We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just came back from a fantastic 4 days; room nice and clean,plenty of tasty food and drinks,lovely hotel staff, great resort and fantastic animation team...they make your holiday. Special thanks to Arturo

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniutkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear aniutkas,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your fantastic experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We always make sure that all our spacious rooms are very clean and tidy. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. Thank you for mentioning the great work that our staff and our animation team do, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,863
    1,634
    667
    206
    94
See reviews for
2,720
1,938
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you like all inclusive hotels this is as good as it gets for this level of cost. Excellent food and range of drink plus varied entertainment for those who want it. Our room was the best we've ever stayed in - large, well appointed and professionally cleaned and attended to each day. Minor point - the balcony did not live up to the rest of the room, it was quite small and not very inspiring. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and laid out giving a sumptuous feel throughout.
However in spite of five star rating, a few suggestions - check in and getting to your room was painfully slow, typically 10 minutes plus for checking in followed by a further wait for a porter who has to escort you to your room, total around half an hour wait, and some people were behind us waiting longer.
We also found ourselves mystified as to the 'no shorts' for men rule in the evening restaurant- why?? I don't usually wear long trousers at all in warm countries so it was pure chance that I had a pair of jeans or my first night would have been interesting as it was too late to go out and buy trousers. I find it hard to see why the same pair of jeans all week is better than appropriate shorts. Let's be honest even a five star such as this cannot be a five star dining experience in total when it is necessarily a buffet where you queue for your choice - not complaining about that but just putting the shorts rule into perspective.
Although the entertainment is good, it can be a bit wearing being approached each day several times to take part in various activities or to commit to the evening show. There must be a better way of doing this to avoid the holiday camp feel.
Free wi-fi throughout should be a given nowadays but is only available in the reception area currently unless you pay extra.
We tried the Italian restaurant one evening and found it less good than the main restaurant and several people we spoke to said the same - gritty salad (literally), undercooked tuna being the main problems.
Overall we really liked the hotel and would definitely book again above any other all inclusive hotel we have been to.

Room Tip: Insist on being in the main area of the hotel and not through the tunnel to the rooms near the Itali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Roger B,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for emphasizing how spacious, clean and well equipped our rooms are. We are sorry that you didn’t have a big balcony, but you always will have the option to upgrade for a better room. We would like to apologize for the waiting at the reception, unfortunately when there are many guests in our hotel it is hard for us to attend every guest right away, but we certainly do our best. We always try that our guests will comply the dress code for dinner, trying to avoid inappropriate clothing, but we are sorry that you thought it was not the right thing. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. We are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much. We are very happy to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel and allocated a room, luckily our cases were carried for us as it was quite a walk and it was very late. Anyway woke up following morning to the most amazing seafront view, the best we've had. The resort is brilliant, excellent food, daytime fun entertainment in the pool. The boys we're made up going fishing to the beach daily. The staff are brilliant, helpful and friendly. We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LynWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear LynWilliams,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Like you said all our rooms have great views and we are very happy that you liked yours. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night. Our animation team works really hard so our guests can have a lot of fun during the aqua gym or other activities and at night they can watch the great shows. You are mentioning how friendly our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here last week with our 17 month old daughter. Transfer with Cosmos was a shambles - definitely book a private transfer to save being herded like cattle and taking hours! But on arrival the hotel was lovely. We were upgraded to a family room with separate bedroom which worked perfectly with our baby napping and sleeping early. The room was in the family area where the pools were good and near to the lovely Italian restaurant (fillet steak is a MUST).

In the buffet restaurant the food was good - similar to a 4 star we stayed in last year if I'm honest but the wine and cava were really good and drinks service was so much nicer than having to fill your own glass from a tap somewhere which we've had before! The Chinese was pretty good too and we chose to eat in the speciality restaurants 4 out of 7 nights as they were so good.

The weather wasn't great some of the time and actually quite cold at times so make sure you pack warmer clothes just in case. I had a bath to warm up at times!! But the walk from the hotel to the Marina is excellent - a windy 25 minute walk on a very pushchair friendly promenade along the cliffs.

The pools did get very busy even during colder days and unfortunately the usual towel reserving sunbeds went on meaning there were days when it was hard to get a bed near the children's pools. We saw some beds reserved the whole day just to be used for an hour late in the afternoon. The hotel could try to enforce their no reservation policy to stop this. The pools were a little too cold for our toddler unfortunately - this could just be the weather though as I know some are heated. Sounds like I'm moaning but I'm honestly not - we loved it but there were a few little things that could have been better slightly! The sunbeds were very comfortable, plenty of umbrellas and the pool areas spotlessly clean and very pretty. The whole hotel is kept very well - there are some really pretty areas you just discover whilst walking round. Every block is very different so although the hotel is large it has a really attractive look and it's really nice to walk around.

I visited the spa on the free coupon each room is given. This was good too - a small thermal circuit with a pool that has excellent thermal massage jets. We were able to visit independently as one of us needed to look after our daughter each time.

As everyone has already mentioned, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Reception is the best I have seen recently - very helpful, professional and knowledgeable. A special thank you to the porter Ricardo who on only his second day with the hotel helped us enormously taking us to two different rooms and driving us and our luggage on the little golf buggy to save us walking. The only area that we thought was slightly under par was the housekeeping. We only had turn down service 3 times, the room could have been cleaner on arrival (a few stray hairs in the bathroom) and the floor did get quite dirty by the end of the week but to be honest if we had bothered to request more cleaning etc then I'm sure it would have happened as every other request, such as a different cot for our daughter, was fulfilled straight away. Sometimes you just don't want to be ringing for more all the time!

All in all we had a great week - good food, good service, good wine, huge room and nice location. With a toddler in tow hotels like this will be our destination of choice for a while as they make things so easy - I really hope we will be able to return later in the summer and have the hotel's email address ready!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstieAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear KirstieAR,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. Like you said our hotel is very spacious so there is enough space for all our guests to be able to spread out and enjoy a relaxing holiday. You are telling how good our reception staff was, that is great for us, due to they always try to give the best service to our guests. Thank you for mentioning to Ricardo, we will convey to him your kind words in relation to his work. We are sorry that your room didn’t receive the right cleaning attention, the opinion of our guests is very important to us and if you have any complaints or doubts, please mention them to our front desk and they will be able to help you. We are very happy to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and had a lovely week here. We came with a budget holiday company but in no way was this a budget hotel. We got a real bargain. All has been said in earlier reviews and all I can say its as good as people say. The food is fab and room massive clean and all little touches, bath robes and slippers ! just try it. Peter hope your leg etc getting better and Lyn hope you ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedwayfanBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear speedwayfanBradford,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. We always make sure that our hotel and our rooms are very clean and tidy. We hope you will stay with us again soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I am writing this review whilst still at the hotel waiting for the coach to take us to the airport.
What a lovely hotel this is. We will be definitely adding this to our list of must come back to. The hotel sits outside the resort of Playa Blanca overlooking the sea. Upon arrival you are greeted by friendly helpful staff to assist you with your luggage. After chilling with a glass of orange or Cava checking in is completed. We had a superior room with sea view. The room was massive with a beautiful bathroom. Our only slight issue was that the balcony was enclosed.
The food at this hotel is excellent. We never had to queue and tried both the oriental and Italian restaurants which we very good with exceptional service.
The sports bar is lively but you can find quite areas for a drink before dinner.
Entertainment is good with the animation team trying their best to make sure everyone is enjoying theirselves. The shows are not West End quality, not anything near, but are good fun if you are prepared to join in.
A taxi costs around 4 euros to the town where you can find a good mixture of shops. Car hire is available from the hotel (though may be cheaper elsewhere) and we enjoyed taking the car to see the volcano (9 euros each which included a coach tour).
The management at this hotel clearly want to ensure the guests are happy which is good to see. We have had a mixed bag of weather which unfortunately you cannot do anything about but the hotel was excellent and made our holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view room upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Ruth W,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. Our animation team works really hard so our guests can have a lot of fun during the aqua gym or other activities and at night they can watch the great shows. The location of our hotel close to Playa Blanca is ideal for going on excursions and discovering the islands attractions and we are happy you loved the island so much. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed during February half term with my 25yr old daughter. Welcomed with glass of cava and speedy check in. Room fantastic. Very clean, comfortable and spacious with large balcony.
Staff very friendly and attentive, nothing too much trouble. Food delicious especially the Italian, where we also chose to have our lunch most days, as less busy. The entertainment Team worked really hard and provided great entertainment. Although no tennis courts, reception arranged for us to play at a nearby hotel. Beautiful walk to nearby sandy beaches or to the Marina. Was a great holiday and would highly recommend. Hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NorthamptonLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear NorthamptonLinda,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. Thank you for emphasizing how spacious, clean and comfortable our rooms are. You are mentioning how friendly our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. Thank you for mentioning the hard work of our entertainment staff, they all do their absolute best each day. The walk that connects our hotel to the famous Papagayo beach and the Rubicon Marina just a few minutes away, is perfect for enjoying the landscape. We hope you will return to our hotel soon and thank you for recommend our hotel too. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing