We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust me - You will love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trust me - You will love it!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Like many of you I used Tripadvisor as my first stop when we started planning and researching for our family holiday. We are just back from Gran Castillo and we loved every minute. This is a wonderful hotel, kind and helpful staff with enough space, pools and food options for all the family. Its not a huge setup, but large enough to give both families (usually noisy when with small kids) and adults (usually keen on peace and quiet) space to relax and enjoy themselves.

I cannot speak highly enough of Angel Fernandez (hotel manager), Alex (kids club), Grit (reception), Pastor (waiter) and the big friendly fella working as the "griller" in the main restaurant and all the other staff at Gran Castillo. These people face holiday makers every day and without exception they remained friendly, courteous, helpful and attentive at all times. We had an unfortunate incident where a bag of my little girl's clothes was mistaken as a bag of rubbish and removed and binned. No scene was made, but I had a crying 5year old for a week as her favourite teddy was also in the bag. I met with Angel, we discussed the issue and we achieved a very amicable and reasonable solution with him hugely apologetic to the very last day.

For parents with small kids you will have heated pool options, a very good variety of food options for the most picky of eaters and a quiet environment in the evenings after a busy day of sun and swimming. If your little ones are over 4 years old, please, please, please do give them the opportunity to attend the mini-club and spend time with kids from other nationalities and most important spend time with Alex. This guy is great, full of energy and takes real ownership of interacting and entertaining the kids. They all adore him and love every day. The mini-disco in the evenings are also a must-do and the shows put on are fun, and much effort are made by the animation team. The entire team was wonderful, friendly, energetic and just the kindest bunch of folk going around. Our kids really did love them and without exception each one made a huge effort every day!

What could be better or be improved? The Italian restaurant Portifino could be much better. Lacks a bit of atmosphere and food on offer at dinner is average. That said the Asian restaurant and most definitely the main restaurant is excellent, with large varieties of food, and more than enough to go round for everyone. Fresh meat and fish each day and nothing is presented that's not fresh and up to standard.

They can do with providing more sun loungers and definitely more umbrellas at the kids pool areas especially for the kids that need some time out of the sun at some stage each day. They say they don't allow reservation of sun-beds each morning, but when you head for breakfast the majority of beds are already covered with towels. So, if you want a seat get up early and get your towels out. I have no issue with this, but then folk should at least turn up after breakfast and plonk themselves down. many seats remained unoccupied for large parts of the day whilst people spent time at other pools.

Rooms were spacious, comfortable, cleaned daily and with a turndown service each evening. Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or higher as you ill get more sun throughout the day and towards sunset. Spa is decent with modern facilities and a large variety of treatments. UK prices though!

All-in-all we loved the Gran Castillo and will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms close to the kids pool as they are a bit darker and noisier. Main restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JoV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear JoV123,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
Your comment about our hotel makes us really happy, as you said we offer the best service for both families with children and couples. You saying that the best thing about our hotel is the customer service is brilliant, they all do our very best each day to provide everything for our guests. Thank you for mentioning some of the members of our staff, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. During the day our animation team offers many different activities, and the kids can have a really nice time in our Mini-club with a lot of games to play. At night children will enjoy the fantastic Mini-disco and then there is a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests, but we are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much. We have a special sun bed policy in our hotel, where the pool man removes towels from sun beds, which are not being used for a longer time, so every guest has a chance of lying on a comfortable sun bed. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay and we are glad that you found them very clean. We are very happy to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,923
    1,675
    674
    209
    99
See reviews for
2,800
1,962
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
emski
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

What can I say about this hotel we arrived about 9.40pm with a very tiered 3 year old David on reception who is brilliant rushed us to dinner for something to eat very polite and helpful
our room 3303 was amazing double balcony and walk in wardrobe and shower however this was a superior room
drinks were fabulous whatever you wanted
food was lovely no kids buffet in the main restaurant however my fussy 3 year always ate Italian was out favourite food was gorgeous
this hotel has 11 swimming pools we mainly stayed round the children's slides the only thing I think the hotel could change is making the snack bar near the children's pool the same as the one at the main front pool more choice and freshly prepared.
we had an amazing holiday special thanks to Alex the entertainer and David on reception 1 day I cant wait to return thank you for a fabulous holiday

Room Tip: Book a superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emski_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear emski_9,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant welcome to the hotel. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the variety of drinks and food offered to our guests in our bars and restaurants. There are a total of 11 pools, and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. Thank you for mentioning our entertainer Alex and our receptionist David, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I holidayed at this resort from the 10th - 17th June with 4 friends. It was chosen from the reviews on Tripadviser so we had high expectations. We were not disappointed and would recommend this hotel every time.

Having read many of the reviews I can see that some aspects of peoples criticisms may be justified but I couldn't agree with them as I thought everything was perfect. I suppose it depends on what you want from a holiday but I think that the hotel management would try to accommodate everything that is within their control to ensure that you are happy.

I had contacted Andrea the reception Manager (i think!) beforehand to let her know our friends were celebrating their 35th wedding anniversary and arranged for champagne to be placed in their room. This was duly done. I contacted the hotel beforehand and arranged transport which was efficient and cheaper than other options.We were taken directly to the resort and arrived to a glass of cava and a speedy efficient friendly handover. I had requested 3 rooms together with nice views and we were given 3 rooms together overlooking the adults only pool. Perfect as this was were we spent our pool time. Nice and quiet. The only thing missing was a pool bar but a short walk took you to 1 of 3 pool bars.

We had been allocated the second sitting for our evening meal due to our late arrival but we promptly changed this the next day to the earlier sitting. There were no problems in doing so as everyone was very friendly and would try to accommodate any requests. As we were allocated the same table every night the waiters got to know us and before we arrived would have our drink of choice ready and waiting. The food was excellent with any choice you could wish for. We tried the Italian and the fillet steak was delicious. We didnt try the Chinese. Drinks are branded when asked for. The cava, red,white and rose wine with meals was acceptable. My only criricism would be the inequity of the dress code. Men have to wear trousers for the evening meal however some of the outfits worn by women were pretty indecent. The dress code should be that womens outfits are knee length or men can wear dress tailored shorts.

The rooms are fantastic and the maids called every day to change the towels and change the sheets. They came back nightly to turn the sheets down and put a little chocolate on the pillow and a mat by the side of the bed so we didn't have to step on cold tiles. They provided every toiletry needed and also robes and slippers. Unfortunately the first night when I returned to the room there was a cockroach in the room but I rang reception and within 2 minutes a maid was there to remove it and I didnt see anymore anywhere all week. The resort itself is spotless and well maintained.

We have been to The Canary Isles many times and usually the entertainment is pretty dire but not so here. The staff work very hard and we enjoyed a few of their performances. They could do with a quiet area with piano music to sit in later at night however.

The location is a little out of the way but a lovely walk along the promenade takes you to the Rubicon Marina and a little further on Playa Blanca. You can get a cab for 5 euros.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room go for one overlooking the adults only pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear kc1966,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Our staff is working really hard so our guests are left without wishes during their stay and we appreciate you mentioning the fact. Like you said all our rooms have great views and we are very happy that you liked yours. We have two different dinner turns, so our guests can enjoy their dinner without the restaurant being overcrowded. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night. We want to apologize about the dress code, we try to establish an appropriate way of dress for having dinner, but we cannot control that all guests will comply it. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay and we are glad that you found them very clean, however we would like to apologize for the issue that you mentioned but is good to know that it happened just once. Like you said our animation team plans great entertainment each night and also on special occasions, so our guests are entertained and can forget about the daily life back home. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. We hope you will return to our hotel soon and thank you for recommend our hotel too. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just returned from 10 days here and loved every minute! Staff are friendly and courteous and spacious immaculate rooms are serviced every day with new towels and bedding. The buffet food was very good considering the quantity of guests, with the italian restaurant being particularly good (steak is superb). However yhe chinese restaurant was a little disappointing to my mind. The drinks are named brands, Johnnie Walker whiskey, Smirnoff vodka etc and you are not waiting a particularly long time to get served. The 7 pools are well kept and i particularly enjoyed the sports pool where the excellent animation staff kept everyone entertained. The only downfall to this hotel is that although it is situated on the coastline the beach is not very nice and is rocky and unusable. I will be returning to this hotel and definately would recommend.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4333 which was perfectly situated in the middle of the complex next to the quiet ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear neil540,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
You are mentioning how friendly our staff is, that is really great for us, since they all do their absolute best for our guests each day. We always make sure that all our spacious rooms are very clean and tidy. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night, but we are sorry that you didn’t like the Chinese restaurant so much. Our bar service always try to satisfy our guests needs, so we are glad to know that you enjoyed the cocktails. Our animation team works really hard so our guests can have a lot of fun during the aqua gym or other activities. You can reach the Papagayo beaches within a few minutes walking distance and there are 11 pools in our hotel for our guests to discover. Thank you very much for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a week in the resort from the 13th of June
Room was gorgeous, pool view of kids pool which was perfect travelling with our 3 year old son
Staff were very helpful and made us feel so welcome
We tried all restaurants which we enjoyed the Italian being our favourite like other reviews the men needing to wear long trousers was an inconvenience
Maids came in and tidied up every day
The highlight of our holiday was the kids entertainers our son loved them they all remember his name which he loved and looked forward to the mini club disco every night
Also the waiters were amazing with him, he did not want to leave he loved it so much
My partner took part in the daily activities which they tried to get everyone involved in but we're not overly pushy
All in this was the perfect first family holiday
Will be back and I have recommended to our friends

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Martin A,
We truly appreciate your wonderful comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
Like you said all our rooms have great views and we are very happy that you liked yours. We are glad to read your great comments about our helpful staff, the variety and quality of the food in our three restaurants and the hard work of the cleaning team. Our animation team offers a lot of activities and games for children and for adults, and every night kids can have fun with our Mini-disco. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. Thank you very much for recommending us. On bookings of our loyal guests, which are made with us directly, we apply a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved every moment of our mini moon! Stayed in a superior room - greeted with a bottle of bubbly and a lovely congratulations note - the food and drink is superb and the staff could not have been more helpful - as well as that Lanzarote is far more beautiful than we imagined.. Hope to come back one day xx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryT497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear MaryT497,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to know that you had a great stay with us. It is good to read that you had a nice welcome to the hotel and that you enjoyed the food and the drink. Our clients should be able to spend a perfect holiday and therefore nothing is too much trouble for us. The location of our hotel close to Playa Blanca is ideal for going on excursions and discovering the islands attractions and we are happy you loved the island so much. We hope to welcome you back again soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here last week (middle of June) for a week. Had a very early morning flight and meant when we arrived we weren't able to get into our room till 2 so had to w2ait about 4 hours that was a bit of a downer as just wanted to get settled it. Greeted though really well by the Reception team and were given a welcome drink. Got allocated a room, we didnt like the view and they were more than helpful with allocating us a new one so was very grateful for that. Hotel room was gorgeous and cleaners always doing there best to tidy them up.

Pools and restaurants were great. Hotel is massive! We spent most of our time by the restaurant pool as have music, the bar etc. We visited the adults only pool one day but was so quiet and no bar. Tried the spa as well. That was lovely and relaxing! Again greeted really well. The buffett for me was the best. SO SO much choice for any 3 meals you go to. Just a big warning though..MEN TAKE TROUSERS!!! You arent even allowed to wear smart shorts, you'll get turned around if you dont have any full lengths on. Main chef in frying area was superb!

Overall staff were friendly and assisted you with a lot. Only bad thing is the entertaintment staff. Not a lot going on during the day or evenings for adults. We were never approached to join in with the activites they had on and never aware of when they were on. Without the World Cup on I think the evening atmosphere would have been poor. Definitly needs improvement here.

It's about a 20 min walk to the marina along the coast with gorgeous views and about 35mins into Playa Blanca. We walked it about 3 times and other times can get a taxi for 3 euros! Hired a bike one day and that was amazing, definitly recommned that.

Also loved the fact theres people there day and night to take like pro shots of you with your partner/family.

Overall a beautiful holiday. Lots of fun and hotel was great! Would recommned it if you're wanting to go to Playa Blanca!

Room Tip: I'd recommend paying extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bl0mquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,709 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,043 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,401 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing