We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

La Cocina de Colacho
Ranked #1 of 200 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Small place bu great food, very well decorated and owners are a really good company, we had the best meat in a long time. Worth a dinner, but need to ask reception when they open, as not allways on.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    66
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Expensive average food”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The tasting menu is overpriced and nothing to be impressed. Went here following the TA reviews, but I could say that the place is very overrated. I had better tasting menu in Aromas Yaiza , dinning atmosphere is poor. Food is well presented but tasteless . Not on my recommendations list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Top class dining experience for two foodies. Highly recommend this place. Great service also and very accommodating when we brought baby along.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Riojajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fab place...wait until you see the toilets..”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

A lovely restaurant with great food...
Service was great and the architecture was outstanding!
The food was delicious and you can see right into the kitchen from the dining room which is interesting to watch..
The toilets are amazing...
Hope you have your wits about you when you pay them a visit.
All in all a great restaurant with a lovely atmosphere.
The restaurant is only open Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday so I would book in advance and also if you want the tasting menu you need to pre book this as well.
Enjoy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield(UK)
Level Contributor
282 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Absolutely OUTSTANDING ******”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is my favourite restaurant in Playa Blanca. I love to watch Colacho cook through the plate glass, full height window in his perfectly organised stainless steel kitchen. He is the personification of calmness and control and his food reflects his Michelin star training.

We wanted the tasting menu but hadn't realised that we should have requested it at booking. Colacho however said it wasn't a problem and we were so pleased. The food was to die for. We were recommended a bottle of Larus which was 'off the menu' and it was an excellent compliment to the food we were presented with.

If there is one restaurant to push the boat out for, then this is it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Colacho also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cocina de Colacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing