We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic evening”

La Cocina de Colacho
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I went with a group of friends on the last night of our holiday and really enjoyed our evening, so much so that we wished we had gone more than once. Food is really well prepared/presented and service is brilliant. We had all decided before hand not to have a starter but were given a free appetizer of smoked salmon with scrambled egg, crab and prawns on bruschetta which we all enjoyed.The mains were well prepared and Colacho certainly knows how to cook!!!! At the end of our evening we were asked if we would like a free drink. Those who did chose Baileys and I have never seen as much in one glass before. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be taking my husband the next time we go to Lanzarote.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMC_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    62
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing restaurent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a child free meal here, thanks to grandad babysitting, so was hoping to enjoy it. Well we need not have worried. The meal was amazing, the best steak I have ever had and my husbands 14 hour cooked pork was fab too. A little more expensive than some of the restaurents by the port but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked a table at La Cocina de Colacho for our 5th wedding anniversary, and it did not disappoint. The owner was wonderful and attentive, which made the experience even better. The food was exquisite, and the daily special of slow cooked pork was to die for. We loved it so much that we went back again.

The few low reviews on here all seem to aimed at the cost of a meal. We did not find it expensive, a fantastic meal for 2 about 100€. But it is more expensive than Burger King so be warned!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanishpaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Our favourite lanzarote restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having eaten here on precious holidays we were looking forward to our meal.

The service and food are really good.

The surroundings are unique, and a visit to the toilets is a must!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

When we arrived at the restaurant it was empty, and it was a while before another couple of tables were filled. This was a shame as it lacked a bit of atmosphere. The food, however was excellent, from the chef's taster through to a lovely chocolate dessert. We had the cod & the leg of lamb. My only criticism would be the lack of vegetables that came with the lamb. There were a couple of tiny carrots which looked as if they were just there for decoration, and it came with chips, which was a let down. A restaurant of this quality could have done much better. That said, what we ate was delicious and I would place this restaurant as one of the best in Playa Blanca.

Helpful?
1 Thank ValS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Colacho also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cocina de Colacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing