We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive portions”

Tipico Canario Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 201 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Massive portions”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Huge plates. I ordered the black suckling pig and I couldnt finish it. It was slightly overcooked though. Children dishes were overall tasteless. The sangria was pretty strong, and at the end of the meal, we were tipsy. Best to order a few starters each or share main courses.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    206
    68
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mucho Gusto”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic service from Angel and his team of waiters, fabulous food from a simple gazpatcho to chateubriand, carved and flamed at your table (for 15E!). It looks a bit seasidy but honestly its west end quality and rock bottom prices, we would go back to Playa Blanca just to visit here for dinner!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great value, with a view”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were impressed, we had the Chateaubriand for two. Flambeed at the table, really nice cuts of steak, reasonably priced. The wine list was also reasonable, we enjoyed a bottle of Campo Viejo with the steaks. OK, there is not too much in the way of ambiance, it's fill those tables.
However we enjoyed a great view of the sea, with Fuerteventura in the distance and relaxed and did some people watching. In fact it was that good, we went back on another night and did it again, just as good. This isn't a relaxed or romantic dining experience to be fair, but the food was really very good, and the prices very good, and as we walked past the second time, planning to have a browse before picking a restaurant we spotted a front-line table under the stars and just took it. We've been here before and even seen people sat on the sea wall waiting for a table. We're a bit puzzled by the poor reviews, but maybe things can vary night by night. I wouldn't say we're easily pleased, but we know what we like. Now the Brisa Del Mar just a few yards down the beachfront walk was a totally different proposition, I've reviewed that separately, and we didn't contemplate going back there a second time. Service we realise can have quite an impact on how you enjoy your dining experience, here it was functional and friendly, and a bit rushed. But as they were busy we felt that was understandable. The complementary rum/honey drink after is a nice touch, OK you know you've paid for it anyway, but it still feels nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speedking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch, we were after a bit of tapas and it did not disappoint, had 6 different dishes plus drinks and bill was just 30 euros, bargain. Food was excellent & fresh & service was quick & considerate, much better than most of the fare offered on the front at playa blanca. Blink & you will miss the place though! It is situated towards the far end of the main bay furthest away from the ferry port, would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank RobPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“They'll need to be better than this!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were very disappointed!! We were the only people in eating and now we can tell why...

There were hairs on the table, in potatoes and on one glass

The food, with the exception of the tomatoe garlic bread, was oily and pretty tasteless

The good news is the man serving us was nice and it was very cheap!

We will definitely not be returning!!

Helpful?
1 Thank richardbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipico Canario Restaurant also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Tipico Canario Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing