We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but a niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, but a niggles”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Natura Palace for 9 days in January, having spent time elsewhere on Lanzarote and in Fuerteventura the week and bit before. The Natura Palace was very nice. The architecture is impressive, and the gardener deserves serious praise. The place was very clean overall though the maids could've done with looking under the beds once in a while. They have a bit of a problem with a tiny species of ant, just as do so many hotels on the Canaries. The staff were aware of the problem and actively battling it. When we had ants near our table in the restaurant, they moved us to another table without any fuss, and the chambermaid sprayed everywhere with ant spray several times for us.

The food was very good, though only just four star. The puddings were excellent. As a vegetarian, I got thoroughly bored of seeing dishes I could have eaten but for the 'garnish'. For example, each time peas were served, shredded bacon was scattered on top. There was so little I can't imagine it really improved the flavour, but obviously as a veggie, I didn't want to eat it. Bit of a shame.

The free wifi in the lobby was a joke. The paid-for wifi in the rooms was a bit better but still not really worth the cash. My connection on my mobile via 3G was about four times as fast. That tells you all you need to know.

The pools were pristine, and one of them was heated to a just-bearable temperature. It was a real boon to be able to swim in an outdoor pool in mid-winter. The poolside was beautifully kept, with trees and flowering plants. The lifeguards had a tendency to start 'tidying up' at about 4:30pm, an hour before it was really too chilly to sunbathe, and they made a heck of a noise, throwing loungers about. It made us feel unwelcome and we went back up to our room.

The room was a tiny bit dated but very nicely kept. There was a minibar, but no tea and coffee facilities which seemed a bit poor. We also didn't like that the safes were at reception, not in the room. If you wanted to keep your laptop or phone in there it was entirely impractical. On the other hand, we ended up leaving most of our valuables in the room and nothing went missing.

The beds were pretty comfy and the walls were thick enough to block most noise. The spa was ... inadequate. The staff were very nice, but the steam room was smelly, the hot-tub was tiny, and often not switched on, and the sauna was so creaky you feared for your life each time someone moved. I've been to a few spa hotels and this one should just leave 'spa' out of its name. The rest of the hotel is to a much much higher standard than the spa.

The Natura Palace is in a quiet location, a good half-hour walk from the middle of Playa Blanca. For us, this was perfect, but I can imagine other people finding it a bit quiet. Being sent to sleep by the gentle crashing of the waves just twenty metres from the hotel was blissful. That said, the quiet location meant our fellow guests were of a certain age and demeanour. If we'd have wanted friends to go snorkelling with this wouldn't have been the place to look.

The air con didn't seem to do heating, but it was quite a warm hotel anyway so it didn't matter too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank philosopher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    705
    138
    50
    21
See reviews for
486
1,500
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were really looking forward to our Christmas Holiday and arrived at hotel around 9pm. Having been to the hotel on two previous occasion we did request to have a room over looking the pool, but unbeknown to us the hotel had upgraded these rooms and they were now Superior rooms. We did request that we pay to upgrade to these rooms but all were full, so we were given room 1322, nothing wrong with the room in fact it was lovely but the issue we had was that this room is directly next to the lift and every time some one used the lift the lift motor released and made a dreadfull noise. When we went two years ago this was the room they first gave us of which then we refused to stay in, but on this occasion we really didn't have a lot of choice as the hotel was full and no rooms available for us to upgrade to until 3rd January, but what I cant understand is that they reckon that they have not really had people complain. We did the next day report this to the Thomson rep and did request that they come and listen, she did, I asked her if she would accept this after paying a substation sum of money and didn't really reply only to suggest that we could try ear plugs. I say no more. The only thing I can say is that this noise did stop around 12.30ish so we did manage to get some sleep but it was our early alarm call of 6.30am there certainly are some early risers at the hotel.

Apart from the room I can say that we had yet again a fabulous time, lovely to see that the majority of the staff there were still there from our previous visits and lovely that they remembered us and made a fuss of my daughter.

The cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding, Priscilla serviced out room daily to a very high standard, Antonio as always gave us first class service and Zaviar always prepared to alter the menu on Christmas night and New Years Eve for my very fussy daughter.

It was lovely to celebrate the banquet with many returning guests that come out over the Christmas and New Year period.

As many previous reviews had commented go out of the back gate and your on the promenade, every morning after breakfast we would make the walk up to the light house, set you up for the day as to make room for your evening meal. This time I had promised myself that I would climb the red mountain just at back of hotel, what a view it was worth the hard trek to get to the top as once your there you can see right round the island. Stunning.

We did enjoy our well deserved break even though we did have to put up with very noisy room, but we had such a fab time we have already booked for this Christmas, so Natura Palace we have booked 3 rooms this year and upgraded to have the rooms that we wish for so I hope on this occasion that you will come up trumps and we do have the rooms in the vicinity that we requested.

Room Tip: Do avoid room 1322 if you want to be kept awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Have visited Lanzarote for last 11 years at Christmastime, same hotel in Costa Teguise, decided to have a change. As we like Playa Blanca chose Natura Palace. The hotel is very nice but too spread out for our liking, staff very pleasant and friendly. Rooms ok would have preferred a room safe and tea/ coffee facilities expect this in a 4 star plus. Now for the food, breakfast was good plenty of choice, layout could be improved. Evening meal was awful, firstly food was rarely hot I only had 1 hot meal in 2weeks, secondly the choice was poor I am sure the hotel had shares in a pig farm!!!! Pork loin on every night in some form or other, only Canarian potatoes or chips every night, vegetables always undercooked and in edible . Only good thing on an evening was desserts, plenty of choice and variety. Now the worst thing about this hotel, Christmas Gala Dinner, what an absolute disgrace soup was sea urchin watery and tasteless, warm!!!! Prawn, smoked salmon and mango salad edible but not warm! Followed by sorbet not on plate as expected but in a liquid form quite odd. Now the main course which we had waited over 1 1/2 hours for this was rack of lamb ( did not taste like lamb at all) tablespoon of purée potato and swede. That was it enough meat to feed a sparrow and barely warm. So bad 2 couples walked out. Dessert was chocolate cake and meringue. There was no choice at all, so if you could not eat fish or meat and did not like chocolate , you might as well have stayed at home. There is no way I would recommend this hotel as the food was not 4 star standard at all. The hotel was very remote, even with a car we felt we had to travel along way to see rest of Island . Will not be going again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel, very polite and helpful staff and management. No complaints about the food, the bedroom and facilities. Would have liked the swimming pools to be heated. All our requests to the hotel prior to departure were catered for when we arrived. Thomson were also excellent. Definitely one to recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pool freezing and rooms stuffy or mozzy ridden depending on whether you open windows as the air con does not work

the place itself is beautiful but they also need some sort of compere or disco as 1 hour entertainment from 9.30 to 10.30 is not good enough

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

stayed only one night here, amazing Hotel entrance, and Location on the sea front just excellent. Staff really friendly, room spotless, really big for the Price we paid, balcony view out to sea and could watch the sun set....that's where the good part Ends. We wanted to go for dinner in the Hotel Restaurant, and we were told it was buffet only. With some trepidation we paid up front for the set buffet. Which was an all you can stuff yourself buffet... The Food was not that good. Fresh salads and cheeses were acceptable. Meats, no good. The Dining room was massive, hectic, full of hundreds of People. The waiting staff are rushing around Clearing the mountains of plates from all the tables. It's so loud with the rattle of plate pushing you can not relax, cannot hear yourself think. Everyone is watching everyone else go to the buffet and return with their piled plates of Food. It was like being in a School canteen for the over 50's....... then breakfast the next morning...........was the exact same Thing! except People are eating eggs and Bacon instead. I love Food, but Quality reigns over quantity. Therefore this Hotel is not for me, shame as the Location and rooms are amazing. If only they didnt have the package deal Restaurant ........

Room Tip: if you dont like package Holidays or all inclusive Hotels - avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here by myself in mid December. Really enjoyed the hotel's location and the facilities it had. The restaurant has an excellent selection of food in the morning. The staff are really friendly and made dinning by myself a comfortable experience.
I took advantage of the onsite spa and that was very good. Would recommend.
The tv in the room are good quality LED's with a nice range of channels to choose from.
There was no option for on demand films which would have been nice as I was happy to relax at night after a day of cycling so being able to order a film on demand would have been good. As it was, I had to make do with Murder She Wrote with Angela Landsbury!! The path out the back of the hotel on the coast is beautiful and a great ammenity. Highly recommend a walk to the right out to Lighthouse. In the evening time, you can either head into Playa Blanca for some food or there's a range of restaurants about 200 metres from the hotel entrance. An Italian, A Greek and and Argentinian. I know that the italian and the argentinian are both worth the visit.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel - it's good value, clean, quiet and a good place to base yourself from.

Room Tip: Pick the third floor but the room I had in 1301 was beside a service space so there was a strange hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnnymaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,710 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,045 reviews
23.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA

Property: TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hipotels Natura Palace)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Natura Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
Hipotels Natura Palace Playa Blanca
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing