We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Initualy I wasnt impressed with the island at all, it is all black volcanic rock, it isnt exactly beautiful, but, there are lovely little towns and all the shops barter prices you can get a good bargain, allot cheaper than the Hotel shop, nice little walks, very clean place, lovely little cafe's and restaurants everywhere,
The Hotel Dream Gran Torillo was fantastic, we were taken to our lovely room that had a lovely ensuite with shower and bath, double "his & Hers" sinks, lovely little vase with fresh flowers & there was a balcony facing the pool, we were celebrating our 8th anniversary and had a bottle of champagne compliments of the hotel. The hotel has a few pools only 2 are heated, I did mention this while I was there, as it was a shame we were laying next to a pool too cold to use, but the heated pools were ok. there is a gym with a bit of equipment that we both were able to use. rowing machine, Bikes, weights etc, we didnt use our spa tickets, but we were given a free spa day ticket as all guests are. THE FOOD was fantastic, the staff are lovely, I am vegetarian and I ALWAYS ate well at all meal times, the entertainment was great, the in house Animation team are really good, and up alongside the team at the Kadikale Resort and spa in Turkey, we loved this hotel, if you're planning a trip to Lanzarote I recommend this one, and if you have a celebration let them know ahead of your trip, I didn't like the island itself but glad I had the experience, lovely holiday, lovely little towns, shops and cafes! nice and peaceful hotel i give it a 5*

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyTambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear emmaxxxoooxxx,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
The location of our hotel in the area of Playa Blanca, is perfect for those who want to spend a quiet holiday and still have some nice shops in the area nearby. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. There are 11 pools in our hotel: 6 of them for adults (2 heated pools), 3 of them for children (1 heated pool with slides) and 2 Jacuzzis (they are heated too), so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night. You are mentioning how great our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. We hope to welcome you back again soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,241 of 5,975 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our arrival was very hectic. We checked in and were taken to our room by a very professional porter called Ricardo who had only been working at the hotel for 5 days! We walked over the large complex till we reached our room. It was situated on the 5th floor and directly above the swimming pool. I will post photographs of the rooms faults. The size was not suitable for 3 adults and the balcony was only big enough for one. We complained and were transported by a golf buggy to view three rooms by the amazing Ricardo. When we found a satisfactory room, this room had an amazing sea view and was very spacious. You could have had a party on the balcony, it would have been nice to have got this room at the beginning as it was what we paid for and expected from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudgeLucy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear JudgeLucy8,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that your first room was not spacious enough for you; you always will have the option to upgrade for a better room. We are glad to know that you were happy with the second room that our staff provided you. You also can send us an email about your wishes for a room, but unfortunately we are not able to guarantee them, because they depend on the availability in our hotel. We hope you will come to our hotel again, so we can have a second chance to assure you of our high standard. On bookings of our loyal guests, which are made with us directly, we apply a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am disabled, this hotel had a disabled friendly room on the ground floor, however, although the room was well adapted for the disabled, the choice of furniture should be reviewed, ie, the bedside tables were made from metal and glass, the lounge table is the same, in the hallway by the bathroom there is a huge mirror framed in wood, on a visit to the loo, my walking sticks slipped on the tiled floor and I fell against the mirror, which moved, I cut my ear and shoulder on the wooden frame. I reported this incident to reception the next morning voicing my concerns about the mirror etc, as this was on day 3 of our 14 day holiday I expected the items to be removed but when we checked out they were still there. All the staff were very polite and so helpful, in particular Christian the chef, this guy was extremely helpful and he is a fantastic chef too, the waiting staff, Kina, Anna and Mohammed were also very kind to us. The food was both plentiful and excellent quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Brian M,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry for the inconveniences with your room and we appreciate you mentioned it to our reception, so they could take care of your issues. The quality and the professionalism of our entire team are very important factors to Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts and we will make sure situations like this will not occur again. Thank you for mentioning our chef Christian and our waiters Kina, Anna and Mohammed, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. We hope you will give us a second chance to welcome you back again soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at the Dream Gran Castillo late in the evening to a friendly welcome and checked in smoothly. We were shown to our lovely rooms and went in to dinner to be amazed by the quality and choice of food available. The restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly and our meal was a welcome relaxing experience after our journey. The next day after breakfast (again great choice finest quality) we were able to take in the facilities available, the lovely grounds, the pools and the bars all immaculate and making it easy to access what we need when we needed it. We then had no trouble finding sun beds to relax and take in the sun.The resort fronts on to the beech and coast walk way which takes you to the beautiful Marina and on to Playa Blanca town with lovely views all the way. A fantastic week, great value, went by too quickly, will go again. ASAP.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good for appointment obviously with the great scenery the sea view rooms were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Nigel B,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. You are telling how good our staff was, that is great for us, due to they always try to give the best service to our guests. We appreciate your comment about the cleanliness and calmness of our hotel. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just spent a week at Dream Gran Castillo with hubby. Lovely warm and welcoming reception staff. Lovely hotel. Brilliant staff. We had a suite with it's own balcony and this was marvellous. Shows every evening. Activities during the day. Several pool areas. Several bars. Huge foyer and comfy seating area. We tended to eat away from the main restaurant as it was full of kids, so opted to frequent the Oriental restaurant which was superb. Rather smaller and a more 'romantic' setting. There is also another restaurant that provides Italian food but this wasn't as nice. Not 'Italian' in any way really other than by serving pizza and pasta. No Italian music playing. No checked table cloths. No waiter/waitress coming round with the black pepper and parmesan cheese. In fact, it was actually more 'self service'. You had to get your own starter and pudding. The waitresses only served you the main course and the drinks. All rather strange! Anyway, apart from this, hubby and I had a wonderful week there. The weather was great. We were all inclusive and we had a nice room. What more could we ask for? Well, if I could improve on anything, I would look at having 'adult only' areas in the restaurant, in the bars and by the pools.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and it was superb with it's own large private balcony with sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear welltravelled800,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for emphasizing how spacious and well equipped our rooms are. Our staff is working really hard so our guests are left without wishes during their stay and we appreciate you mentioning the fact. Our animation team works really hard so our guests can have a lot of fun during the aqua gym or other activities and at night they can watch the great shows. There are 11 pools in our hotel so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much. We hope you will stay with us again soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Back today from 10 days at this hotel and really enjoyed.

This is a great hotel - spotlessly clean and well staffed with people that go well beyond the extra mile to deliver great service to the guests. The public areas and our room were spotless, and discreetly maintained.

The pool area is lovely. I've seen other reviews here complain about the sunbeds, while we were there a whole new raft of brand new beds arrived together with really comfy padded cushions for them. Sunbed reservation is not unique to this hotel and is always going to happen - to their credit the pool team do try and control it and enforce this and the other pool rules but of course I recognise this as difficult for the team as the reaction of one or two guests I heard being asked to comply with sensible requests was laughable There are a number of pools here some just for families so it would be nice to see a more adult pool experience in just one of them. This is a VERY minor criticism.

While I'm on the subject of the pool, the pool bar is just superb. Nice position and brilliant staff - Francisco, Elizabeth, Zaida and Isobel et al work tirelessly, constantly clearing up and ensuring the bar is clean, always friendly, smiling and happy to help. Just superb!

The food variety and quality is staggering at every meal - particularly of note are Christians skills with eggs and a plancha at breakfast, the huge array of salads, vegetables and fruit, myriad fish and meat choices not forgetting wide choices of cheese and deserts. The waiting staff are fantastic, they just do not stop! constantly watching, making sure you have everything you need, clearing and resetting tables. Tony and Mohammed are quite brilliant.

I met the Manager twice - once at breakfast and again by the pool a day or so later - he's hands on, got great ambition for the resort and is really focussed on delivering a quality experience - note the new sunbeds, and this bodes well for the future.

In terms of value for money this hotel cannot be faulted - I travel on business quite a lot and I've had many poor experiences with alleged prestige brands so I'm always wary of hotels - this resort delivers. Brilliantly. When one considers the pricing I think that it's exceptional value for money.

All in all a great hotel, great staff, and one I will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Steve S,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
We always make sure our hotel is very clean and tidy. Like you said our hotel is very spacious so there is enough space for all our guests to be able to spread out and enjoy a relaxing holiday. Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. Our bar service always try to satisfy our guests needs, so we are glad to know that you enjoy the snacks and cocktails. We are proud to read that you found our food excellent, because only the best quality is accepted in our buffets and restaurants, where the guests can sample the best of the local and international cuisine. Thank you for mentioning the hard work of our restaurant staff, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Offered a glass of bubbly on arrival which was a nice touch. The room was very nice,spacious and spotless. The food was good quality and plenty of choice. Ate in both the Italian and Chinese twice and enjoyed them both. Can't fault the staff in all areas of the hotel so friendly and helpful even in the face of some quite rude guests, nothing was too much trouble. Drinks were local unless you asked for a brand, Smrinoff etc. Some drinks like Dissarano are not included although they do offer a local version for free. All soft drinks were branded. I agree with some other reviewers that the restaurants let them down re the times and the 'ambiance' although the quality and service was excellent. Entertainment was the usual hotel entertainment team who make up I'm enthusiasm what they lacked in talent. I have been to playa blanca quite a few times and although quiet you can usually find something to do with a few pubs offering live music. It's a good 25 min walk to the marina and another 10/15 into playa blanca but only €4/5 in a taxi. All in all a great hotel, great staff and lovely weather what more could you ask for

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazzaH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear ShazzaH1970,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. Thank you for emphasizing how spacious and well equipped our rooms are. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. You are mentioning how friendly our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy the cocktails so much, but in the four different bars we serve our guests many different types of drinks, so there is something for everyone. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. The location of our hotel in the area of Playa Blanca, is perfect for those who want to spend a quiet holiday and still have some nice shops in the area nearby. We hope you will stay with us again soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,983 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,188 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,932 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $187 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing