We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

this is a lovely hotel and would definitely go back. Attractive settings built on levels so has nice views over the bay and mountains throughout.
We had a room in the "castle" which was very nice...great balcony which was private with sea views, nicely decorated, spacious room with brilliant double bathroom with separate toilet/shower and closet! (I'm picky about things like that!). I find a nice room is important and for a hotel in lanzarote they are very good.
liked being able to have meals outside surrounded by the pools and good idea putting the heaters, wind shields up for the winter months.
Great food...only slight improvement...could maybe have a bit more ambiance in the a la cartes as they're very bright and have been to other hotels where a la cartes have different themes/lightings, which makes each one individual. This isn't a critises though.
Staff were excellent...not one moody, grumpy person and they all worked so hard...I've not come across this before at any hotel I've stayed. Also thanks to the hotel for assisting my boyfriend with candles/champagne for his wedding proposal and celebrating my 30th birthday!! It was so special!! :-)
Hotel is in a good spot only a 20 min walk to marina along a nice prominade and about another 20 min into playa blanca centre.
We got a car and went all over the island to places such as El Golfo, ceaser manriques foundation/aqua and a load of other places!....this is a lovely island and so easy to get around so would recommend venturing out of the hotel!
weather was great for winter...only two "iffy days out of 7 and the rest were really nice!!
would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,895
    1,657
    673
    209
    99
See reviews for
2,762
1,955
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
whitby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from this hotel 18 th feb this place is amazing great food great staff really really clean no complaints what so ever definitely five star thanks food amazing could I recommend to any one else 100percent yes

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank whitbytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we spent a week at this hotel in February 14. Food was excellent, varied and well presented and cooked, something for everyone. Rooms spacious and very clean.Entertainment staff were superb,the best we have ever met. We played darts; boules. ;archery; pistol shooting and rifle shooting.,with most of the nationalities of Europe mixing together. Evening entertainment was also first class.No towels on sunbeds!!! plenty of space and different pools to suit all. Very good for children!
Staff went out of their way to help and were very friendly.Will certainly return.

Room Tip: rooms by the childrens pool area were quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband, brother and I spent a week at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The outside areas were also kept very clean and there seemed space for everyone although it may be busy during the school holidays.

The food in the main dining area was fantastic. There was plenty of choice and the standard of food was generally excellent. For the price paid, it was more than expected. So hard not to over eat, great self control required!

The walk to the marina and the main town area is an easy walk and helps to burn some calories. We also walked on to the light house. There are beautiful beaches to the other side of the hotel. Plenty of space for all, regardless of how many clothes you are wearing ( or not as the case may be).

All in all, I would recommend this for a winter break without a doubt.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lets put the star business to bed... 5 star is a guide as to the facilities and services you can expect in the rooms and the hotel, this hotel did not disappoint. Some hotels offer more, that is their perogative.

I will not harp on about the food as it's been covered by other reviews. I can understand why they allocate a table at dinner as it should mean you can turn up anytime in your slot and your table will be ready for you; beats turning up trying to find a clean one for four. However, we did get messed about a bit as people always seemed to be on our table so I think there must be a better way of managing the process.

My top tip would be if you're going to Papagayo beach, wear trainers not beach shoes.

There are three pool areas.. the main one beach side which has the worn out sunloungers, the middle one by the spa which has nice new loungers and is very quiet, and our favourite the one by the Italian restaurant; this is the one to go to if you have bored teenagers or restless husbands as this is where the daytime activities take place, ie. archery, table tennis, volleyball, shooting etc to keep them occupied; this has the nice sunloungers too... Never had a problem getting loungers anywhere.

Canapes at the Sports Bar during the early evening prior to dinner were a nice touch, so was the turndown service with chocs. Anything you want just ask.. either take a kettle or ask for one. Hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for a week in January 14 which was our second stay at Dream Grand Castillo resort (last time for 4 nights Jan 13).

The hotels is about 40 minutes transfer time from Arrecife airport. On check in we were given a glass of bubbly and our bags taken to our room. Our large room had separate dressing area, huge bathroom with double sinks, multi jet shower with separate, large bath. The hairdryer in the bathroom wasn’t very powerful, so if you have long or thick hair will take a while to dry. The bedroom had a seating area with patio doors out to a large balcony overlooking the grounds, pool and views onto the sea.
The hotel itself is located on the outskirts of Playa Blanca, past the Rubicon marina – about a 40 minute stroll into the centre of the resort and a 15 minute walk to the large Papagayo beach.

The hotel was a lot busier than on our 2013 visit, and noticeably more children. The families tended to stay by the main pool, so we sat by the pool up by the spa which was quieter. As part of our package we had one free entrance to the spa – pool with bubble jets in the water, powerful water jets to massage your back, sauna, steam room – very relaxing.

We stayed all inclusive, there are branded spirits but you have to ask them as they are kept under the bar. At meal times bottles of wine or beer were served at your table before you went to the buffet. There was something for everyone at breakfast – cereal, dried fruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed fruit juices, meats, cheeses, bread/rolls, cooked section (eggs/omelettes cooked to order), cakes and pastries, tomato con Tomate, Serrano jamon, tortilla Espanola, churros e chocolate, even Cava if you wish!

Lunch and dinner were buffet style and very varied – salad bar, pastas, a different roast every evening, paella, canary potatoes, live cooking which always had a couple of choice of meats and fish/prawns. We ate at the Italian restaurant twice for a change of scenery. We ordered a packed lunch for one day we were going a long walk but it was disappointing - cheap white bread with ham, a hard pear, bottle of water and a couple of rich tea type biscuits.

There was entertainment every night in the hotel, sometimes put on by the in house entertainment team and other times acts were brought in. Not really our thing, standard quite poor but sometimes that made it entertaining!

We paid to have wifi in the room but only one of us could use it at a time which wasn't much use. Hotel refunded us for this.

Overall good value, varied food, clean and well looked after rooms and grounds.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellersHHJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Notts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Six of us went for a week of winter sun. The hotel was great although we would have preferred to be have rooms closer together. We all had the superior sea-view promised and could not fault the accommodation or views.
The entertainment staff were very friendly and worked hard to keep everyone happy. The visiting evening entertainment was also very good.
With us the " all inclusive" was just that, so we had nothing extra to pay at all.
A hire car would be an advantage as we saw a lot of the island's sights on the less sunny days-which the hotel had no control over. You can always walk into town via the marina (a good 40 mins) or catch a bus if necessary.
For a quiet winter break I would happily recommend this hotel and resort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SheilaNewark_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing