We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The Natura Palace is sadly let down by the quality and presentation of food in the restaiurant, service here also leaves much to be desired and is no where near four star level. The buildings, rooms, gardens etc are super but do not make up for the poor food experience is the restaurant

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talhandaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 2,733 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

Just returned from this hotel and found it to be excellent, and cannot find a negative thing to say about it. Will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SueGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

This hotel is in an excellent location overlooking the sea with a long promenade in front of the hotel where you can walk into Playa Blanca and beyond. The hotel is spacious with comfortable sofas and chairs in the bar area. The swimming pool area is also large, clean and well kept. We opted for a suite - we were given a two bedroom suite with separate lounge and a balcony overlooking the sea. We could see right over to Feuraventura. You could not have wished for a better view. The food is buffet style with plenty of choice and even champagne at breakfast. The staff were friendly and always very helpful. We would recomment this hotel to anyone and will certainly be returning again. It is also worth having a car and exploring the island as there is so much to see.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Stayed here from 25th October until 1st November 2009. The hotel is about 10 years old, with a stunning vestibule. The Reception staff are excellent, with 24 hour openings. The comfortable chairs in the vestibule & lobby bar are a lovely place to relax. The rooms a re comfortable, clean & well furnished, with many having a sea view. Food in the hotel is excellent, served buffet style with a wide range of choice at breakfast & dinner.
Points
The hotel is clean, tidy & well maintained.
The rooms are excellent.
The mattresses are very comfortable.
Food is varied, tasty, hot & well presented.
Staff are helpful and friendly, especially to children.
It is a long walk to Playa Blanca, go by taxi.

Some reviews on this site are just wrong & unfair.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prifathro1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I have recently returned from a 9 night stay at the Natura Palace and the previous reviews about the rooms being tired and worn are true, but they are clean and the beds are very spacious,comfortable and with wonderful sea views which more than make up for the first impressions that the rooms give. A modernisation and refurbishment programme throughout the hotel bedrooms would definatley enhance the stay.

We complained to reception about all the dried insects and scuff marks on the walls and he offered to have the room re-painted for us while we relaxed by the pool!

The quality of food and variety is excellent with lots of fresh fish and vegetables daily and salad combinations that show a very imaginative chef!
There are at least 5 different cuts of meat and a carvery each evening that make choosing what to eat a very difficult decision.
The pool areas are very well maintained with lots of loungers and 2 wonderful pools that are spotless!
The views from the pool terrace across to Fuerteventura are stunning with benches scattered across the area for guests to sit, admire and watch the amazing sunset.

The hotel is located a good way out of Playa Blanca, but never the less a vey pleasant and enjoyable 40 min walk that allows you to appreciate the resort which has a beautiful Marina with lots of good restaurants and designer shops.

A short walk out of the hotel towards the H 10 hotel( turn right out of the gates) there are a few bars and restaurants an Argentinian steak house a Greek Taverna and a place called NATURA BEACH RESTAURANT under no circumstances would i advise you eat or drink at this restaurant, the owner is an absolute lunatic who would probably even embaress Basil Fawlty.

The food and drink is of a poor standard and if you send something back he offers you a replacement but then still charges you for the food and drink you sent back then screams and shouts at you in front of the few customers that he has...unbelievable!!

Overall a very enjoyable holiday and a fine hotel would defenatley return.....maybe the rooms will be refurbished by then!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bantamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We've just returned from a 2 week break at the Natura Palace, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. We've stayed at this hotel on and off since it opened, but haven't been for three years. The hotel on arrival is impressive, and this continues into the marble and glass reception/cocktail bar and public seating areas, which are immaculate. The reception staff are very friendly and on arrival we were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We had requested, and were given a room near to where we had stayed before. The bedroom/bathroom/balcany with seaview, and overlooking the pools were all spacious with plenty of wardrobe and storage space. However, the bedroom was a little on the shabby side and was in need of refurbishment. The bathroom again whilst being quite large, with a good power shower and nice tiles, was in need of a good clean, the mold around the shower wasn't very inspiring. There didn't seem to be enough staff in the dining room and we had to queue quite a long time for a table at dinner on more than one occasion. Sorry but we don't expect to have to do this at a 4*+ hotel. Breakfast was excellent but we felt that the standard of food at dinner had dropped slightly from last time were stayed. However, that said the food was still good. The pool areas are really well looked after with plenty of sunbeds, we never had any problem finding a sunbed. There are a couple of bars and restaurants outside of the hotel, through the gate onto the promenade, turn right. We tended to go there for a drink most nights and on 2 occasions we ate at the Greek restaurant, Sebastyan's, which was excellent, good value, and made a nice change. Sadly at the moment the exchange rate is rubbish which made the holiday quite expensive, The weather was absolutely perfect for the whole two weeks and other than the couple of little grumbles mentioned we had a super holiday and will defenitely return to the Natura Palace. Hopefully they will start some refurbishment of the guest rooms in the not too distance future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytravellersSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I hadn't been to a largish hotel like this for a long time and so haven't got a lot to compare it against, even so I came away impressed. Very clean, lovely relaxing pool area with plenty of sunbeds, both pools were spotless and lovely to swim in, yes they were a little chilly but fine once you were in, although I thought jacuzzis were supposed to be hot so why run a cold one all day! The only noise around the pool were the birds chattering away in the trees which is much more preferable to screaming kids. Although there were a few younger families around most of the clientele were of a more mature generation.

The room was fine, maybe could of done with a lick of paint due to scuff marks and where people had successfully squatted a few mosquitos. It was kept very clean by the maid, excellent bathroom with powerful shower and liked putting on my bathrobe afterwards! Roomy balcony with good views although the next floor up would probably have been better.

The food was excellent, my first time of experiencing buffet style food and it won't be my last! Loads of choice, lots of fish and meat, there was anything and everything you could want both for breakfast and dinner. Some of the sauces that accompanied the evening meals weren't great and neither were some of the English syle vegetables that they sometimes served. The one thing that did disappoint tho were the desserts, most of the cakes were much of a muchness, either flan or pastry based with just the toppings that varied from night to night, and there was lots of mushy stuff that seemed to collapse once it hit your plate. I understand though that this is purely personal and some people may well enjoy. The one saving grace though was the ice cream!!!!! It is to die for!!!! Whether it was strawberry, chocolate, vanilla or toffee all of it is absolutely gorgeous, Enjoy!!!!

Can't really say much about the hotel entertainment, only watched the flamenco show and it was ok, missed the Abba night, gutted! The Supreems were apparently good, and much to my embarrassment I did attend the bingo and quiz night, not many other people did tho! At least I won a pair of hotel sunglasses for getting a line.

Outside of the hotel it's quiet, there's not a lot goin on at night, there is a bar across the road altho it's not exactly in the best location, It's a 30-40 min walk into town along the promenade where there is slightly more goin on, the Marina area is worth a visit, Get youself some bikes to ride up and down the promenade, bout 10 euros for the day and Hotel reception will organise, If your feeling guilty about how much food you've eaten for breakfast hike up the Volcano behind the hotel for some good excercise and views. If you fancy getting onto the water for a few hours then a guy in the harbour takes you out on his sailing boat for 30 euros, you'll see his flyers in the harbour. make sure you dont suffer from sea sickness tho!

Have a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,020 reviews
23.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,929 reviews
1.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,586 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hipotels Natura Palace)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $132 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hipotels Natura Palace Hotel in Playa Blanca (Lanzarote), is a Hotel located in on the seafront in Lanzarote and offers its guests a garden and pool area of 52.000m2. Furthermore, we offer 269 comfortable rooms with spectacular sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Natura Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
Hipotels Natura Palace Playa Blanca
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing