We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality and quantity food and very expensive”
Review of La Casa Roja

La Casa Roja
Ranked #40 of 201 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Soloheadbeg, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor quality and quantity food and very expensive”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Food portions here are very small, there are a lot nicer restaurants nearby at a lot more reasonable rates than this one. It appears to be worth a visit but visit with caution. The manager? on the night we visited ( a small guy with glasses ) was more concerned in giving out to his staff in front of the diners than actually sorting out his restaurant. I felt sorry for the staff having to put up with that kinda of attitude in full view of the diners. The prices that this restaurant charge are crazy in relation to the food and service they provide.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    343
    157
    90
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited Casa Roja early October it is one of the best positioned resturants on the marina, however it is over priced and portions are not very big..for the price you pay.
Service is a bit rushed.
Best part of the meal was the desert a lovely choc cake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow_32187477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet another good meal.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Every time we go to Playa Blanca (five times a year), we go to Casa Roja. It is consistently good with attentive service and quality food. Had the chateaubreand and it was very good. A place to linger and whilst not on the cheap side (you pay for the view, table settings, service and food) it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 250bates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and fresh superb chef cooked food. Spot on.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Very smart looking restaurant facing the marina. Great service, specials professionally presented. Superb wine recommendation and the best fish dishes starters and main I have had on the island.
Not cheap but the price reflects what you get. Not very expensive either.
Romantic location but full of families. Faultless and fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious meal....but (it's only a small but!)”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a beautiful contemporary glass fronted building in a prime position at the front of Marina Rubicon. So try to book a window table and go at sunset for a fantastic view. If you're not that organised on holiday to book a table don't worry too much as we just went in on passing and got a table next to the window seats and it was still a great view.
Like most restaurants, bread rolls are not complimentary and you are charged 1.75 euros for each roll. However, we were then offered a little complimentary taster from the chef. It was spinach croquettes(which sound odd but were delicious) and a little shot glass of sweetcorn soup which was divine.
We didn't have starters and my son ordered shoulder of lamb for his main which they said would take 30 mins to cook. Now here comes the but..... it took an hour and ten mins before it came. Yes we were on holiday and not in a hurry, yes freshly cooked food takes times but over an hour is just pushing things a bit much. Especially as we ate early at 7pm before the restaurant was busy. When we eventually were served the food was all very good.
We had three mains, three desserts, two glasses of wine, a bottle of water and a coke and the bill was 98 euros so I thought it was a bit overpriced compared to other places but we did enjoy the food and the waiter was very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babymac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Roja also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Casa Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing