We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me encanta!”
Review of La Casa Roja

La Casa Roja
Ranked #40 of 201 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Me encanta!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I first visited La Casa Roja in summer 2012 with 3 friends. We had a wonderful night and found the food, atmosphere and wine wonderful so when I returned to Playa Blanca as a single traveller in Jan 2013 I knew I would have to visit again. The restaurant is in a great location on the Marina Rubicon. I really fancied paella but unfortunately on the menu it said for 2 people only. After asking the waiter Txabi he said that of course it was possible for only 1 person. He recommended a great wine which was similar to a Sav Blanc which was a nice change as the other restaurants around seem to stick to basic (and not very pleasing) whites wines by the glass. Paella was wonderful and the service was also excellent and friendly. I must admit I liked it that much I went back on my last night to have the paella again! This really is worth a visit at least once on your holiday, if not twice. It certainly gives the feeling of fine dining which I don't think you get in many other restaurants in Playa Blanca. The waiters were extremely attentive and ensured I had a pleasant evening. I will definately be back in the summer. Thanks Txabi!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofKillaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    343
    157
    90
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good inventive food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Close to the water with great views. Food and wine a bit more expensive than Casa Brigada. Quality similar but the food is a bit more inventive. We had a king prawn starter as a special which consisted of boiled king prawns served with seaweed in a seawater gelatin and a sorbet of gaspacho. It was stunning. Service professional and friendly but on our first visit the staff were overstretched which lead to quite a wait. Service was much better on our second visit when it was less busy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlfyResco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Playa Blanca and around ...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

No words to say. The food , the service, the Staff , the Chef are excellent. Amazing menu , very fresh products and great wine , snow white tableclothes and atmosphere. Nothing else you can demand once you're on vacation. We were eating there almost every day for at least lunch durning our 14 day stay. We tried some other places but none could even close reach the same quality. After couple of days of good recomendations of our favourite , entertaining waiter Xabi ( but not Alonso) we were following his specials and he never failed. Finally I'm sure we tried many positions from the menu and many others made by the Chef specially for us.Our 4,5 year old daughter ( fish lover) had her specials everyday prepared the same way , which is very difficult to achive in many restaurants. Above all the view from the outside garden is breathtaking, you sit just a few steps away from yacht marine and enjoy this view when the sun shine and you watsh fish through glass floor just under you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMBER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Smart sophisticated place.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Probably the best place to dine in Playa Blanca. You get what you pay for - you pay more and you get so much more! The dining experience was great with imaginative local aperitifs (on the house), great food and wine. A quality evening out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoolsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Classy Place with Very Good Food and Great Service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is probably the classiest place in the Marina Rubicon with inventive cuisine and very professional service. Visited 3 times. The smoked salmon, baby eel and avocado start was quite delicious. A really pleasant place to visit and great value for money for the quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Roja also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Casa Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing