We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Service”

La Cocina de Colacho
Ranked #1 of 207 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Situated not far from Marina Rubicon in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote is La Cocina De Colacho. It is quite unpretentious from the outside but don't be misled. As you arrive you will see the chef behind a glass wall, for all to see, preparing an excellent dining experience. The interior decor is absolutely lovely and the service first class and personal.
The menu is relatively small (which is an advantage over looking at pages and pages) but is beautifully cooked and served to meet your personal taste. And that's not all - take a trip downstairs to the washroom and you will be greeted by an art gallery of paintings and photos which, i believe, were done by a member of the family. It's so different!
So if your in Playa Blanca make sure you visit (it is open Monday- wednesday) and you will not be disappointerd

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    69
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I went with a group of friends on the last night of our holiday and really enjoyed our evening, so much so that we wished we had gone more than once. Food is really well prepared/presented and service is brilliant. We had all decided before hand not to have a starter but were given a free appetizer of smoked salmon with scrambled egg, crab and prawns on bruschetta which we all enjoyed.The mains were well prepared and Colacho certainly knows how to cook!!!! At the end of our evening we were asked if we would like a free drink. Those who did chose Baileys and I have never seen as much in one glass before. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be taking my husband the next time we go to Lanzarote.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMC_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing restaurent”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a child free meal here, thanks to grandad babysitting, so was hoping to enjoy it. Well we need not have worried. The meal was amazing, the best steak I have ever had and my husbands 14 hour cooked pork was fab too. A little more expensive than some of the restaurents by the port but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful food!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked a table at La Cocina de Colacho for our 5th wedding anniversary, and it did not disappoint. The owner was wonderful and attentive, which made the experience even better. The food was exquisite, and the daily special of slow cooked pork was to die for. We loved it so much that we went back again.

The few low reviews on here all seem to aimed at the cost of a meal. We did not find it expensive, a fantastic meal for 2 about 100€. But it is more expensive than Burger King so be warned!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanishpaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Our favourite lanzarote restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having eaten here on precious holidays we were looking forward to our meal.

The service and food are really good.

The surroundings are unique, and a visit to the toilets is a must!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Colacho also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cocina de Colacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing