We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here in October for a week just to relax and chillout. The hotel is on the outskirts of Playa Blanca between the H10 Timanfaya Palace and the H10 Rubicon Palace. Most rooms have a view out to sea; we stayed in 1242 which is on the west side of the hotel giving sun in the afternoon and evening. Rooms 1242 to 1250 seemed to be the best as these were on the top floor, west facing with a pool and sea view.

The check in was efficient and friendly, but as others have noticed, while the service generally is good, there is no attempt to make conversation, its just professional and thats it. The hotel isnt overly big so you do get to see the same staff during the days and nights, but compared to other hotels I have stayed in, its very impersonal.

Inside the hotel is a small shop selling the neccessities and a small supermarket across the road. Thats about it unless you walk for 10-15 mins towards Playa Blanca where a few more shops can be found.

The restaurant was ok, but nothing special. Food was plentiful but seemed to consist of a lot of fish dishes every night, and my partner who is vegetarian did struggle. The restaurant lacks any real atmosphere and is based on a glass centre containing some trees and plants. What would be nice is that there is room outside to make an outdoor eating area, why they dont take advantage of this I dont know, particularly for breakfasts. Food quality was ok and neither of us experienced any funny tummy's, but had we stayed here for more than 7 nights I think we would have looked elsewhere to eat in the evenings.

Prices were reasonable, the cheapest bottle of wine being around 15 Euro then upwards to about 50 or more. A bottle of San Valentin is recommended if you like medium sweet white wines. Snack bar prices were also reasonable, with a toastie and fries around 5 Euro.

Entertainment is Mon-Sat and was ok, consisting of just one show at 21:45 lasting for just under an hour. The hotel clientelle seemed to be mostly elderly people and we were amongst the few younger people there. The piano bar upstairs was comfortable, but again, it lacked any atmosphere.

In the daytimes the pool area was where we spent most of our time. The area is large with plenty of shade and privacy should you need it. The pools are large and clean, however there are a lot of broken and missing tiles in the pools, and a few loose around the outside of the jacuzzi. The pools were both cold, one is saltwater, and the jacuzzi is also cold. The mini golf was very worn and most holes full of water (from the sprinkler system). The gym was small but adequate.

There was no poolside service in terms of drinks, and to get a pool towel from reception was a task in itself involving a 10 Euro deposit each, computer and form filling! We didnt bother paying the 9 Euro to use the fridge in the room, though we did use it we just took our drinks out in the day while the maid cleaned the room.

The maid service was very good, and rooms cleaned very well, however, the rooms are dated and showing their age, and our room had a lot of mosquito splats on the walls and ceilings. Infact, we encountered a lot of mosquitos during our stay, and the maid was kind enough to leave us some extra tabs for our refils. Make sure you take repellent with you.

Overall if your looking for somewhere very quiet, and to just lay by the pool all day and your not bothered about night time entertainment or gourmet food then by all means this would be a great hotel to choose. If your looking for that little bit more, then I would say look elsewhere. We enjoyed our holiday, and the hotel had no major negatives, but at the same time, a week was enough for us, and the hotel didnt have any real "charm" as such - it just did what it said on the tin, no more, no less.

One tip, for a snack, exit the hotel facing the sea, turn right and go the bar called Manea 5 mins along the sea front walk. It has excellent places to sit, or lay! and faces the sea. Snacks are reasonably priced and the place is also well worth a visit in the evening where DJs play a variety of good music.

Room Tip: Room 1242 on to 1250 are good rooms to choose
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GaryH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,728 of 2,459 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

this hotel is excellent, but not for the young. we have just spent 2 weeks there, and it is the best hotel we have been in. the room was spotless and very spacious, all the staff were very friendly, and effecient. the shows at night, although were quite good, but not proffessional.
this hotel doesnt cater for small children, and it is a walk away from town, which we enjoyed,
food is excellent, very varied but the sweet buffet could ave been larger, or even another one put on. the entertainment staff were conspicuous by their absence. On the whole a lovely hotel, good food, perhaps let down by the fact that it is a little out of town, if you dont like walking.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeancockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Returned from our 5th visit to this marvellous hotel a few days ago and our next trip has just been booked! This hopefully will make the dark days of winter more tolerable. Every moment from arrival to departure was excellent. Check in was quick, informative and the reception staff are very professional, nothing is too much trouble. We were given a cold meal of ham and cheese sandwiches, salad bowl and water in the restaurant at 2230 with all other late arrivals, which is a nice touch. Many 5 star hotels would not have bothered and screwed us through room service.Our luggage was delivered almost immediately, we were still checking the fabulous balcony view over the pool to Fuerteventura as it arrived. The rooms are well furnished and we slept well every night of our stay, the daily maid service was very thorough, one day the maid even returned as she had forgotten to dust the bed headboard. The only negative point I can make is that some of the bedroom furniure is a little "knocked about" but there is plenty of wardrobe space for the ladies.
The restaurant can get busy but is controlled by Javier, the maitre-di, who misses nothing, and is always pleasant, smiling and gets to know everyone very quickly. We rarely had to wait more than a couple of minutes for him to seat us, but some guests, mainly Spanish and German, seemed incapable of waiting and would occasionally barge past the few people queuing and find their own table. However, we soon realised that these people invariably had to wait for the table to be set, to order drinks or coffee at breakfast, whilst those who waited to be seated by Javier were attended to so much more promptly. Food was always hot, and there was something for every taste. Past reviews moaning about the food must have been written by those who are very hard to please. The desserts section is incredible, what a variety, try to pace yourself!
The pool areas are very well maintained, the surrounding gardens exotic and lush. Some days it was eerily quiet around the pools probably because everyone was so chilled and relaxed. The Pool Bar offers a wide choice of food for lunch and is quite reasonable, and again the staff are quick and attentive. Sun beds were always available throughout the day. the hotel operates a policy of not allowing beds to be reserved before 0900 which is perfect for everyone. Be warned, after cleaning the pool, the attendants' last job every day is to hose down the tiled pool areas, so those who break the rule end up with sopping wet towels for most of the morning!!
Entertainment can be good or bad, depending on your tastes. Most evenings, the acts were mostly tribute acts of Abba, The Drifters, Motown or the usual foot stamping of Spanish or Argentinian dancers. A pianist plays in the Lobby Bar every night and is a relaxing and pleasant alternative.
The hotel is a fair walk away from the town of Playa Blanca, but we used the local bus, that runs from one end of the resort to the other. All fares are 1.40 euros one way, the service is half hourly and very prompt. We visited the Rubicon Marina market using the bus and had a lovely morning. There is something for everyone at the market, if you are thirsty try the Marmite bar, their ice cold beers are amazing. Our visit to the market was on a particularly hot day so we returned to the hotel in a taxi for 4.60 euros, which was very reasonable.
The excellent reputation of this hotel is spreading across Europe and there was a much higher proportion of Spanish, French and German guests this time, which is great for people watching.
Overall this is fabulous place for a holiday in the sun, the pleasant, professional staff and their efficency make for a totally relaxing stay and we are sure most if not all visitors will want to return again and again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wobbler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This a big hotel with nearly 300 rooms. Despite this the staff are friendly, personable and helpful. The entrance foyer is one of the biggest I have seen in any hotel.The main staircase is reminiscent of a Busby Berkeley film with its Y shaped fork down to the dining and entertainment area. Rooms are spacious and clean, as is the whole hotel.
The entertainment provided is good especially if you suspend a bit of belief and take on board that the Drifters do come from South Africa, have a female lead and sing "Sweet Caroline" (They were pretty good at it though!). There's also a god range of daily activity from darts to boules available.
We stayed half Board and there was a wide variety of meals available including some freshly cooked options. With 140 tables, and most people dining in the first 1.5 hours, it is run with (military) efficiency. This does de-personalises it slightly with plates being taken away as the last bite is taken! Overall this doesn't detract too much but something that needs to be taken into account.
The hotel is situated about a 30 mins walk from the centre of Playa Blanca but it's a very pleasant walk along the coast and there's a couple of good coffee bars at the end.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

we visited Lanzarote june,never been before thought we were landing on the moon,when we were dropped off at the hotel first impressions were fantastic,then our room was very impressive ,huge beds[twin]spotless clean and a large balcony with a beautiful view of the sea with a view of Futerventura in the distance,bliss didnt want to leave the room at all.
the hotel was huge with a piana bar and a cocktail bar and a huge cabaret room ,the dining room
was impressive very clean and the food was to die for,with lots of choice , the food is cooked to your liking right in front of you,the staff are really friendly,could not fault this holiday,another great holiday from thomson,the prom stretches all along the coast Playa blanca is the place to be for a luxurious,carefree,relaxing stay at the Natura Palace ,had 10 glorious days,the grounds are outstanding ,with out door games and even a naturist area which is secluded a fab sun trap It was deserted ,we enjoyed our private sun bathing,hope to visit again quite soon.
please note we have stayed in 5* which is not on the same level ,should definately be a 5* in my opinion,give it a go you will definately be impressed.

Room Tip: most rooms are the same ,the rooms without views are used as courtesy rooms,but most are facing the...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cynthiaAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Very relaxing nice and quiet, rooms good standard and service good, had great massage in the linked spa and passed my Dive course in the neighbouring Dive School, local cocktail bar and italian restaurant are also worth a visit.
Food Buffet style and varied, important note Men cannot wear shorts in the restuarant for dinner, we had to buy long trousers to eat!! this was not hotels fault should have been in thomson details.

Room Tip: Very quiet location a good 20 mins walk to the centre of playa blanca
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just returned from a 2 week holiday-everything was lovely-upgrade to suite-fab,although all rooms looked very nice. Have stayed in many Riu hotels-this was just as good- somethings were even better.Lanxarote has really come on since we were last there-7 years go-lovely new harbour,luvly little bar next to hotel-`Marea bar` -big comfy sofas. Really like my comfort and good hotels,could not fault this in any way.Please ignore any negative comments on other reports. Will return.
Margaret and Philip. Stoke-on-Trent.

Room Tip: e.mail or fax hotel and make a polite request.corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,921 reviews
23.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hipotels Natura Palace)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $125 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Natura Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
Hipotels Natura Palace Playa Blanca
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing