We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the price”
Review of Ona Las Brisas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ona Las Brisas
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed 16 - 30 aug, with 10 & 7 year olds, check in was busy but prompt, did have to wait to get room key but had full use of facilities until then. The bars areas ( tavern & dome) were always busy with minimal staff, but everyone got served. Restaurant was average but repetitive, best to try restaurant 2 which was queue less and quiet. The spa was amazing, don't forget to try it, Thomas cook customers get 1 trip for free. We stayed mainly at the smallish pool at our block, the first week was annoying with us loungers and parasols being reserved by losers who didn't use them til late afternoon if ever at all, but woe betide anyone touch them cos the mafia were watching. The atmosphere improved in week 2 when the culprits left and the pool area once again was pleasant the friendly. Pity some towels went missing though, but guess if the ever removed them from the poolside then they'd be quite safe, lol. We met some fabulous people, enjoyed the hotel, the resort is quiet but pleasant. We walked into resort many times and to the market at the harbour area, taxis were cheap 3/4 euro. U need the back gate key for time saving. The entertainment team were kept very busy but the quality was poor...sorry! Kids club was gr8, mine both thoroughly enjoyed it, especially awesome ash! Worth a trip definitely , just don't expect 5 *

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank JoR1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

This review is posted against the incorrect resort and TripAdvisor and the guest have been asked to remove it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Las Brisas for the first time based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. An initial concern over a villa location was addressed swiftly by the manager by a move to another one and then we had a blissful 8 days. The villas are clean, well equipped with TV/DVD/Aircon/Washing machine etc. A welcome bottle of wine and water was provided as was washing up liquid/sponge. Cleaning service on a monday so fresh towels and bed linen are provided. They also provide beach towels which can be changed fresh daily-a great service. Staff are friendly and attentive. Library of books is available and there is a mini supermarket (very reasonable) & bar (not so reasonable). The pool is clean, large and well organised. We did not experience the entertainment provided so can't comment but it is peaceful and quiet in the evening with no loud music etc. WIFI reception is poor in the villas and it was necessary to use the main computer in reception a few times but apart from that I would highly recommend Las Brisas and it's staff.

Room Tip: It is worth asking for a site plan before you book as some villas are close to a busy road and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you found us through TripAdvisor and that we lived up to your expectations and had an enjoyable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from our third consecutive holiday at Las Brisas. This year we came with friends and family who we recommended las brisas to.
As usual the villa was beautifully kept and can't be faulted. However, we found the entertainment had declined again from our initial visit. Although saying this, on the last evening their was a couple singing hits from broadway musicals who were brilliant. Elvis was a saviour as usual and couldn't fault Jo for her willingness to entertain. We have also found that the entertainment is getting too late espescially for people with young children, it was supposed to start at 9:30 but on most occasions was nearer to 10pm sometimes later, which is simply too late.
We feel that this caused guests to go outside the complex to look for entertainment and often left the bar deserted in an evening.
I would also like to ask why the beautiful seating on the decked areas have no parasols, we noticed hardly anybody sitting ouside in the daytime unlike in previous years please please return them.
Otherwise we would fully recommend this resort and we look forward to returning again very soon.
P.S. The lifeguard, Miguel, is brilliant with children and adults alike being very fair and entertaining. Always helpful when you needed him, a true asset to the complex.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinMcd511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. Your opinions and queries regarding the entertainment and parasols on the decking with be raised with the resort manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at Las Brisas, our apartment was clean and well equipped (villa 73), could do with abit of updating though! BBQ has seen its last legs! The bar area was ok but I think could be made a little more appealing as sitting on plastic chairs all night wasn't very comfy! The entertainment was painful apart from the quiz night and karaoke, this really needs looking at!!
That said, my kids loved the place, the resort was very safe and we were able to give them a little more freedom, the real hero of this place is the crazy lovely MIGUEL, the lifeguard!! What a treasure!! He kept our kids safe, happy, entertained and I think he manages to make every child there special in their own way!! He should definately be a keeper and the place just would not be the same without him! We will return, but hopefully Wimpen will take note of people's comments, especially the entertainment, so that Las Brisas remains at the top of the ratings.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reeby000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Villa 73 in which you stayed is a private villa and the contents, equipment and standard are not managed by WimPen. Please forward your suggestions regarding Villa 73 directly to the owner. With regards to the resort entertainment your comments will be raised with the resort manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We return year after year and really enjoy staying at this resort. The staff are lovely, food and drink in the bar in generally good and the pool and lifeguard service excellent. Couple of gripes from this year; a lot of the villas are looking tired now, many have not been updated since they were built 25 years ago. The entertainment over the last few years has gone down hill dramatically!! Thank goodness for Elvis, at least the Karaoke people were better this year! Please improve the entertainment!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEWA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. All the timeshare villas have recently gone / undergoing refurbishment including but not limited to, Air Con (completed), new lounge furniture (completed), new bathrooms (on going) in addition to yearly general maintenance such as product replacement and painting in the annual close down period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week arriving 26th July and as owners we have visited here for about 20 years and generally only visit the first two weeks in September (weeks 36 & 37). Our last visit was four years ago and the improvements made to the resort and in particular the outside terrace to the bar are lovely. The reception staff as always are more than helpful and every request is met with a smile as is the lady in the shop and the bar staff.

Our only complaint would be the sunbed situation - on the Friday morning after our late arrival on the Thursday evening there was not one sunbed to be had. My view of the shortage is down to the sheer selfishness of people who for example are a family of 2 adults and 4 children and then save six beds regardless of the fact that the children never use the beds!! The situation did remedy itself when Miguel (the best lifeguard I have ever met!) did manage to ask a family who had saved beds for children if they would mind handing some over - they did this with a smile which was good. But the next day the same situation of no beds - so the day after we were forced into the crazy situation ourselves of getting up and saving beds. This particular morning though there was a different lifeguard (son of Miguel) and he had a system of writing down when the beds were saved and then after an hour or so he would remove the towels and free up the beds - and man did he get dogs abuse from an owner who said he had been staying for over twenty years etc etc etc and how dare they remove his towels - bare in mind the time was after midday and he had had his beds saved all morning and as an owner should have known better. Everybody is requested not to save beds for fear of towel removal but these have always been empty threats - now there is finally a lifeguard with guts who will follow through!

Great news though the same day the resort had a delivery of new sunbeds and this helped by the threat of the towels being removed made for a much easier situation and we could arrive at the pool as late as 12 midday and still get a bed. All three lifeguards should follow the same system of marking the beds when they are saved and not just use the empty threat of towel removal - well done to Miguel's son.

Visit and enjoy - it is a perfect resort!

Room Tip: All villas are fine and on flat ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Thorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. The sunbed situation is being monitored to keep all guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

There is a problem with sunbeds being reserved at Las Brisas. The very first day I had to remove towels to be able to sit by the pool, not a pleasant experience because it could cause confrontation, and not what you want when you arrive. The next time we had sunbeds was because my son and grandchildren went to the pool area by eight in the morning, the only way to get a sunbed. I noticed that through the day, an area of around 30 sunbeds were reserved with towels and yet only ever saw a maximum of six people there. It is not good enough to say it is a difficult problem, you deal with it. Remove towels from beds that have not been used for over two hours, plenty enough time to have lunch. I did see the lifeguard doing exactly that. Also reduce the number of sunbeds around the pool and locate them next to the lifeguard and anyone requiring a sunbed can obtain one there. A feeling of being able to have a sunbed when required needs to be given. Because I am used to early rising I saw a number of people going to the pool area between 7.0 and 8.0am with armfuls of towels. However, on the bright side, I did return with £500 and 100 euros unspent because I could not be bothered with this nonsense and therefore did not spend it at the complex. I did notice that a number of extra sunbeds appreared at the end of my holiday which seem to aleviate the problem. The complex, other than the pool experience, was the best that I have stayed at. You can see why they have won so many awards as the staff were very pleasant - cleaners, gardeners, lifeguards, reception, etc. Also the bungalows have all the facilities you could want including the normal English tv channels, plus cartoons, Sky Sports 1 & 2, and Sky News, unusual in my experience in Playa Blanca, only a few private villas normally have these. FYI, my son had an ear infection, so he went to the Medical Centre which is only around 400 metres away and used his E111 card and received free medical attention. He then obtained two items from the Farmacia which was only a further 200 metres away for a total spend of 15.17 euros. Make sure your E111 card is up to date before you go. You can do this free online. Do not use the websites which charge for this service, it is free on the government site.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Brisas, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We do agree that the reserving of sunbeds and not actually using them is an unfair practise. We advise all guests that sunbed reservations are not permitted. Whilst the lifeguard does his best to monitor and remedy any sunbed situation, his main priority is to maintain the safety of pool users. The majority of the year there is no issue with sunbeds but during the peak months of July & August some guests seem to a little less accommodating to our requests.
Should any guests require medical attention then our receptionists & resort manager can advise / call the doctor / or accompany people if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,928 reviews
2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
0.7 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#11 of 37 in Playa Blanca
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Las Brisas

Address: Calle la Gomera 1, Playa Blanca, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $100 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ona Las Brisas 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Las Brisas is located along the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca. The resort was built in the traditional Mudejar style with white walls and elegant natural woodwork. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, Ona Las Brisas is built around a large heated pool. Our beautiful villas and apartments of one, two and three bedrooms have spacious, bright and comfortable interiors. Living rooms offer satellite TV, DVD player, telephone and furniture. Kitchens are fully equipped with oven, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and fridge. Each villa has its own bathroom as well as a garden and patio with barbecue and garden furniture. There is a weekly cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ona Las Brisas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Hotel Playa Blanca
Ona Las Brisas Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing