We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Traditional Restaurant and Excellent Service”

La Chalanita Restaurante
Ranked #23 of 200 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“First Class Traditional Restaurant and Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is the best High Class Restaurant in Playa Blanca.
Hosea ,Roman and Azzuss are always welcoming hosts who attend to you with a smile and top service.
This is not the cheapest place to eat but is a special place.
We are taking our family of six for Christmas Eve and New Years Eve.
What can we say more.
Must be on your list to try.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManxManandWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    181
    46
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big City Class in Small Family Establishment”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently had the absolute pleasure to visit La Chalanita, Nothing here is a problem, the two owners actually work the floor every day from Midday till Midnight. the menu catered for all aspects of crusine and even has a separate menu for childrenon the night we had mussels to start followed by a lamb shoulder and assorted veg the other half chose a delicoius fish dish which she said was real melt in the mouth, the evening was completed with a chioce of desserts and really enjoyable night we will defenitley visit again

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service? What service! We won't go back again”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We visit Lanzarote 2-3 times a year, and discovered this restaurant last year. The food was lovely, but the service is appalling. The first time we were left abandoned in a corner of the restaurant for 45 mins trying to order dessert. We thought this was a one off and because the food (and views) are nice, we gave it another try - but return visits show they can't cope if the restaurant is full. Don't expect to have your glasses topped up or asked if everything is ok. I really don't want my meal to take nearly 4 hours, most of which is spent trying desperately to get a waiter's attention.

Their interesting 'selling point' is that they flambee alot of the meats and puddings on a portable stove. Yes this is 'entertaining' but I agree with the previous review, I would hate to ask for something medium rare as I don't think they could do it. I have had just as good (and better food) for a much more reasonable price elsewhere - oh and we had service with a smile too.

The owner seems to have an avid dislike for anyone under the age of 40 - and it wasn't just us. A table of 8 people in their mid twenties received quite abrupt and rude service too despite being extremely polite, well spoken and well dressed. The smiles, kisses and hugs are reserved for what we can only guess are his regulars. If you happen to be young with money to spend don't expect a warm welcome - and god forbid you should walk in on spec and request a table with a view.

I don't expect to pay £100 for a meal and be ignored all night. We won't go back again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The worst meal of our holiday !!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Sorry to all the people who had written reviews for La Chalanita but we had the worst meal of our holiday when we were ther with friends.
Flambed pepper steak was way overcooked, asked for medium rare and it was left stewing in the sauce for over 15mins, also the sauce was bitter and not creamy.
My husband ordered the grilled fish and when it arrived it was dry and he thought it smelt funny..........he was violently sickl half an hour after leaving the restaurant.
My friends husband had a plain steak which was OK.
No one came to our table to ask if we needed anything more or if we needed any more wine............good job we ordered two bottles to start with.
When we asked for the bill early then they asked if everything was ok we said no we were not happy we got a shrug of the shoulders and the offer of a drink on the house.
Not a nice evening.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireSquiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Views”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Another amazing restaurant in Playa Blanca! The service and staff were excellent, as was the food! The gazpacho was the best ever, nothing boring and bland about this soup - and the way it was served was amazing!! I decided to have Fillet Steak with a Pedro Ximinez sauce and my husband had roasted King Prawns - giant was not the word!
The steak and prawns were just fantastic - as was the view from our windowside table.
All in all a brilliant evening - make sure you visit - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annielou1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chalanita Restaurante also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Chalanita Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing