting in a window seat, we could see the bay and soak of the atmosphere - magic. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we will definitely revisit next time we are in Lanzarote. We were staying at the Rubicon Palace, fully incl. and it made a nice change to eat out. The paella was nicely cooked and it was very tasty - plenty for two - in fact we couldn't eat it all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scores in every aspect”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We dined here Boxing Day evening - our last night of a 7wk break in Playa Blanca - and it was the best dining experience of the week. We arrived without reservation and were fortunate enough for a table to be finishing. All other tables were reserved. We had a drink at the bar while we waited which gave us chance to take in the lovely atmosphere - welcoming and full but not busy or noisy. The tables/area by the bar do feel a little 'cosy' but it opens up just past the bar. Steaks were being cooked by the table beside us and smelt fantastic. Our party only had 1 starter - which was ok, contained avocado which was a little bland. Mains were lamb and steak - both lovely - with great potatoes and veg. Dessert - chocolate fondant - gorgeous. Service was excellent - attentive with the appropriate balance between friendly and professional. We were offered complimentary drinks after dessert - not just a shot of local fire water; we had amaretto, baileys and a cognac. Yes, we were given bread, which seemed complimentary, but for which we were charged. But this happened in most restaurants we visited during the week. We didn't find the prices inflated and the evening was worth the money. It is, in fact,the only restaurant of the week we would visit again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnceRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Mussels”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ambience is classy, old fashioned service, cute looking but the food is not worth the money! The wine was very very good, we had a dry white and an unknown rosé that made these 3 stars, other than that, nice soft garlic prawns for starter and a house salad (ok) then mussels a marineire that was supposed to be a house speciality, turned out to be undercooked inside and a bit dry on the top, not fresh. Sauce was average and I love mussels! Not those ones.
My partner ordered the canelloni with nice soft spinach and prawns on an awful sauce base that covered the pasta like gravy. For dessert choc pudding very floury and pastey, violet creme brûlée sounds better by distance, so an average meal for about £80 for two. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobstercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food great but service poor”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a sea bass cooked in sea salt and it was really good, it cost €40 (€20 pp) but while expensive for playa blanca was well worth it. Overall the food was really quite good but the service was not friendly at all. It is worth a visit, we only went once on our stay so maybe we just caught them on an off day.......if you have a stroller, you can access the restaurant off the main pedestrian shopping street to avoid carrying it up the steep steps from the sea front promenade.

Helpful?
Thank suegav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chalanita Restaurante also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Chalanita Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing